Death Notices

Started by Armagh4SamAgain, April 05, 2007, 03:25:33 PM

Quote from: J70 on February 27, 2025, 12:54:03 PMOr when he goes at Michael Rooker's Klansman in the private club after telling his down home stories about when he was a sheriff not far away.
One of my favourite ever movie scenes. A classic.

Truthsayer

Quote from: SaffronSports on February 27, 2025, 03:28:19 PM
Quote from: whitey on February 27, 2025, 03:27:29 PM
Quote from: J70 on February 27, 2025, 12:54:03 PM
Quote from: Truthsayer on February 27, 2025, 09:56:03 AMWas brilliant watching Hackman sorting out those racists in Mississipi Burning. Just a movie but great performance and was satisfying to see them get done ..

It's a movie that gets a lot of criticism for leaning too hard into the white saviour stuff, whereas in the real life story, the black people were so much more active and leading participants.

However, it is just riveting to watch, not just, but especially Hackman.

The scene where he get's Brad Dourif's racist sheriff in the barber's chair and beats the crap out of him snarling the "did you smile that stupid smile.." stuff.

Or when he goes at Michael Rooker's Klansman in the private club after telling his down home stories about when he was a sheriff not far away.

Just an extraordinary actor.

And therein lies the problems with the Democrats

Good guy battering the racists is now somehow perceived as a negative.

Have a day off ffs.
Relentless agenda from the White

Quote from: Truthsayer on February 27, 2025, 04:06:45 PM
Quote from: SaffronSports on February 27, 2025, 03:28:19 PM
Quote from: Truthsayer on February 27, 2025, 09:56:03 AMWas brilliant watching Hackman sorting out those racists in Mississipi Burning. Just a movie but great performance and was satisfying to see them get done ..

It's a movie that gets a lot of criticism for leaning too hard into the white saviour stuff, whereas in the real life story, the black people were so much more active and leading participants.

The scene where he get's Brad Dourif's racist sheriff in the barber's chair and beats the crap out of him snarling the "did you smile that stupid smile.." stuff.

Or when he goes at Michael Rooker's Klansman in the private club after telling his down home stories about when he was a sheriff not far away.

Have a day off ffs.
Relentless agenda from the White

Will someone please think of the poor dog.

French Connection I and II among my favourite movies off all time, brilliant actor. Check out Downhill Racer with him and  Robert Redford, seriously underrated film. RIP

AustinPowers

Never seen  the French connection or Mississippi burning

Only thing I recall seeing Hackman in was Superman , enemy of the state, and I did enjoy The quick and the dead

The actor I loved to hate (now I've moved on to Joaquin). Immense in every role he played, and played a consummate piece of shit bad guy bully so well - even in Mississippi Burning. 95 is a serious innings - fair play. 

Crimson Tide - Hackman and Denzel Washington in a Simpson/Bruckheimer film where the orders for a potential nuclear launch from a sub get cut off halfway through the message.

Talk about two giants of the screen facing off!

AustinPowers

Quote from: J70 on February 27, 2025, 05:00:56 PMCrimson Tide - Hackman and Denzel Washington in a Simpson/Bruckheimer film where the orders for a potential nuclear launch from a sub get cut off halfway through the message.

Like  King Kong and Godzilla?

Go take it up with Coretta Scott King or Myrlie Evers, or even the families of the victims, you relentlessly insufferable gobshite.

The film has always been flawed, both for the needless artistic licence it took to change the actual story as well as the white saviour narrative it puts forward, as previously mentioned. This is not something that is "now" controversial.

I would normally say "but you already knew that, didn't you?" but in your case I'm so utterly convinced that you're a stupid know-nothing **** that I'd genuinely believe you didn't.

Still, great performance from Hackman.

Quote from: J70 on February 27, 2025, 05:00:56 PMCrimson Tide - Hackman and Denzel Washington in a Simpson/Bruckheimer film where the orders for a potential nuclear launch from a sub get cut off halfway through the message.

Tony Scott at his finest. Weird race angle thrown in at the end of it but Hackman pulled it off.

This is the XO.

Quote from: gallsman on February 27, 2025, 05:51:56 PM

Go take it up with Coretta Scott King or Myrlie Evers, or even the families of the victims, you relentlessly insufferable gobshite.

The film has always been flawed, both for the needless artistic licence it took to change the actual story as well as the white saviour narrative it puts forward, add previously mentioned. This is not something that is "now" controversial.

I would normally say "but you already knew that, didn't you?" but it your case I'm so utterly convinced that you're a stupid know-nothing **** that I'd genuinely believe you didn't.

So the white savior J70 can't just say it was a great movie and that he was a great actor.

He has to interject with some textbook virtue signaling of his own just to make sure the other white saviors know not to praise the movie without deferring to their allies in the African American community

I'm deadly serious-this type of constant scolding, hectoring and "Johnnyoneupmanship" from those on the left actually costs Democrats huge amounts of support

https://www.msn.com/en-us/news/politics/fetterman-slams-own-democratic-party-for-scolding-voters-and-calling-them-fascists-how-can-you-vote-for-that/ar-AA1yCzxJ?ocid=EMMX

Stop boring everyone to death FFS

The Conversation - enjoyed that, though like a lot of films these days, I'd need to watch again lol

Psychological thriller I think is the phrase?

Damm you old age

Best Shot (Hoosiers) was one of my all time favourite films in my youth. Still love it.

Quote from: whitey on February 27, 2025, 06:05:10 PM
Quote from: gallsman on February 27, 2025, 05:51:56 PM

The film has always been flawed, both for the needless artistic licence it took to change the actual story as well as the white saviour narrative it puts forward, add previously mentioned. This is not something that is "now" controversial.

I would normally say "but you already knew that, didn't you?" but it your case I'm so utterly convinced that you're a stupid know-nothing **** that I'd genuinely believe you didn't.

So the white savior J70 can't just say it was a great movie and that he was a great actor.

He has to interject with some textbook virtue signaling of his own just to make sure the other white saviors know not to praise the movie without deferring to their allies in the African American community

I'm deadly serious-this type of constant scolding, hectoring and "Johnnyoneupmanship" from those on the left actually costs Democrats huge amounts of support

https://www.msn.com/en-us/news/politics/fetterman-slams-own-democratic-party-for-scolding-voters-and-calling-them-fascists-how-can-you-vote-for-that/ar-AA1yCzxJ?ocid=EMMX

Now I'm a virtue signaling white saviour!

Get a grip and stop doubling down on your over-reaction ya feckin eejit!