Irish folk music thread

Started by qwerty123, July 03, 2013, 10:01:06 AM

QuoteShamrock Shore - is that pure trad or songs too, many's a Comhaltas session wouldn't allow a cough never mind a person to give a song!

It's whatever you are having yourself Qwerty as far as I know. There is a rake of YouTube clips available and I think there is even a channel but I am not sure.

I think this clip would the typical

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GShibQzm9oc

But you would get the odd dodgy rendition of 'Spancil Hill' as well.

qwerty123

I'd be a big fan fo Christy Moore as well - such a repertoire and a fantastic performer.  His light and humerous ones are great as well.

Ulick

There's not many about who can cross over the trad/folk boundary with the easy of multi-instrumentalist Barry Kerr.

https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=barry+kerr&oq=barry+kerr

Has only recorded a couple of albums but has a great background of live performances. Often to be found doing the singer-songwriter thing downstairs in Maddens Belfast or in the middle of a trad session upstairs.

Mary Dillon from Dungiven is one of the finest female vocalists I've ever heard. I defy anyone to not appreciate her talent. Older sister Cara.

Kate bush cover - Army Dreamers
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w-6oT9et6nA

From her new album "North" - The Boatman
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RrVK2AlyN3M

Feckitt

I understand the attraction of sweet singers like the Dillons but I would much rather listen toballsy singers like Dolores Keane or English Folk singer Sandy Denny.  I think a stronger rougher voice is much more suited to Irish folk music.

Quote from: Feckitt on July 03, 2013, 04:31:24 PM
I understand the attraction of sweet singers like the Dillons but I would much rather listen toballsy singers like Dolores Keane or English Folk singer Sandy Denny.  I think a stronger rougher voice is much more suited to Irish folk music.

But when comes from such a beatuiful person as cara dillon can ye not make an exception?

andoireabu

From a instrumental side I could listen to this lad play all day.

Gerry O'Connor
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5RCOIvf7NY4
Private Cowboy: Don't shit me, man!
Private Joker: I wouldn't shit you. You're my favorite turd!

Quote from: Feckitt on July 03, 2013, 10:52:24 AM
The Raparees from Belfast are a good wee band

A great wee band, you mean!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LCq6ez9PpaA
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TSgL70iTMaM  (last minute or so of this in particular)

qwerty123

Seán Keane and Paul brady haven't got mentions! Himself and Andy together make a right auld pairing.

I love it all lads but where do you draw the line between trad and folk. You have Christy who is definitely folk and Liam óg who is one of the best ever pipe players...prob THE best. So what are Planxty?

Quote from: 5 Sams on July 12, 2013, 11:14:53 PM
I love it all lads but where do you draw the line between trad and folk. You have Christy who is definitely folk and Liam óg who is one of the best ever pipe players...prob THE best. So what are Planxty?

Planxty would be folk. They do a lot of traditional tunes but I would have them down as folk as 80% of their repertoire are songs with words.

SBH1983

Heard a Irish folk tune on RTE radio recently but can't find it anywhere, maybe someone can help?

I think the band were called Skyhook, and the tune Boolya. It could be the other way around for name of artist and tune tbh, also the "boolya" would be spelt in differently as it was almost certainly Irish but that's the closest I can get to it phonetically from memory.

From the clues above I'll be impressed if anyone knows of it! :p

andoireabu

Matt Molloy at full tilt!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dS7NxJDp4zQ

That skyhook band could be these lads but can't find the song you mean
http://www.sett.demon.co.uk/skyhookmusic/home.html
Private Cowboy: Don't shit me, man!
Private Joker: I wouldn't shit you. You're my favorite turd!

Feckitt

The unlikely setting of a TV talent show has thrown up a real gem.

Finbar Furey chose a new song called 'The last great love song', and has turned it into a monster.  It really rivals all the great songs that he has recorded throughout his great career.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iRLrM4guxM0

our_fella

Folks, going to be spending the sunday and monday of the AI Football final in Dublin..

Whats the best bar for irish trad in the city on a monday night?