26 Counties Poll for Euro Elections

Started by AZOffaly, May 21, 2014, 10:26:56 AM

Who will you vote for in the Euro Elections (First Preference Only)

Fine Gael
8 (9.6%)
Labour
0 (0%)
Fianna Fail
4 (4.8%)
Sinn Fein
32 (38.6%)
Green Party
5 (6%)
Socialist Party
1 (1.2%)
People Before Profit
1 (1.2%)
Direct Democracy Ireland
0 (0%)
Independents
17 (20.5%)
Fís Nua
0 (0%)
Catholic Democrats
2 (2.4%)
Other
0 (0%)
Won't/Can't vote
13 (15.7%)

Total Members Voted: 83

Quote from: trileacman on May 23, 2014, 12:04:00 AM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on May 22, 2014, 09:52:24 PM
Feck me, can't say I'm too surprised that they (the Shinners) would give such a whingebag such short shrift! :P

Suppose you'd prefer a gerrymandered Orange representative, that would actually do his (sic - they'd didn't do 'her' back then either) damnedest to ensure you secured neither house nor employment, purely by dint of the accident of your birth.

You see there's the fuckin problem in a nutshell.

"All protestants are gerrymandering Orange ba$tards whose only intention is to run us out of work and home, so I should use all my time to spite them and give none to building a sustainable region or bread and butter issues."

Sure how can any progress be achieved when dissenting voices are plainly written off as being loving English hoors? You didn't challenge any of my assertions on agriculture it's all just "ha, you're talking like a fcking prod."

"All Protestants" -- where did I say that? Nope, didn't think you'd find such a quote, but suits your agenda to (attempt to) put words in this mouth. "Loving English hoors" -- where did I say that too? Nope, didn't think you'd find that either.

But sure no matter, keep on concocting imaginary straw-men (as opposed to those real straw-men the farming community spend so much time constructing), and I couldn't really give a fcuk about religion, the bane of humankind. Dissenting voices are the seed of progress, whereas generalisations are quite the reverse. I dissent.

QuoteDissenting voices are the seed of progress, whereas generalisations are quite the reverse.

Yep, watch those generalisations.

Quote from: armaghniac on May 23, 2014, 12:47:46 AM
QuoteDissenting voices are the seed of progress, whereas generalisations are quite the reverse.

Yep, watch those generalisations.

Like?... Orange? Hardly a generalisation -- you're familiar with the criteria of entry? And some are genuinely all right, those that are truly blissfully ignorant of the rules and regulations of the organisation that they're a part of (by mere accident of birth), quite ironically.

Saw the Mingmobile in An Caislean Riabhach earlier. A fine beast of an election car.

Quote from: Nally Stand on May 22, 2014, 11:45:39 PM
Quote from: Saffrongael on May 22, 2014, 08:06:40 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on May 22, 2014, 07:35:11 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on May 22, 2014, 11:34:43 AM
Quote from: trileacman on May 22, 2014, 01:33:37 AM
It may seem appealing to vote Shinner but if you lived up here you'd realise their the same money-grubbing hoors you've been used to all along. You can kid yourselves they're better than Labour / FF / FG or the Greens but in reality they're all the f**king same. Populist gobshites who'll spin you any ould shite of a yarn to get into power and as soon as they get there they'll shit on all the policies and promises they made to you before.

Think of them as Labour but with a green poster.

At the minute I've a SF member of Parliament for the past 13 years but he doesn't attend Westminster in any shape or form and never has. Despite this he still draws down nearly every fund he's "entitled" to as a MP, explain the difference in that to Shatter claiming he's "entitled" to but doesn't deserve either? 13 years and not once has his voice been heard in the office he was appointed to. A well seasoned turnip could replace my MP in the morning and literally I would be no worse represented.

My SF MEP is Braribhe deBrun who's single greatest accomplishment in 10 years is to ensure EU documents get printed in Irish. She quit in 2012 according to Wikipedia which is news to me. I'd say greater than 70% of voters like myself haven't noticed her absence one bit. She rarely give speeches in English, preferring Irish because hey it's better no-one understands what the fcuk your saying rather than have a few understand.

I've 3 Shinner MLA's but they can't get anything passed because Stromont is on strike since the Hass debacle. Most of our European counter-parts and competitors (including the Free State) have implemented a stringent BVD control program to eradicate a significant bovine disease which costs the agriculture industry here in excess of 1 million a year. Initially we were meant to initiate the program with the Irish program. They started in 2012 and we were told we'd start a year behind. Since we were told we'd start in March, then July but still no word or sign of it. As of now we are 2 years or more behind Ireland, Scotland, Wales and England. All because our MLA's have been instructed by there parties not to agree on any legislation purely to spite the each other, you wouldn't get such thick, hateful fcukers in a creche never mind a regional democracy.

I've a Shinner Agriculture minister who thinks milk farmers sleep in at weekends and who's previous experience with agriculture would be sniffing the smell of shite as she drove through the countryside. Again FG's Coveney has more than 6 months ago dictated specifically the details of the CAP payment changes for the next 5 years to 2019. As of writing my SF minister has decided absolutely diddly squat. I can show you information leaflets in which the only specific info is that they are "unsure" of the future form of CAP payments. Once again we are the slow fckuers behind the Welsh, Scots, English and Irish.

So lads don't get your hopes up for the Shinners, they'll spin you whatever crock you want to hear but in reality they are as ineffectual, petty and corrupt as the lads you are used to.

Hardly one to accuse anyone else of spinning crock. I don't think abstaining from westminster is breaking a promise considering he stood for election on an abstentionist ticket. And why wouldn't SF members claim their expenses from Westminster. They don't attend the House of Commons, but they are still active MPs running their constituency offices, so dry your eyes. Maybe you'd prefer they took the stoops approach: take an oath of allegiance to get into the commons, then become among the worst attendees in it, but occasionally show up for a little nap: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FiEUDeLX-hY.

P.s. Bairbre DeBrun stepped down on health grounds. It was widely reported at the time. That you didn't know this says more about you than it does about anyone else.
Taking an 'oath' is a mere formality, much like donning a white tie, standing for GSTQ and toasting the Queen. It's the things you're expected to do when you're elected to represent all your constituents.

And i'd expect all MPs from NI to be among those with the lowest attendance records - they're hardly going to be in Westminster to vote on issues like Education, Health etc. that are devolved to the Assembly - what's the point on attending / voting on issues in Westminster that impact England only?

What about "abstentionism" in the local council you are elected to represent your constituents in ?

In Irish News a few weeks ago it was reported Moyle Sinn Fein councillor Noreen McAllister has the lowest attendance record of any councillor in six counties, attending only 36% of full council meetings.

That's some representation.
If I remember correctly, the same report also showed SF as joint highest or second highest attendees. Odd that you didn't mention that in favour of picking out just one isolated individual hmmm.
Hey  Kettle- Go easy on Mr Pot.  Didn't you do the same with that video of Alastair McDonnell ?

Voted Ming 1, Harkin 2 , Mullen 3, Carty 9, Can't recall the rest but didnt vote Gilroy or FF.

Quote from: seafoid on May 23, 2014, 02:49:55 PM
It may seem appealing to vote Shinner but if you lived up here you'd realise their the same money-grubbing hoors you've been used to all along. You can kid yourselves they're better than Labour / FF / FG or the Greens but in reality they're all the f**king same. Populist gobshites who'll spin you any ould shite of a yarn to get into power and as soon as they get there they'll shit on all the policies and promises they made to you before.

At the minute I've a SF member of Parliament for the past 13 years but he doesn't attend Westminster in any shape or form and never has. Despite this he still draws down nearly every fund he's "entitled" to as a MP, explain the difference in that to Shatter claiming he's "entitled" to but doesn't deserve either? 13 years and not once has his voice been heard in the office he was appointed to. A well seasoned turnip could replace my MP in the morning and literally I would be no worse represented.

My SF MEP is Braribhe deBrun who's single greatest accomplishment in 10 years is to ensure EU documents get printed in Irish. She quit in 2012 according to Wikipedia which is news to me. I'd say greater than 70% of voters like myself haven't noticed her absence one bit. She rarely give speeches in English, preferring Irish because hey it's better no-one understands what the fcuk your saying rather than have a few understand.

I've 3 Shinner MLA's but they can't get anything passed because Stromont is on strike since the Hass debacle. Most of our European counter-parts and competitors (including the Free State) have implemented a stringent BVD control program to eradicate a significant bovine disease which costs the agriculture industry here in excess of 1 million a year. Initially we were meant to initiate the program with the Irish program. They started in 2012 and we were told we'd start a year behind. Since we were told we'd start in March, then July but still no word or sign of it. As of now we are 2 years or more behind Ireland, Scotland, Wales and England. All because our MLA's have been instructed by there parties not to agree on any legislation purely to spite the each other, you wouldn't get such thick, hateful fcukers in a creche never mind a regional democracy.

I've a Shinner Agriculture minister who thinks milk farmers sleep in at weekends and who's previous experience with agriculture would be sniffing the smell of shite as she drove through the countryside. Again FG's Coveney has more than 6 months ago dictated specifically the details of the CAP payment changes for the next 5 years to 2019. As of writing my SF minister has decided absolutely diddly squat. I can show you information leaflets in which the only specific info is that they are "unsure" of the future form of CAP payments. Once again we are the slow fckuers behind the Welsh, Scots, English and Irish.

So lads don't get your hopes up for the Shinners, they'll spin you whatever crock you want to hear but in reality they are as ineffectual, petty and corrupt as the lads you are used to.

Hardly one to accuse anyone else of spinning crock. I don't think abstaining from westminster is breaking a promise considering he stood for election on an abstentionist ticket. And why wouldn't SF members claim their expenses from Westminster. They don't attend the House of Commons, but they are still active MPs running their constituency offices, so dry your eyes. Maybe you'd prefer they took the stoops approach: take an oath of allegiance to get into the commons, then become among the worst attendees in it, but occasionally show up for a little nap: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FiEUDeLX-hY.

P.s. Bairbre DeBrun stepped down on health grounds. It was widely reported at the time. That you didn't know this says more about you than it does about anyone else.
Taking an 'oath' is a mere formality, much like donning a white tie, standing for GSTQ and toasting the Queen. It's the things you're expected to do when you're elected to represent all your constituents.

And i'd expect all MPs from NI to be among those with the lowest attendance records - they're hardly going to be in Westminster to vote on issues like Education, Health etc. that are devolved to the Assembly - what's the point on attending / voting on issues in Westminster that impact England only?

What about "abstentionism" in the local council you are elected to represent your constituents in ?

In Irish News a few weeks ago it was reported Moyle Sinn Fein councillor Noreen McAllister has the lowest attendance record of any councillor in six counties, attending only 36% of full council meetings.

If I remember correctly, the same report also showed SF as joint highest or second highest attendees. Odd that you didn't mention that in favour of picking out just one isolated individual hmmm.
Hey  Kettle- Go easy on Mr Pot.  Didn't you do the same with that video of Alastair McDonnell ?
No. I mentioned the attendance of his party. I only singled 'Big Sleepy 'turn down those lights' Al' out for having a nap while he was busy not abstaining. Furthermore, he himself makes up a third of the SDLP's MP representation so singling one individual (a party leader) out of a pool of three for criticism isn't quite the same thing as singling out one councillor with poor attendance record to use for an attack on the entire party's councillor attendance record, out of the party's pool of 141 councillors with among the highest attendance rates on average.

Quote from: Nally Stand on May 23, 2014, 03:36:39 PM

No. I mentioned the attendance of his party. I only singled 'Big Sleepy 'turn down those lights' Al' out for having a nap while he was busy not abstaining. Furthermore, he himself makes up a third of the SDLP's MP representation so singling one individual (a party leader) out of a pool of three for criticism isn't quite the same thing as singling out one councillor with poor attendance record to use for an attack on the entire party's councillor attendance record, out of the party's pool of 141 councillors with among the highest attendance rates on average.
Maybe you'd prefer they took the stoops approach: take an oath of allegiance to get into the commons, then become among the worst attendees in it, but occasionally show up for a little nap

you implied all they do in Westminster is sleep

hypocrite

Quote from: seafoid on May 23, 2014, 05:23:19 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on May 23, 2014, 03:36:39 PM

Maybe you'd prefer they took the stoops approach: take an oath of allegiance to get into the commons, then become among the worst attendees in it, but occasionally show up for a little nap

you implied all they do in Westminster is sleep

hypocrite

Saffrongael

You just didn't like it Nally cos it was one of your own, three of the "top"four candidates with the worst attendance records were from Sinn Fein.

Is it ok with you people being able to see this information ?
Let no-one say the best hurlers belong to the past. They are with us now, and better yet to come

In a thread on the 26Co Euro election do we have to have big long quotes of quotes of quotes..... of SDLP and SF attendance records from the effin 6 Cos??? >:( >:( >:(
FFS Stick to the SF thread  >:(

Quote from: Saffrongael on May 23, 2014, 06:11:40 PM
You just didn't like it Nally cos it was one of your own, three of the "top"four candidates with the worst attendance records were from Sinn Fein.

Some more highly selective and creative twisting of a piece of research which reflected well on SF councillor's attendances as a whole. Hope youre going to be watching the news intently over the next couple of days  ;D

Saffrongael

Quote from: Nally Stand on May 23, 2014, 06:39:28 PM
Quote from: Saffrongael on May 23, 2014, 06:11:40 PM

Some more highly selective and creative twisting of a piece of research which reflected well on SF councillor's attendances as a whole. Hope youre going to be watching the news intently over the next couple of days  ;D

Unlike yourself I will probably be out and about  ;D
Let no-one say the best hurlers belong to the past. They are with us now, and better yet to come

give her dixie

I was coming through Monaghan earlier and saw one of Ming's big posters. Loved his strap line:

"Send someone useful to Europe"

next stop, September 10, for number 4......

Quote from: give her dixie on May 23, 2014, 09:32:08 PM
I was coming through Monaghan earlier and saw one of Ming's big posters. Loved his strap line:

"Send someone useful to Europe"

;D ;D ;D
I told him to add "For a change"  :-\