26 Counties Poll for Euro Elections

Started by AZOffaly, May 21, 2014, 10:26:56 AM

Who will you vote for in the Euro Elections (First Preference Only)

Fine Gael
8 (9.6%)
Labour
0 (0%)
Fianna Fail
4 (4.8%)
Sinn Fein
32 (38.6%)
Green Party
5 (6%)
Socialist Party
1 (1.2%)
People Before Profit
1 (1.2%)
Direct Democracy Ireland
0 (0%)
Independents
17 (20.5%)
Fís Nua
0 (0%)
Catholic Democrats
2 (2.4%)
Other
0 (0%)
Won't/Can't vote
13 (15.7%)

Total Members Voted: 83

Probably vote for Matt Carthy as no 1. Ming no 2. Sin é.

All of a Sludden

Quote from: Farrandeelin on May 21, 2014, 04:34:09 PM

Matt Carthy  :o Saw him on TV recently, nothing but an empty suit.
I'm gonna show you as gently as I can how much you don't know.

Quote from: All of a Sludden on May 21, 2014, 06:09:45 PM

Well said, undecided as to what my higher order will be (though Ming and Harkin will be up there) but will be going right down the ballot paper and leaving Carthy blank. Same for the gurrier they have running in the locals. Cannot fathom that so many people apparently see this gang as the answer to our problems.

Quote from: Owenmoresider on May 21, 2014, 08:06:40 PM
Quote from: All of a Sludden on May 21, 2014, 06:09:45 PM

Well said, undecided as to what my higher order will be (though Ming and Harkin will be up there) but will be going right down the ballot paper and leaving Carthy blank. Same for the gurrier they have running in the locals. Cannot fathom that so many people apparently see this gang as the answer to our problems.

I raised my eyebrows at this comment but then I remembered the geography of the new constituencies. You have a fine, fine selection of gobshites to decide over!

As for the answer to our problems - SF may very well not be but FF/FG/Lab certainly are not - that has been proven.

Quote from: OakleafCounty on May 21, 2014, 04:05:18 PM
If I was in Dublin I'd be voting for the Socialist candidate. Watched them on prime time last night and he seemed the most competent and decent.

I thought he was outstanding. Joe Higgins was superb and Paul Murphy will keep their flag flying by the looks of things. He was by far the best in that debate though Lynn Boylan was much better than I thought she would be. She was pretty impressive and at ease with things. Hayes was his typically arrogant self. Really can't stand that guy.

Quote from: magpie seanie on May 21, 2014, 09:57:59 PM
If I was in Dublin I'd be voting for the Socialist candidate. Watched them on prime time last night and he seemed the most competent and decent.

I thought he was outstanding. Joe Higgins was superb and Paul Murphy will keep their flag flying by the looks of things. He was by far the best in that debate though Lynn Boylan was much better than I thought she would be. She was pretty impressive and at ease with things. Hayes was his typically arrogant self. Really can't stand that guy.

Socialist MEP Paul Murphy broke up a council meeting last year, for reasons I can't fully understand myself: http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/mep-paul-murphy-arrested-after-storming-council-chamber-29064251.html

The thing is, whatever you think about the water charges, everyone at that council meeting has a democratic mandate to attend and participate in that and any other council meeting. What mandate did Paul Murphy have to break it up, and what does his action say about his own attitude to the democratic process?

I wouldn't give him the steam off my piss, myself.

Quote from: IolarCoisCuain on May 21, 2014, 10:26:02 PM

Socialist MEP Paul Murphy broke up a council meeting last year, for reasons I can't fully understand myself: http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/mep-paul-murphy-arrested-after-storming-council-chamber-29064251.html

The thing is, whatever you think about the water charges, everyone at that council meeting has a democratic mandate to attend and participate in that and any other council meeting. What mandate did Paul Murphy have to break it up, and what does his action say about his own attitude to the democratic process?

Democratic process? What fcukin democratic process? If the powers that be believed in democracy they would have given us a vote on the bailout, austerity etc. They decided that banks and the EU/Euro were clearly more important than the fools who voted for them. Sometimes desperate times call for desperate measures. Him and his supporters were dead right to oppose this theft, if we had more politicians with conviction like him we'd be better off.

Quote from: magpie seanie on May 21, 2014, 11:04:03 PM
Quote from: IolarCoisCuain on May 21, 2014, 10:26:02 PM

Democratic process? What fcukin democratic process? If the powers that be believed in democracy they would have given us a vote on the bailout, austerity etc. They decided that banks and the EU/Euro were clearly more important than the fools who voted for them. Sometimes desperate times call for desperate measures. Him and his supporters were dead right to oppose this theft, if we had more politicians with conviction like him we'd be better off.
We have loads of politicians with convictions up here.

It may seem appealing to vote Shinner but if you lived up here you'd realise their the same money-grubbing hoors you've been used to all along. You can kid yourselves they're better than Labour / FF / FG or the Greens but in reality they're all the f**king same. Populist gobshites who'll spin you any ould shite of a yarn to get into power and as soon as they get there they'll shit on all the policies and promises they made to you before.

Think of them as Labour but with a green poster.

At the minute I've a SF member of Parliament for the past 13 years but he doesn't attend Westminster in any shape or form and never has. Despite this he still draws down nearly every fund he's "entitled" to as a MP, explain the difference in that to Shatter claiming he's "entitled" to but doesn't deserve either? 13 years and not once has his voice been heard in the office he was appointed to. A well seasoned turnip could replace my MP in the morning and literally I would be no worse represented.

My SF MEP is Braribhe deBrun who's single greatest accomplishment in 10 years is to ensure EU documents get printed in Irish. She quit in 2012 according to Wikipedia which is news to me. I'd say greater than 70% of voters like myself haven't noticed her absence one bit. She rarely give speeches in English, preferring Irish because hey it's better no-one understands what the fcuk your saying rather than have a few understand.

I've 3 Shinner MLA's but they can't get anything passed because Stromont is on strike since the Hass debacle. Most of our European counter-parts and competitors (including the Free State) have implemented a stringent BVD control program to eradicate a significant bovine disease which costs the agriculture industry here in excess of 1 million a year. Initially we were meant to initiate the program with the Irish program. They started in 2012 and we were told we'd start a year behind. Since we were told we'd start in March, then July but still no word or sign of it. As of now we are 2 years or more behind Ireland, Scotland, Wales and England. All because our MLA's have been instructed by there parties not to agree on any legislation purely to spite the each other, you wouldn't get such thick, hateful fcukers in a creche never mind a regional democracy.

I've a Shinner Agriculture minister who thinks milk farmers sleep in at weekends and who's previous experience with agriculture would be sniffing the smell of shite as she drove through the countryside. Again FG's Coveney has more than 6 months ago dictated specifically the details of the CAP payment changes for the next 5 years to 2019. As of writing my SF minister has decided absolutely diddly squat. I can show you information leaflets in which the only specific info is that they are "unsure" of the future form of CAP payments. Once again we are the slow fckuers behind the Welsh, Scots, English and Irish.

So lads don't get your hopes up for the Shinners, they'll spin you whatever crock you want to hear but in reality they are as ineffectual, petty and corrupt as the lads you are used to.

What p*sses me off about practically all of the candidates (both local & European) is that they sh*te on about water charges and the likes as if they have or can have any influence on them - as it stands, that's a decision for national government.

Quote from: trileacman on May 22, 2014, 01:33:37 AM
It may seem appealing to vote Shinner but if you lived up here you'd realise their the same money-grubbing hoors you've been used to all along. You can kid yourselves they're better than Labour / FF / FG or the Greens but in reality they're all the f**king same. Populist gobshites who'll spin you any ould shite of a yarn to get into power and as soon as they get there they'll shit on all the policies and promises they made to you before.

At the minute I've a SF member of Parliament for the past 13 years but he doesn't attend Westminster in any shape or form and never has. Despite this he still draws down nearly every fund he's "entitled" to as a MP, explain the difference in that to Shatter claiming he's "entitled" to but doesn't deserve either? 13 years and not once has his voice been heard in the office he was appointed to. A well seasoned turnip could replace my MP in the morning and literally I would be no worse represented.

My SF MEP is Braribhe deBrun who's single greatest accomplishment in 10 years is to ensure EU documents get printed in Irish. She quit in 2012 according to Wikipedia which is news to me. I'd say greater than 70% of voters like myself haven't noticed her absence one bit. She rarely give speeches in English, preferring Irish because hey it's better no-one understands what the fcuk your saying rather than have a few understand.

I've 3 Shinner MLA's but they can't get anything passed because Stromont is on strike since the Hass debacle. Most of our European counter-parts and competitors (including the Free State) have implemented a stringent BVD control program to eradicate a significant bovine disease which costs the agriculture industry here in excess of 1 million a year. Initially we were meant to initiate the program with the Irish program. They started in 2012 and we were told we'd start a year behind. Since we were told we'd start in March, then July but still no word or sign of it. As of now we are 2 years or more behind Ireland, Scotland, Wales and England. All because our MLA's have been instructed by there parties not to agree on any legislation purely to spite the each other, you wouldn't get such thick, hateful fcukers in a creche never mind a regional democracy.

I've a Shinner Agriculture minister who thinks milk farmers sleep in at weekends and who's previous experience with agriculture would be sniffing the smell of shite as she drove through the countryside. Again FG's Coveney has more than 6 months ago dictated specifically the details of the CAP payment changes for the next 5 years to 2019. As of writing my SF minister has decided absolutely diddly squat. I can show you information leaflets in which the only specific info is that they are "unsure" of the future form of CAP payments. Once again we are the slow fckuers behind the Welsh, Scots, English and Irish.

So lads don't get your hopes up for the Shinners, they'll spin you whatever crock you want to hear but in reality they are as ineffectual, petty and corrupt as the lads you are used to.

Oh really??

I thought Hayes and Murphy would be the two happiest with their performances on the first part of the Prime Time Dublin debate. Didnt find Hayes arrogant, thought he was good. Found it a bit curious how often he emphasised the current govt was a FG/Lab partnership. I think he may even have said "jointly led by Kenny and Gilmore". Surely Kenny is the leader? (tho perhaps I picked him up wrong).

Boylan did well and seems like she could be a big asset for SF. Perhaps a little bit outshone by Murphy on the day, though sometimes he can be a bit too aggressive. Costello of Labour seems like a nice lady, and I thought I'd like her, but it wasn't a good day for her. Started out nervously, and then came across a bit silly when refusing to answer the question asked and instead insisting on dealing with a previous topic.

As someone who would be prepared to vote FF if I like the candidate, Fitzpatrick annoyed me with her complaining about FG/Lab tax policy. FF people need to steer well clear of the mess we're in, and concentrate on ideas to help alleviate it going forward.

In the 2nd part, I thought Eamon Ryan came across well. Competent and sensible. I thought at the beginning of the show I'd like him best, and I did.

The Direct Democracy Ireland movement is an interesting one. Not sure what to make of them, but while most of the non FF/FG/Lab candidates are way way left, these guys seem more towards the middle. Their ideas are that politicians would be given less responsbility than the carte blanche they currently get when elected - more referendums on the important issues, and when a politician does something clearly improper or reneges on their election promises, the people can impeach him/her. Apparently this system is in place in Switzerland and they claim it works very well there.   

Quote from: trileacman on May 22, 2014, 01:33:37 AM

Hardly one to accuse anyone else of spinning crock. I don't think abstaining from westminster is breaking a promise considering he stood for election on an abstentionist ticket. And why wouldn't SF members claim their expenses from Westminster. They don't attend the House of Commons, but they are still active MPs running their constituency offices, so dry your eyes. Maybe you'd prefer they took the stoops approach: take an oath of allegiance to get into the commons, then become among the worst attendees in it, but occasionally show up for a little nap: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FiEUDeLX-hY.

P.s. Bairbre DeBrun stepped down on health grounds. It was widely reported at the time. That you didn't know this says more about you than it does about anyone else.

I've just had my first ever SF canvasser call to the door.  He didn't ring, just threw a leaflet into the porch. Maybe I have a reputation that I don't know about, but I've never savaged anyone going about their democratic business. Not severely, anyway.

I must say he cut a different figure to the besuited, collared and tied FG and FF crusaders I'm more used to. Check shirt, front out, back tucked in, crumpled jeans, Celtic cross hanging from one ear by a chain. (I know that last bit is a caricature, but I swear I'm not making it up.)

Anyway, he abided impeccably by the etiquette guidelines - no trampling on roses. But it was an easy test. I don't have any roses.

I might put a number after his man's name, just to recognise the effort - there's a big steep hill up to our place.