Galway v Armagh

Started by illdecide, July 15, 2013, 09:47:40 AM

Quote from: armaghniac on July 15, 2013, 05:50:01 PM
QuoteSave for the cross boys and mc keever the rest wouldn't have played there.

A number of others won a minor AI in front of 80,000 there.

Also the 2005 Minor final against Down was in Croke Park so Dyas, Toner, Forker and a few others were on that team.

Quote from: Syferus on July 15, 2013, 06:14:25 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on July 15, 2013, 05:50:01 PM
QuoteSave for the cross boys and mc keever the rest wouldn't have played there.

A number of others won a minor AI in front of 80,000 there.

The bars around Croker must have been emptied by 1PM to make the minor game, eh?
yeah syf and you would never talk a minor win to death either.

onefaircounty

Quote from: naka on July 15, 2013, 05:42:06 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on July 15, 2013, 04:51:56 PM
Not alot between the sides, Armagh in better form Galway at home and due a good performance. One extra week is the prize for the winner.
As an Armagh man will take another week with a trip to hq
We need to develop as a team
Save for the cross boys and mc keever the rest wouldn't have played there.

Being pedantic but most have played there v Dublin (NFL0 and Down (NFL final).

But I take your point, big games.

From Leitrim.

McEvoy - no big game experience

Morgan - Armagh minors, Cross All-Ireland run
Donaghy - Irish duty
McKeown - Crossmaglen

Kernan: Crossmaglen, Armagh 2003
McKeevver : Armagh u21, Irish duty
Shields - no big game experience

Harold - no big game experience
Lavery - Armagh u-21 captain

Ethan Rafferty - no big game experience
Kevin Dyas - Ulster minors, Hogan Cup
Caolan Rafferty - no big game experience

Clarke - Crossmaglen
Tony Kernan - Crossmaglen
Eugene McVerry - 2009 minors

Forget Galway's escape against Waterford, and forget about our demolition of Leitrim. They both mean diddly-squat now. It's a clean slate, new game, different day. Anything can happen.

It's 50/50 with any edge going to Galway with home advantage. 

Lads, why all the talk about Croker?  Sure the game is in Salthill ... surely we are not so arogant to be talking about a game against Cork?!

Galway never looked as bad against Mayo, looking from behind the goal Mayo were kicking into in the first half, i never seen anything like how timid their defence was, they were fumbling the ball like scared boys with Mayo thundering down on top of them. In the second half i looked around at Meehan,Armstrong, conroy etel add in a load of underage success and thought there is something really wrong at the core here. Yes , its management but it's deeper than that , it's a fancy dan culture that simply won't cut it in 2013.

Galway have class footballers and toe to toe on football terms could mix it with anyone but nearly all teams play a defensive system of sorts. I still have a feeling they might sneak this , Armagh are not all that pressing of a team.

Galways last five championship games

Beat Waterford by a point.
Beat Tipperary by 4 points
Lost to Mayo by a mile.
Lost by a Point to Antrim
Lost by 5 points to Sligo

I cannot understand anyone saying this is a 50/50 game.

Armaghgeddon

Like Ballad maker said, it isn't going to matter what previous results suggest, Armagh have not beat anyone great nor have Galway. Just going to be down to how both teams perform on the day.

Quote from: From the Bunker on July 15, 2013, 08:31:20 PM
Galways last five championship games

Beat Waterford by a point.
Beat Tipperary by 4 points
Lost to Mayo by a mile.
Lost by a Point to Antrim
Lost by 5 points to Sligo

I cannot understand anyone saying this is a 50/50 game.

Beat Leitrim by mile
Beat Wicklow by mile
Lost by 4 points to Cavan
Lost by 2 points to Roscommon
Lost by 3 points to Tyrone

Only two wins against division four sides and two defeats against division three sides.

Maybe this league game in April will count for something http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/football/2013/0407/380162-armagh-galway/

Rossie11

Galways 2nd half performance V Waterford was even worse than anything they done
in the mayo game. Any repeat of that and Armagh will steam roll them.
Galway have been below par for a while now. It's hard to make a case for them
turning it round this week.

I just can't see us winning this one the way we have played all year.
If it was away we were goosed but I can't see home advantage swinging it our way either.
Mayo blew us away while we were unconvincing against Tipp and Waterford - all 3 home games.

There are just too many passengers on the team at the moment and we are playing with no intensity at all. The Tipp and Waterford games were like challenge matches such was our lack of bite and intensity. This team just appears to be soft.

Our full back line is a shambles and I am telling ye now we have nobody capable of shackling Jamie Clarke. Both corner back positions have been exposed time and again all season. Duane, Forde and Kelly have all been found wanting but I'm afraid the alternatives on the subs bench just aren't there. I am fearful of the damage Clarke could do on Saturday.

The two wing forwards Farragher and O'Brien have been pretty much anonymous in the last two games as has Mark Hehir.
Armstrong, Meehan and Cummins are the only 3 forwards to look any way lively at all. Flynn made a difference when he came on around the middle the last day which he needed to as Greg Higgins has been poor in the last two games as well.
Paul Conroy has been our stand out player in the two qualifiers so far and but for him the Deise would have dumped us out last time out.
Gary O Donnell has been fairly good at number 6. Sice has been okay but Conor Dots had a bad day against Waterford.
It'll take some step up in performance to win this one but you'd imagine with home advantage and the incentive of Croke Park in the next round - if there isn't a kick in them for this one then there never will be!

Seen Derry against Galway earlier in the yr, thought Michael Martin looked a decent forward, take it nicky joyce has been long term injured this yr?

No Nicky is not injured - more not interested in playing county football it seems. Serious waste of talent.

Quote from: onefaircounty on July 15, 2013, 07:31:17 PM
Quote from: naka on July 15, 2013, 05:42:06 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on July 15, 2013, 04:51:56 PM
Not alot between the sides, Armagh in better form Galway at home and due a good performance. One extra week is the prize for the winner.
As an Armagh man will take another week with a trip to hq
We need to develop as a team
Save for the cross boys and mc keever the rest wouldn't have played there.

Being pedantic but most have played there v Dublin (NFL0 and Down (NFL final).

But I take your point, big games.

From Leitrim.

McEvoy - no big game experience

Morgan - Armagh minors, Cross All-Ireland run
Donaghy - Irish duty
McKeown - Crossmaglen

Kernan: Crossmaglen, Armagh 2003
McKeevver : Armagh u21, Irish duty
Shields - no big game experience

Harold - no big game experience
Lavery - Armagh u-21 captain

Ethan Rafferty - no big game experience
Kevin Dyas - Ulster minors, Hogan Cup
Caolan Rafferty - no big game experience

Clarke - Crossmaglen
Tony Kernan - Crossmaglen
Eugene McVerry - 2009 minors
Fk you guys are all good Craic

Dyas played a hogan big deal, I watched it and it wasn't in croker
I was at the Dublin game which was over before I sat down
In the glory years we had a few games before we won
As I said earlier the Galway game is a toss up
We have momentum but they have some super ayers
I just hope we come out on the good side

Quote from: galwayman on July 15, 2013, 10:18:16 PM
No Nicky is not injured - more not interested in playing county football it seems. Serious waste of talent.

Nicky never seemed interested in playing county football even when he was playing. Serious waste of talent. But also a serious waste of any Management time.