Playing at home for the rest of the Season (year)!

Started by From the Bunker, April 07, 2014, 08:15:01 PM

The Hill is Blue

Quote from: Dinny Breen on April 28, 2014, 04:18:12 PM

Dublin have always dominated Leinster football but even in their greatest years they've never had a period of dominance like it

1974 to 1979 six Leinster titles in a row and most of those games were played outside Croke Park.
I remember Dublin City in the Rare Old Times http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9T7OaDDR7i8

Thisonegoesto11

Quote from: From the Bunker on April 28, 2014, 07:53:31 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on April 28, 2014, 04:09:54 PM

a) It is always an advantage when teams play at home, regardless of how good they are.
b) It becomes an even bigger advantage when *every* championship game is at home.
c) In the past Dublin played 'down the country' in the championship.
d) In the past Dublin played in Parnell Park in the league.

Now, apart from that carry on :D

There will be no reply to this! None! There is no escaping the facts.

Greed of the GAA will be it's downfall! They have squeezed all they can out of Dublin with Croke Park! League games were a bonus and sure lets let Dublin have 4 games there a campaign, 5 was even squeezed one year. So we have no alternative venues? The Gaelic grounds? Páirc Uí Chaoimh? McHale Park? Fitzgerald Stadium? Thurles? are all ground that can hold 40K plus? Whats wrong with using them?

Eh there was already a reply. Same ol nonsense , thread should be retitled 'sour grapes' . If Dubs whined like this about recent previus AI winners , they'd be laughed out of it as 'can't take yer beating'.
Incredible that so many of ye are at pains to go on about Dublin. Surely better of focussing on reasons why your county can't win an AI . Might help yis finally win a title rather than lamenting Dublin's success. 

Thisonegoesto11

Quote from: The Hill is Blue on April 28, 2014, 08:06:43 PM

Dublin have always dominated Leinster football but even in their greatest years they've never had a period of dominance like it

1974 to 1979 six Leinster titles in a row and most of those games were played outside Croke Park.

Ye can't be bringing facts into a conspiracy theory discussion ..."different era"..."not relevant".....

Banter Panther

Quote from: Thisonegoesto11 on April 28, 2014, 08:17:33 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on April 28, 2014, 07:53:31 PM

a) It is always an advantage when teams play at home, regardless of how good they are.
b) It becomes an even bigger advantage when *every* championship game is at home.

There will be no reply to this! None! There is no escaping the facts.

Greed of the GAA will be it's downfall! They have squeezed all they can out of Dublin with Croke Park! League games were a bonus and sure lets let Dublin have 4 games there a campaign, 5 was even squeezed one year. So we have no alternative venues? The Gaelic grounds? Páirc Uí Chaoimh? McHale Park? Fitzgerald Stadium? Thurles? are all ground that can hold 40K plus? Whats wrong with using them?

Eh there was already a reply. Same ol nonsense , thread should be retitled 'sour grapes' . If Dubs whined like this about recent previus AI winners , they'd be laughed out of it as 'can't take yer beating'.
Incredible that so many of ye are at pains to go on about Dublin. Surely better of focussing on reasons why your county can't win an AI . Might help yis finally win a title rather than lamenting Dublin's success.

!!!!!!!!!!!!!LOUDDDDDDD NOISESSSSSSSSSS!!!!!!!!!!!
'Donegal are a footballing superbug, with no obvious cure' - Joe Brolly 2013

squire_in_navy_slacks

Quote from: Dont Matter on April 28, 2014, 05:13:24 PM
All the Dubs and Dub wannabes around here are doing a great impression of Bertie, the Dub hero of course. Playing at home in every match isn't an advantage, they say. Millions of euro every year isn't an advanatage either according to them.  ;D Laughable really. All their excuses remind me of one of Bertie's lines: "It is not correct, and if I said so, I was not correct — I cannot recall if I said it, but I did not say, or if I did, I did not mean to say it". They actually think us fine country folk are too thick to realise what's happening, just like the Bert but in the end things caught up with him and it's catching up with the Dubs now. The games up boyos, the split is coming!

I have a list here that really shows the power of money, especially in an amateur sport where most counties are struggling financially. This list covers from 2009 till now, a time when the serious investment in Dublin GAA started taking effect.

Dublin's Bought Titles:

Senior
Football
All Ireland Senior Football Champions: 2011, 2013
Leinster Senior Football Champions: 2009, 2011, 2012, 2013
National Football League Champions: 2013, 2014

Hurling

Leinster Senior Hurling Champions: 2013
National Hurling League Titles: 2011

U21

Football
All Ireland u21 Football Champions: 2010, 2012
Leinster u21 Football Champions: 2009, 2010, 2012, 2014

Hurling
Leinster u21 Hurling Champions: 2010, 2011

Minor

Football
All Ireland Minor Football Champions: 2012
Leinster Minor Football Champions: 2009, 2011, 2012

Hurling

Leinster Minor Hurling Champions: 2011, 2012

That's a huge amount of silverware and it will be added to again this year. It just can't go on, it's best for everyone if we split Dublin, even for the Dubs themselves! It can't be the best feeling knowing that you haven't won anything by yourselves. If we want fair play in Gaelic Games then the split must happen sooner or later, more and more people are coming to this realisation so it's inevitable at this stage.

You sound like a soccer coconut...................................wouldnt be surprised if you are that job robbing weasel Colm Parkinson

Quote from: lynchbhoy on April 28, 2014, 03:57:37 PM
def is an advantage now that ublin are a better team.
was no issue in prev decades when Dublin were not as good.

but apart from every player wanting to play in croker, Kilkenny might have a few quid and Kerry being shrewd financial (mean) people - these counties don't have the same financial backing as the dubs - what is the alternative.

we are not going to build a new stadium in the middle of the country.

where the work and roads all lead to is Dublin.
they have a massive population and if they start to dominate - then the division of the county will happen.

but jeez lads, some of the shtie here is something else.

by the way - emlyn mulligan still plays in Leitrim does he!!!   ;)

Dublin won yesterday as they had their full team out as opposed to the one that faced Derry in Celtic park.
The rest of the country have to try and dethrone the dubs this season.

Football and hurling are f**king fantastic.
like yer man maximums malteeserus said in the film - are you not entertained!
The season is well and truly underway and I hope Derry learn from yesterdays masterclass (and with the manager they have- they will).
Cant wait for the championships now!

chill out lads and enjoy - sure you could be like the poor English lads and only stuck following some two bit soccer teams that mean nothing to you like man city, Liverpool, Chelsea and man u etc!

Hang on Lynchbhoy, stall the gallop for a second...

You didn't think that one through az

A. Not always. Certain county grounds don't suit teams. A slow older team wants a small pitch like newbridge not eg simple stadium
B. Yes
C. Dublin rarely lose on the road
D. They did and I presume it's down to money why they play in croker.
If we, the Gaa and the country was awash with Money then I'd have Dublin playing all the time in navan

A lot of ex intercounty players I know prefer playing in croker to their home pitches
One current Offaly veteran hurler you prob know well is one

Not saying it's right , but it is what it is so folk should get over it.
Until Dublin is eventually split into two if that becomes a requirement

Quote from: squire_in_navy_slacks on April 28, 2014, 08:27:47 PM
.wouldnt be surprised if you are that job robbing weasel Colm Parkinson

Can you explain this one to me?

Quote from: Thisonegoesto11 on April 28, 2014, 08:22:26 PM
Quote from: The Hill is Blue on April 28, 2014, 08:06:43 PM

Ye can't be bringing facts into a conspiracy theory discussion ..."different era"..."not relevant".....

Yes that was your greatest period, 6 in a row. Dublin are currently on track to win their 9th Leinster title in 10 years!

Dont Matter

Quote from: Thisonegoesto11 on April 28, 2014, 07:04:25 PM
Unreal. Is throwing Bertie Ahern into a discussion of any relevance at all ? (the FF/FG diehard thing isn't really a sensitive issue in multi party Dublin). Don't let Dublin become your obsessive conspiracy theory. Those things can eat ye up.  Help is out there.

You sound like a soccer coconut...................................wouldnt be surprised if you are that job robbing weasel Colm Parkinson

As usual the Dubs can't deal with any of the facts put to them and they try to shoot down the messenger, again like their hero Bertie. By the way, of course he's relevant to the discussion as he was a main player in getting Dublin the cash.

The Dubs and the Dub wannabe are avoiding the money issue as there's no defence for it but are still trying to claim that playing every match at home is not an advantage. It's ridiculous that anyone can claim that but it's the Dubs we're dealing with here.
They say that Dublin barely lost on the road in the 70's and 80's, that's true but who were they playing? For the most part, only Offaly and Meath had decent sides back then and they mostly played them in the Leinster final, which was in Croke Park of course. So they were beating poor teams on the road, some very poor teams.
It's easy to forget how low the standard was in many counties back then. Many improved themselves over the years though, shortly before the millions of euro came for Dublin plus every game at home, minnows like Laois, Westmeath and Kildare were winning the Leinster championship. They have no hope now.
Others like Wexford and Longford have transformed themselves from whipping boys in Gaelic football but they've been robbed of a chance of winning silverware. It would be impossible for them to compete with the multi million euro machine anyway but especially so if they're forced to play Dublin away no matter what round of competition.
This is not what the GAA is supposed to be about, putting money above watching our games flourish. Time to end the farce, split Dublin and lets play football and hurling on an equal footing, the way it's supposed to be.
'Dublin is not a national problem, it's a national opportunity.'
Peter Quinn

Quote from: Dont Matter on April 28, 2014, 10:35:00 PM
Quote from: Thisonegoesto11 on April 28, 2014, 07:04:25 PM
Unreal. Is throwing Bertie Ahern into a discussion of any relevance at all ? (the FF/FG diehard thing isn't really a sensitive issue in multi party Dublin). Don't let Dublin become your obsessive conspiracy theory. Those things can eat ye up.  Help is out there.

As usual the Dubs can't deal with any of the facts put to them and they try to shoot down the messenger, again like their hero Bertie. By the way, of course he's relevant to the discussion as he was a main player in getting Dublin the cash.

The Dubs and the Dub wannabe are avoiding the money issue as there's no defence for it but are still trying to claim that playing every match at home is not an advantage. It's ridiculous that anyone can claim that but it's the Dubs we're dealing with here.
They say that Dublin barely lost on the road in the 70's and 80's, that's true but who were they playing? For the most part, only Offaly and Meath had decent sides back then and they mostly played them in the Leinster final, which was in Croke Park of course. So they were beating poor teams on the road, some very poor teams.
It's easy to forget how low the standard was in many counties back then. Many improved themselves over the years though, shortly before the millions of euro came for Dublin plus every game at home, minnows like Laois, Westmeath and Kildare were winning the Leinster championship. They have no hope now.
Others like Wexford and Longford have transformed themselves from whipping boys in Gaelic football but they've been robbed of a chance of winning silverware. It would be impossible for them to compete with the multi million euro machine anyway but especially so if they're forced to play Dublin away no matter what round of competition.
This is not what the GAA is supposed to be about, putting money above watching our games flourish. Time to end the farce, split Dublin and lets play football and hurling on an equal footing, the way it's supposed to be.

We can't split Dublin because we'd all miss the ravings of a lunatic who's spent too much with the Count of Monte Cristo on that island.

Dont Matter

Quote from: INDIANA on April 28, 2014, 10:39:40 PM
We can't split Dublin because we'd all miss the ravings of a lunatic who's spent too much with the Count of Monte Cristo on that island.

How are ya Bertie?  ;D
Peter Quinn

Quote from: Dont Matter on April 28, 2014, 10:42:12 PM

How are ya Bertie?  ;D

Sure we all know Bertie lives in Laois

Dont Matter

Quote from: INDIANA on April 28, 2014, 10:43:48 PM
Quote from: Dont Matter on April 28, 2014, 10:42:12 PM

How are ya Bertie?  ;D

Sure we all know Bertie lives in Laois

:D That's Bertie the dealer from Crumlin, Bertie the stealer from Drumcondra is still in his homeland.
Peter Quinn

good job the internet wasn't about when Kerry won 8 in 10yrs, they been looking to split up the kingdom lol, Dublin are strong but they always been there are there abouts past 25yrs, fortune and luck had fell their road in the early 90`s they could have won maybe 3 All- Ireland's in a 4yrs period. They come strong now off a few good minor and u-21 teams, but look at Galway with a couple of good all-ireland u-21 teams, where have them players gone.

they have numbers and  a very strong club championship, the reality is Dublin have under achieving past number of years, things are clicking into place for them with a great panel of players, i for one don't hold the success and whats to come against them.

Jez there are so many lick arses on this thread! It's scary really! Don't Matter is an extreme case, but jez at least he's not going around with his eyes shut and his head up his arse. He knows exactly what is going on. But his negative ranting about the decent Dublin fan/person cloud allot of what the truth is and i would in no way associate myself with such vile comments.

So here is the news, well it is news to me.

Home advantage is of little consequence in the result of a game.
Using the same dressing room all the time is of little  consequence in the result of a game.
Warming up at the same end of Croke Park  is of little consequence in the result of a game.
Sleeping in your own bed the night before a match  is of little consequence in the result of a game.
Not having to make travel arrangements  is of little consequence in the result of a game.
Having a large home crowd at the match to support you is of little consequence in the result of a game.
Playing home games in the League (which can be up to six) is of little consequence in the result of a game.
Playing on an usual surface such that Croke Park  is of little consequence in the result of a game.
Playing all of you championship games in Croke Park  is of little consequence in the result of a game.
Playing teams who have had only a fraction of the time that Dublin have had in Croke Park is of little consequence in the result of a game.

I wonder how well Munster in Rugby would do if they Played all their games in Thomond? Would they have a few more Heineken Cups?