The GAA snob

Started by Dinny Breen, July 25, 2013, 04:33:30 PM

All of a Sludden

I'm gonna show you as gently as I can how much you don't know.

It was much easier than that:

What would he know, sure he/his father never won a championship.

Or, sure he's from XYZ club, what would he know.

Rule Number one of being a GAA snob= Today's matches are shite, not like in my day/ modern tactics are the summation of all known evil.

Number 2 = Anyone applying sports science to the game is a bollix - clipboard man, ear-piece coach, sports psychologist, tight jerseys guy.

Failing to know the names of all your county's players on the pitch.

Quote from: Jell 0 Biafra on July 25, 2013, 09:08:15 PM
Failing to know the names of all your county's players on the pitch.

Buying yer coffee and sandwiches from a coffee house instead of sitting in the back of yer boot surrounded by horseshit in a field and eating yer sandwiches yer ma made ye washing it down with a flask of tae

QuoteIf the rest are saying before the match your team will win handy, you'll vouchsafe it'll be much harder than everybody expects.

That's me.

artisan2010

Add
Showing no sign of any emotion at even the most tense game and looking down on those that do.

Sandwiches out of the boot of the car, on the train to a game I saw a man with his complete Sunday dinner between four slices of plain bread, cabbage, spuds and meat.

Buckos complaining about dressing rooms facilities - no hot water etc.

In my day we togged out behind bushes/in boots of cars and played on fields full of cow shite.

Of course the shyer ones of us used to turn up with the togs on under the trousers  :-*

Quote from: Shamrock Shore on July 26, 2013, 09:37:04 AM
Buckos complaining about dressing rooms facilities - no hot water etc.

In my day we togged out behind bushes/in boots of cars and played on fields full of cow shite.
Of course the shyer ones of us used to turn up with the togs on under the trousers  :-*

Is this not the snobbish behaviour discussed?!  ;)

Call that boy a full back?

John's Pat from Brocagh used to lepe about 20 feet into the air and stay there for 10 seconds.

QuoteIs this not the snobbish behaviour discussed?!

Yes Rois - that was my point.

I remember fondly heading to matches in one of theses - Gerry Carroll's finest

None of these air conditioned leg room yokes nowadays......

tonysoprano

"Seven: You look down on whichever code your county is weaker at. To sound convincing, you must denounce it at every opportunity."

This is based on the average Derry fan's attitude to hurling.