All-Ireland Club Semi Finals

Started by riptorn, January 14, 2014, 03:46:47 PM

Quote from: rosnarun on March 19, 2014, 02:24:53 PM
Pretty Clear Feeney took the man out . its exactly the type of fouls it was introduced for .
The only fustration is when Similar tackles are let go

There were quite a few let go after the Feeney card which was more frustrating than Feeney actually getting one.

This particular milk is now spilt.

However, I expect to see a lot of this in the coming summer.

The risk reward for the defender makes this a no brainer.

Run towards your opposite number and offload the pass late making a collision likely. If your opponent braces, as described by the ref that spoke to Bingo: "one of the signs he said for a deliberate block off the ball was the offending player tensing himself to give the hit ie he will naturally protect himself to give/take the hit". Thus if the other player tenses himself for the hit he might get a black card. Even though he doesn't move and you run into him.

The risk for the defender is, at most, a free against you that few refs would give, especially if you don't lead with the shoulder and take the hit on your own chest. But the reward is a black card against your opponent if you get it right.

So, who's the only gay in the village St Vincent's team?

Quote from: muppet on March 19, 2014, 03:19:35 PM
This particular milk is now spilt.

However, I expect to see a lot of this in the coming summer.

The risk reward for the defender makes this a no brainer.

Run towards your opposite number and offload the pass late making a collision likely. If your opponent braces, as described by the ref that spoke to Bingo: "one of the signs he said for a deliberate block off the ball was the offending player tensing himself to give the hit ie he will naturally protect himself to give/take the hit". Thus if the other player tenses himself for the hit he might get a black card. Even though he doesn't move and you run into him.

The risk for the defender is, at most, a free against you that few refs would give, especially if you don't lead with the shoulder and take the hit on your own chest. But the reward is a black card against your opponent if you get it right.

Spot on, Muppet. I didn't know, but I'm not surprised that they gave that particular directive. Lads should have perfected their "finding someone to be blocked by" technique by Championship time.

You shouldn't get a black card for that though and the referee at the course I attended supported that interpretation.

Lads, I can't believe what I'm seeing here. The Vincent's lad played the ball and made a support run. Feeney deliberately took him out of the play. It's quite obvious he did it, and if he's tweeting to that effect then I can't even understand why this is for debate.

I tell you this, if THAT incident is deemed debatable then the whole black card is banjaxed.

Quote from: AZOffaly on March 19, 2014, 03:46:00 PM
Lads, I can't believe what I'm seeing here. The Vincent's lad played the ball and made a support run. Feeney deliberately took him out of the play. It's quite obvious he did it, and if he's tweeting to that effect then I can't even understand why this is for debate.

I tell you this, if THAT incident is deemed debatable then the whole black card is banjaxed.

How can you be so certain of that ?.

Quote from: seafoid on March 19, 2014, 02:22:24 PM
This has legs but I don't think it'll be as long as the Cork hurlers thread

I think we can hit 50 pages here at least.

LOL

Only one person is debating whether it is a black card really though.

squire_in_navy_slacks

Quote from: BennyCake on March 19, 2014, 03:30:34 PM

A stab at the ignorant rugby oaf a couple of weeks back who let himself down in relation to homosexuals and sport that use alot of ball work

Quote from: imtommygunn on March 19, 2014, 03:55:46 PM

Only one person is debating whether it is a black card really though.

Reillers was on his own as well! It was a black card offence in my eyes. Tough on Feeney though all the same.

pray god theres no homo's playing gaelic fudball or we're all doomed!!  ::)

stats wise, there is prob a minimum 3 /4 gay men in each club. High time this was embraced

Quote from: J OGorman on March 19, 2014, 04:24:33 PM

stats wise, there is prob a minimum 3 /4 gay men in each club. High time this was embraced

Oh matron!!

Feeney's tweet reflects the sort of guy he is.

Quote from: J OGorman on March 19, 2014, 04:24:33 PM

Is this a double entendre or do I have to give you one?