26 counties poll for local elections.

Started by AZOffaly, May 21, 2014, 10:18:34 AM

Who will you vote for in the Local elections? (First Preference Only)

Fine Gael
9 (12.9%)
Labour
1 (1.4%)
Fianna Fail
6 (8.6%)
Sinn Fein
27 (38.6%)
Greens
1 (1.4%)
United Left
0 (0%)
Socialist Party
0 (0%)
People Before Profit
0 (0%)
RSF
1 (1.4%)
eirigi
0 (0%)
Independents
12 (17.1%)
Other
0 (0%)
Won't/Can't vote
13 (18.6%)

Total Members Voted: 70

Quote from: armaghniac on May 27, 2014, 11:06:24 AM
Quote from: balladmaker on May 27, 2014, 09:41:41 AM
It's a dangerous position for Sinn Fein, when you look at how the minority party in coalition has been treated by the electorate in both Ireland and the UK.  What would /  could Sinn Fein do differently when in power to ensure the same doesn't happen to them?  Stick to their manifesto would be good for a start. 

In a coalition, both parties cannot implement their full manifesto.
But the first step is not to put bollix in the manifesto that could never be implemented unless a pink elephant herd arrived.

The first step before that first step is to get elected. To get elected, you have to put bollix in the manifesto. The electorate expects it and won't vote for a bollix-free manifesto. The more bollix, the more votes.

We're still even voting for FFFFS.

(FF, ffs)

Quote from: Hardy on May 27, 2014, 11:11:40 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on May 27, 2014, 11:06:24 AM
Quote from: balladmaker on May 27, 2014, 09:41:41 AM
It's a dangerous position for Sinn Fein, when you look at how the minority party in coalition has been treated by the electorate in both Ireland and the UK.  What would /  could Sinn Fein do differently when in power to ensure the same doesn't happen to them?  Stick to their manifesto would be good for a start. 

In a coalition, both parties cannot implement their full manifesto.
But the first step is not to put bollix in the manifesto that could never be implemented unless a pink elephant herd arrived.

The first step before that first step is to get elected. To get elected, you have to put bollix in the manifesto. The electorate expects it and won't vote for a bollix-free manifesto. The more bollix, the more votes.

(FF, ffs)

;D.  The Shinners have done that bit well anyway!

Quote from: magpie seanie on May 27, 2014, 09:40:45 AM
On seafoid's points about the debt my feelings are this:

I believe FF/FG/Lab think we should pay back every cent and aren't bothered about pushing for a reduction or a deal of some kind. I have always held this belief and despite being told countless times "ah wait til such and such is out of the way and we'll get a deal."

I believe SF/PBP/SP etc do not think we should pay back the whole lot and I don't think we should either. I think SF are nothing if not pragmatic and believe they would push hard for a reduction in the debt or some kind of easing of it. I'd give them a bigger chance of reducing the debt than people who don't really want to reduce it.
I agree with you and that is one of the reasons why I voted for the Shinners last Friday. Their massive gains will force the other parties to accept that they are going to be a force to be reckoned  with and may shake them out of their complacency.
It also means the Gerry & Co. will have to accept that they benefited from the backlash against the policies of the government and FF. They will need to prove that their way is the best way, in a manner of speaking.
I hope they can because what we are putting up with now passes belief.
Michael D gets paid more than Barak Obama!
Enda Kenny earns more than David Cameron or any other EU head of government. Alan Shatter resigns from his job and gets a sweetener of €70, 000 along with a ministerial pension after only  2 years in office. Austerity my posterior, those friggers couldn't spell the word, let alone understand what it means.
The list goes on and on and the wonder is that we, as a nation, have tolerated so much for so long.
Now, the Shinners have an opportunity to show that they can provide an alternative to the present  rotten system  and they have from here to the next general election to show that they can.
I wish them luck but it's a case of wait and see....

I don't think Sinn Fein's gains are anything close to enough to shake up the established order. It's like a version of Labour's boom before the 2011 election but with far worse transfer numbers. Good vote management by the other parties will scupper many SF candidates.

Great website here which gives a graphic illustration of each count in every council election

http://clairebyrne.ie/counts/

I had a look at the Dublin - Rathgar/Rathmines one to check on how close/far the lord mayor Oisin Quinn came, but it gave a good example of a SF candidate being 4th early on and looking very good for a seat (6 seater) but after all the transfers come in, he ends up being relegated to 7th and missing out by a whisker

On the rough basis going by the percentages last Friday - In a GE -  FG 45 seats, FF 40, SF 30, Lab 10, Loonyleft 8, Greens 5, and a scatter of about 25 -30 various shades of Independent.
Some craic trying to form a Govt then  :D

As long as people do not expect paries to put forward reasoned proposals, then little will change.

(FF, ffs)

FF would not do much different right now than than present incumbents, under some constraints they would be OK.

Maybe now that idiot Kenny will desist from taunting Adams about the Troubles every time the latter puts a question to him in the Dáil. If only he'd been half as interested in the Troubles at the actual time.

Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on May 27, 2014, 01:21:20 PM
Maybe now that idiot Kenny will desist from taunting Adams about the Troubles every time the latter puts a question to him in the Dáil. If only he'd been half as interested in the Troubles at the actual time.

I doubt it. It's one of the reasons why Sinn Fein have to decide is the time right to hand over to the hungry newcomers, or stick with the lads that have got this far. The Troubles will ALWAYS be on the agenda when Gerry Adams is stuck in any debate. It's just a very easy target for the likes of Martin, Kenny and whichever lucky devil leads Labour.

Quote from: AZOffaly on May 27, 2014, 01:24:38 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on May 27, 2014, 01:21:20 PM

I doubt it. It's one of the reasons why Sinn Fein have to decide is the time right to hand over to the hungry newcomers, or stick with the lads that have got this far. The Troubles will ALWAYS be on the agenda when Gerry Adams is stuck in any debate. It's just a very easy target for the likes of Martin, Kenny and whichever lucky devil leads Labour.

It's a very easy target, but at this stage who's reputation is it damaging more? I would say Kenny as it makes him look out of his depth in the debate. His snide comments about the troubles do not do him any favours at all in my opinion.

Agree with you there AZ, all in the timing, which is surely nigh. I would say, however that Kenny's puerile Dáil antics actually cost FG, and not insignificantly at that, in this election. Desperate times for Kenny,  Martin, and Burton? though, so political maturity may be some time off.

fearglasmor

Quote from: Rossfan on May 27, 2014, 12:18:44 PM
On the rough basis going by the percentages last Friday - In a GE -  FG 45 seats, FF 40, SF 30, Lab 10, Loonyleft 8, Greens 5, and a scatter of about 25 -30 various shades of Independent.

At some point, FF an FG will cop on that they have far more in common than differences. (Where did I hear that before) and stop trying to con people to believing they are different.

At what point will our politicians bring the future plans of Jose Manuel Baroso to the doorsteps of their electorate.

That's 163-168 seats - the next GE reduces numbers to 158.

Quote from: Maguire01 on May 27, 2014, 06:26:54 PM
That's 163-168 seats - the next GE reduces numbers to 158.
I doubt that the high % independent vote in local elections will reflect in a general election 25- 30 independents. It doesn't work like that, probably no more than 15.