Jim is worried....

Started by EC Unique, July 28, 2013, 06:58:56 PM

BluestackBoy

Quote from: EC Unique on July 30, 2013, 09:21:52 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 30, 2013, 08:51:53 PM
The messiah has spoken.............

It is very VERY difficult no to laugh at that picture.

I know a lot of Mayo men who weren't laughing at it last September
For what shall it profit a man if he gains the whole world & loses his soul.

like kilkenny in the hurling ,Donegal have been teetering from game to game since their second half display and the rain snuffed out tyrone - I expect mayo to beat them by a couple.

the rain might offer Donegal a chance...

Quote from: BluestackBoy on July 30, 2013, 10:42:03 PM

I know a lot of Donegal men who aren't laughing at the present time!  :P

BluestackBoy

Quote from: From the Bunker on July 30, 2013, 10:55:24 PM
Quote from: BluestackBoy on July 30, 2013, 10:42:03 PM

I know a lot of Donegal men who aren't laughing at the present time!  :P

God no Bunker. Us Donegal men are a naturally good humoured, easy going crowd. It comes from winning the odd All Ireland every now and again ;D ;D ;D ;D

prob will be looking for a miricle on sunday !!

BluestackBoy

Quote from: lynchbhoy on July 30, 2013, 11:21:43 PM
prob will be looking for a miricle on sunday !!
Aye or maybe even a "miracle".

@bluestackboy So you still backing your hero to the hilt bud or do you accept that he made a major gaff on Saturday night with his rant?
I was in Donegal today with work and spoke to a number of gaa heads and they all rolled their eyes and shook their heads when I mentioned it.

BluestackBoy

Quote from: ck on July 30, 2013, 11:39:17 PM
@bluestackboy So you still backing your hero to the hilt bud or do you accept that he made a major gaff on Saturday night with his rant?
I was in Donegal today with work and spoke to a number of gaa heads and they all rolled their eyes and shook their heads when I mentioned it.

I don't believe a word of it. I know a lot more GAA people here than you do & I haven't seen one rolled eye let alone two. As for McGuinness being my hero, you miss the point entirely.
I just happen to recognise that great Irish trait of begrudgery when I see it & I see it all over the place here in it's most naked form.
You can try & dress it up any way you like but even the terms you use like "rant" give you away.
Unlike 99% of the begrudgers I know McGuinness. He is not perfect, far from it, but he has done a great job here, starting from nowhere & ending up top of the pile. It's just sad & funny at the same time to see people, some of them from counties with major issues of their own, taking any pot shot available at a man they would secretly give their right hand to have managing them. Any notion of accuracy & fairness have gone out the window here & I will do my best to provide some small semblance of balance, even if that means going over the top myself on occasion. Needs must.
Now you can call this a rant if you like but just so as you know where I am coming.

Sam2011

Quote from: BluestackBoy on July 30, 2013, 09:08:21 PM
Quote from: Sam2011 on July 30, 2013, 08:57:02 PM
Quote from: criostlinn on July 30, 2013, 08:29:50 PM
Quote from: BluestackBoy on July 30, 2013, 08:24:57 PM
Quote from: Johnnybegood on July 30, 2013, 08:21:44 PM
Quote from: screenexile on July 29, 2013, 11:58:10 AM
Surely 4 concussions in 3 games is too many for any team to face? Should he not mention this at all? As has been said he didn't know they were playing Mayo at the time so why are the bottlers so up in arms about it?
maybe he didn't need the tactic against Laois as their poor performance against monaghan was enough to get the players past lowly Laois ( no offence intended)
Before the draw Donegal were in line to get Dublin Kerry or as it turned out Mayo , bigger better teams and psychological gloves come off.
Why didn't he come out with it before the Laois game?

Very simple, he wasn't asked.

As a matter of interest, what question was he asked when he came out with that ball of shite of an answer

When he was going on about what happened Mark McHugh in the Monaghan game they don't actually show the question he was asked on the Sunday Game.
Then he was asked about the incident on the sideline with McNulty and he started on a rant about third man tackles and his players being targeted.
The question he was asked was "Do you feel that your key players are being targetted?".
As for the incident with McNulty, The Sunday Game clearly showed Murphy being third man tackled miles from the action & McGuinness went off on one. Brian Cody did exactly the same thing over the weekend when a decision went against him but no one dares bring that up.

As previous posters have said you are full of bullshit. Have you even listened to the clip? He was asked about the incident on the sideline with McNulty. Then hes goes on about his players being targeted, the interviewer never mentioned anything about his players being targeted.
And why would I bring Cody up? This is the football discussion section.

Speaking of questions you still haven't answered mine from yesterday!

Quote from: BluestackBoy on July 31, 2013, 12:04:10 AM

I don't believe a word of it. I know a lot more GAA people here than you do & I haven't seen one rolled eye let alone two. As for McGuinness being my hero, you miss the point entirely.
I just happen to recognise that great Irish trait of begrudgery when I see it & I see it all over the place here in it's most naked form.
You can try & dress it up any way you like but even the terms you use like "rant" give you away.
Unlike 99% of the begrudgers I know McGuinness. He is not perfect, far from it, but he has done a great job here, starting from nowhere & ending up top of the pile. It's just sad & funny at the same time to see people, some of them from counties with major issues of their own, taking any pot shot available at a man they would secretly give their right hand to have managing them. Any notion of accuracy & fairness have gone out the window here & I will do my best to provide some small semblance of balance, even if that means going over the top myself on occasion. Needs must.
Now you can call this a rant if you like but just so as you know where I am coming.

First off, there are people in Donegal who are embarrassed by Jimmys interview. Fact.
Secondly, I don't see myself as a begrudger however I accept that my posts perhaps may have suggested some sentiment, I simply detested his interview on Sunday game!! I respect Jimmy and what he's done for yee lads but with success comes some responsibility. He has jumped on an issue to try and force a situation to gain some cheap advantage going forward, an issue that he is very guilty of himself therefore the whole thing is very hypocritical on Jimmys part. If I'm being honest I think he has made a massive mistake and it will back fire on him this weekend.
I respect your loyalty to your county and you've taken plenty of stick on here, much of which is begrudgery and banter but the issue for me is that Jimmy is a hypocrite, he's trying to force an issue via the media. He would have been better shutting up, taking his win over Laois and moving on.
In saying that, if yee beat Mayo then we'll all have the tails between the legs. I supported yee lads last year but not his year. I don't like Jimmys games, it's not begrudgery, I just don't like his style. I thought he was a better man than that which I saw on Sunday night. Ps: It WAS a rant.

BluestackBoy

Quote from: Sam2011 on July 31, 2013, 12:28:11 AM
Quote from: BluestackBoy on July 30, 2013, 09:08:21 PM
Quote from: Sam2011 on July 30, 2013, 08:57:02 PM
Quote from: criostlinn on July 30, 2013, 08:29:50 PM
Quote from: BluestackBoy on July 30, 2013, 08:24:57 PM
Quote from: Johnnybegood on July 30, 2013, 08:21:44 PM
Quote from: screenexile on July 29, 2013, 11:58:10 AM
Surely 4 concussions in 3 games is too many for any team to face? Should he not mention this at all? As has been said he didn't know they were playing Mayo at the time so why are the bottlers so up in arms about it?
maybe he didn't need the tactic against Laois as their poor performance against monaghan was enough to get the players past lowly Laois ( no offence intended)
Before the draw Donegal were in line to get Dublin Kerry or as it turned out Mayo , bigger better teams and psychological gloves come off.
Why didn't he come out with it before the Laois game?

Very simple, he wasn't asked.

As a matter of interest, what question was he asked when he came out with that ball of shite of an answer

When he was going on about what happened Mark McHugh in the Monaghan game they don't actually show the question he was asked on the Sunday Game.
Then he was asked about the incident on the sideline with McNulty and he started on a rant about third man tackles and his players being targeted.
The question he was asked was "Do you feel that your key players are being targetted?".
As for the incident with McNulty, The Sunday Game clearly showed Murphy being third man tackled miles from the action & McGuinness went off on one. Brian Cody did exactly the same thing over the weekend when a decision went against him but no one dares bring that up.

As previous posters have said you are full of bullshit. Have you even listened to the clip? He was asked about the incident on the sideline with McNulty. Then hes goes on about his players being targeted, the interviewer never mentioned anything about his players being targeted.
And why would I bring Cody up? This is the football discussion section.

Speaking of questions you still haven't answered mine from yesterday!

God some of you people really need to chill out a bit. For starters I have a life, & I don't spend it listening to various clips of different interviews all day long. This really is not that interesting or such a big deal. It was a sideline interview after a game & fellas are going into orbit about it. Some of you need to get out more.
My point about Cody was that double standards are being applied here Cody goes ballistic on the sideline about a decision he doesn't like & not a peep from anyone. McGuinness does the same & the sky falls in.
As for your question you will have to repeat it. I can't remember what it was & quite frankly couldn't be bothered going back looking for it. Maybe if your manners were a bit better........

I wouldn't get too wound up over McGuinness' interview and the fact that it is gaining so many column inches is ridiculous. I couldn't help laughing at the tv when I heard him giving the interview whilst keeping a serious face and sounding as though crimes against humanity had been committed. It reflected badly on Jim I would say, and he came across as whinging. If it had been a malicious tackle by Gollogly I would see into it, but I would suggest that it was a fair attempt to get the ball. There is clearly no love lost between Horan and McGuinness.

James Horan gives his views on Donegal

JAMES Horan says it "doesn't really matter" who Mayo got in the All-Ireland quarter-final draw – but a close reading of his comments suggests that he and his players are relishing the chance to take on Donegal.
The Ballintubber man told last Sunday night's media briefing at Breaffy House Hotel that the All-Ireland champions will try anything that'll give them an advantage. And, reacting to Jim McGuinness's comments regarding the physicality being visited on Donegal by other teams, he suggested that the north-westerners have been the leaders in that area of the game.
"Donegal and their back-room team, they're competitive, they're All-Ireland champions," Horan noted. "Anything that'll give them an advantage, they'll try. Last year they mastered many new skills and brought football to a different level on many fronts... particularly in the area around physicality. They really ratcheted that up last year and put a lot of teams to the sword based on their strength, power and tackling. I don't know if any of ye have been at the end of a Michael Murphy tackle recently, but there's serious, serious physicality in that team. So they've been the leaders on that front."
McGuinness's comments regarding the serious injury to Donegal player Mark McHugh in the Ulster final prompted a lot of media comment. On The Sunday Game, former Dublin footballer Ciaran Whelan called the comments "a quite measured ... bit of PR", while ex-Kildare player Dermot Earley said physicality is "part and parcel of GAA". Speaking on RTÉ Radio, Armagh's Oisín McConville said McGuinness was trying to "rally the troops", adding: "Donegal have dished out as much treatment as anyone else ... If you're gonna give it out, you've got to be able to take it." The @MayoGAA Twitter account retweeted fans' criticism of McGuinness's comments on Sunday night.
Asked in the press conference if he had noticed more banter between himself and the Donegal management, Horan replied: "I wouldn't think so, no.  Although maybe we've more banter with other teams, that might be a better way to say it. Look it, Jim McGuinness and Rory Gallagher on the sideline, they do their thing. When I'm on the sideline, I just focus on ... what can I do to help the team that's on the field. That's all I do. I try and stay as composed as I can."
When one journalist suggested that the body language between the managers suggested there was no love lost between them, Horan responded: "Maybe show me a team that HAS good body language towards Mr McGuinness on the sideline! Maybe that's a better question! Look it, Jim's a successful manager, so good luck to him."
Horan feels that Mayo are "definitely" in a better place now than they were going into last year's All-Ireland final, with "a strong team, a stronger panel" and "a better understanding of our game, and what's needed to play at the top level". They had strived for "relentless improvement" in areas that had let them down in last year's final – their "first touch" in the full-forward line, balls that "didn't stick", intercepted hand passes, inadequate ball retention. "[We're] looking forward to showing how much we've improved," he said.
Asked whether Donegal were also a better team this year than last, Horan replied: "It's hard to say". While acknowledging that the Ulstermen had suffered a number of key injuries, he said being without players was "par for the course" for inter-county teams. Mayo's injury count in 2013 had been "phenomenal", he added – "We lost eight players off our match-day 26 in the first round of [the] club championship" – but there was "no point whining or whinging" about it.
"We're lucky that we've such strength in depth, and each time someone gets injured [or] something goes wrong, we just brush ourselves down and get on with it," he added.

BluestackBoy

Quote from: ck on July 31, 2013, 12:33:49 AM
Quote from: BluestackBoy on July 31, 2013, 12:04:10 AM

First off, there are people in Donegal who are embarrassed by Jimmys interview. Fact.
Secondly, I don't see myself as a begrudger however I accept that my posts perhaps may have suggested some sentiment, I simply detested his interview on Sunday game!! I respect Jimmy and what he's done for yee lads but with success comes some responsibility. He has jumped on an issue to try and force a situation to gain some cheap advantage going forward, an issue that he is very guilty of himself therefore the whole thing is very hypocritical on Jimmys part. If I'm being honest I think he has made a massive mistake and it will back fire on him this weekend.
I respect your loyalty to your county and you've taken plenty of stick on here, much of which is begrudgery and banter but the issue for me is that Jimmy is a hypocrite, he's trying to force an issue via the media. He would have been better shutting up, taking his win over Laois and moving on.
In saying that, if yee beat Mayo then we'll all have the tails between the legs. I supported yee lads last year but not his year. I don't like Jimmys games, it's not begrudgery, I just don't like his style. I thought he was a better man than that which I saw on Sunday night. Ps: It WAS a rant.

No arguement with that ck. I can see how McGuinness & Gallagher can annoy people & to tell you the truth some of the sideline stuff annoys me too. But he is genuine in his concern for his players, & if it comes across badly then fair enough.
It is the rush to judgement on a man's character that I don't like, terms like "hypocrite" & "cheap" & "jumping on issues" don't help & Knowing the man personally as I do are very wide of the mark. Yes he will play the media game as well as anyone but don't forget, all he didi was answer a question on air, all the hullabaloo came from media & posters who went ballistic, all over a 30 second interview. It's madness!!!!!

GrandMasterFlash

Jim and his passionate and loyal band of followers need not worry, the GAA & GPA have it all under control: http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/football/gaa-have-no-reason-to-back-up-mcguinness-player-welfare-concerns-238346.html

After Jimmy's rant we now have his wee sidekick talking crap to the media making accusations. The sooner Jimmy follows the £££ to Scotland the better as he is bringing the GAA into disripute with all this trash talking.