Define the common characteristics of Connacht man/ woman

Started by Rossfan, November 14, 2013, 05:30:25 PM

fearglasmor

Never heard of Boxty till I landed in Leitrim/Roscommon
Doesn't know what arable is.
Expects a stranger to stand in the gap when moving cattle.
Is insulted if you don't.

Quote from: Rossfan on November 15, 2013, 04:31:07 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on November 15, 2013, 12:35:05 AM
Jingoistic. If a province can be such a thing.
Please elaborate -- but just remember Mayogodhelphim is not your typical Connacht man.

Always thought Connacht folk were more vocally wrapped up in the province they come from than is the case with other provinces. Maybe it's just pride in place, which is fair enough. But you're right, it's probably just the sort of rambling of that other loon that put jingoism into my head.

Quote from: Nally Stand on November 15, 2013, 06:12:09 PM
Please elaborate -- but just remember Mayogodhelphim is not your typical Connacht man.

Always thought Connacht folk were more vocally wrapped up in the province they come from than is the case with other provinces. Maybe it's just pride in place, which is fair enough. But you're right, it's probably just the sort of rambling of that other loon that put jingoism into my head.

Coming from an Ulsterman that's one hell of a reach.

Quote from: Syferus on November 15, 2013, 06:20:48 PM
v

Coming from you NS one of the biggest gobshites on the board that is a compliment.

That feeling driving over the bridge in Athlone, in the opposite direction to hell.

Quote from: Syferus on November 15, 2013, 06:20:48 PM

Ulster says no. But by way of evidence for my statement, take a step back and look at the thread we are posting in here. Started by a Connacht man.

Quote from: seafoid on November 15, 2013, 07:09:08 PM
That feeling driving over the bridge in Athlone, in the opposite direction to hell.
Tarmonbarry is even better .

Quote from: Rossfan on November 18, 2013, 07:11:27 PM
Doesn't sound right the way ye lot pronounce it. ;D

Aye the Fermanagh accent is a bit strange alright. We don't eat boxty in Tyrone though. We like our food to have an actual flavour/taste!

Quote from: Nally Stand on November 18, 2013, 06:14:16 PM
Quote from: muppet on November 18, 2013, 02:13:13 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on November 15, 2013, 09:05:59 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on November 15, 2013, 01:20:17 PM
Can smell a decent slice of boxty at forty paces...
ah boxty ya cant beat it

Now you are talking.

Boxty's not just a Connacht thing lads!

It was an All-Ireland thing, but nowadays only the last bastions remain in the west.

I am surprised it is not the official meal of Sinn Féin!

Them boyos would be into smoked salmon nowadays to go with the Armanis.

Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on November 15, 2013, 01:31:45 PM
Ability to soak up one own's bodyweight in rain water.
Ability to walk at a permanent 45 degree angle into driving wind without falling over.
Longing to annex Clare back into it's rightful province thereby increasing the Connacht "Lebensraum".
Wanting to put anyone who says "Connaught" in front of a firing squad.

;D Very good.