Roscommon vs. Tyrone AIQ R2: Yes, again.

Started by Syferus, July 01, 2013, 08:46:00 AM

Best hairstyle?

Sean Cavanagh
7 (35%)
Senan Kilbride
6 (30%)
Joe McMahon
7 (35%)
Paddy Joe Burke
7 (35%)

Total Members Voted: 20

Quote from: Syferus on July 07, 2013, 12:10:04 AM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on July 07, 2013, 12:06:47 AM
Quote from: EC Unique on July 06, 2013, 11:50:53 PM
Tyrone reserves did the first team proud! Hopefully we will have more of our best starting 15 available for the next day.

I'd say Roscommon were missing more, they did rest Kilbride and Finneran after all. Tyrone v Armagh in round three? Armagh are due a win in that fixture.

I saw Emlyn Mulligan at the match today, cheering on his second favourite county.

Real pity his calf means he's such a big doubt for the game because if he was fit (and the other lads stayed away from the drink for a few weeks) Leitrim would have had a real cut at the Apples in Carrick.

emlyn mulligan ‏@emlynmulligan

Was in the Hyde yesterday at Roscommon Tyrone game..Roscommon could have easily won it..missed some great chances in the last 10mins!

Quote from: Rossfan on July 07, 2013, 03:43:02 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on July 07, 2013, 02:14:37 PM
Donie is more suited to playing midfield if he can pick up the fitness enough to play the position, as for not making the donegal panel, thats a bit of a joke, after no.18 donegal bench is very weak
Neither of the 2 boys have the intensity or competitiveness levels or work rate needed for serious top level Senior inter County Championship football or for Jimmy McGuinness' panel.
2 grand lads but such is life.
They can still do a job for us in D3 though.

I would agree with most of that Rossfan. The last time I saw both of them do well together on a big day was against Tyrone in Croker 2 years ago. But then there was long high ball played in and lots of space to turn and shoot. The game has moved on alot from that in the last 2 years though.

It's hard to see where what's the correct way to go from here for Roscommon. The blanket defence worked well the last day but it's limited and ugly to watch and eventually you have to push up and try winning the match. When we did so we weren't able to take the numerous chances that presented themselves. Shine and Kilbride are our most natural scoring forwards but as you point out it's unlikely they can ever be developed enough in terms of fitness and intensity to play this type of game. I think alot of people talking about the Donegal system fail to realise how well conditioned Murphy, McFadden & McBrearty are  apart from obviously being elite scoring forwards.

Division 3 is not going to help us much unless we really push hard and get our of it. Mayo are light years ahead of us now and Galway surely cant stay this poor for much longer. Time is running out for Roscommon's underage talent to kick in at senior level. This autumn & winter is vital for Evans in terms of having one last proper run at bringing it through for next season. 

We really have to make getting to D2 of the League a priority for 2014 as we'll never develop long term being stuck at the present level.
At least Evans knows his players now and  unlike last year ( appointed in November) has time to put some kind of an off season schedule together.
I just wonder will our poor finances restrict our development as I hear some scary tales from time to time of how strapped the Co Board is.
It will be very hard to raise money from Ros town businesses now that the Hyde won't get any major games for some time.
Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.

Donie Shine has been unlucky with injuries if he gets a full NFL/FBD under his belt he'll be in better shape for next years championship. As for Senan well after long club year he wanted a break away and probably should have taken it.

Time may be running out for some of 2006 minors to kick on at senior level however in Cathal Shine,Niall Daly,Neill Collins,Paddy Brogan,Enda Smith,Donie Smith,Conor Daly,Colm Compton,Scott Oates,Donal Keane,Ciaran Cafferkey we have plenty of underage talent only finding their feet at senior level & with many more waiting for their chance we should have competitive senior panel in the years ahead.

While its our priority getting to D2 we must make sure we have team/squad thats good enough to compete at that level, remember 2008 proved to be level above us.

yrone o a fair wake up call. We could easily have one ou yeserday. We're op 8 a he laer end and no more.

MAGA Make Armagh Great Again

Quote from: ross4life on July 07, 2013, 10:11:11 PM
Donie Shine has been unlucky with injuries if he gets a full NFL/FBD under his belt he'll be in better shape for next years championship. As for Senan well after long club year he wanted a break away and probably should have taken it.

Time may be running out for some of 2006 minors to kick on at senior level however in Cathal Shine,Niall Daly,Neill Collins,Paddy Brogan,Enda Smith,Donie Smith,Conor Daly,Colm Compton,Scott Oates,Donal Keane,Ciaran Cafferkey we have plenty of underage talent only finding their feet at senior level & with many more waiting for their chance we should have competitive senior panel in the years ahead.

While its our priority getting to D2 we must make sure we have team/squad thats good enough to compete at that level, remember 2008 proved to be level above us.

Have to be fair though - Higgins and O'Gara injected life back into us and DOG should never have been dropped in the first place. Both are part of our best offensive HF line-up with Cregg. Keenan got through a mountain of work yesterday too and looked to be one of the key players in our defensive system. Carty barraged forward and has had overall a very positive season, Alan Freeman excepted. Devaney is a frustrating player because he can do something seriously spectacular like the goal and he gets on the end of a lot of ball but is also prone to kicking bad wides.

I think the main thing we should take from yesterday is that there's real competition for places starting to take place and if we keep the 2006 minors, Senan, the Brigids lads and the younger underage lads involved in meaningful ways over the next few years we should make progress that goes beyond moral victories. We've the players (and the players coming through in the next few years) to make a genuine panel and not just a team that picks itself for the most part. Hopefully their injuries clear up and we can add Senan O'Grady, Wardie and Darren Mc back onto the panel next year because we'll need every available body to make a run at D2.

Were any of ye Tyronies at the game?
What was yer take on the last 15 mins?

I was listening to it on the radio and it sounded like we were cruising and then took the foot of the gas and Roscommon got good momentum.
Sounded like McCurry had a good second half. Who else played well or was poor?
I see Sean & McAliskey scored a 45 each.
Was McAliskey well marked. I'd hoped he'd be getting a few more scores in the last 2 games.

I heard there was a poor turnout.

Quote from: ONeill on July 08, 2013, 12:18:15 AM
yrone o a fair wake up call. We could easily have one ou yeserday. We're op 8 a he laer end and no more.

Well said.

sans pessimism

Quote from: Jinxy on July 08, 2013, 11:43:03 AM
Quote from: ONeill on July 08, 2013, 12:18:15 AM

Well said.
"So Boys stick together
in all kinds of weather"

Chimley

redhandroar

Time may be running out for some of 2006 minors to kick on at senior level however in Cathal Shine,Niall Daly,Neill Collins,Paddy Brogan,Enda Smith,Donie Smith,Conor Daly,Colm Compton,Scott Oates,Donal Keane,Ciaran Cafferkey we have plenty of underage talent only finding their feet at senior level & with many more waiting for their chance we should have competitive senior panel in the years ahead.While its our priority getting to D2 we must make sure we have team/squad thats good enough to compete at that level, remember 2008 proved to be level above us.

The first thing you need to do is keep idiots like Syferus away from these young lads. The worst thing for a young player is to be told how great he is when he has some success at underage and then have fellas constantly making excuses for them when they dont do the business at Senior. Syferus does this all the time. I hope its not indicative of the type of people these players have around them. If so, they will never kick on.

Quote from: Mike Sheehy on July 08, 2013, 01:28:00 PM

Time may be running out for some of 2006 minors to kick on at senior level however in Cathal Shine,Niall Daly,Neill Collins,Paddy Brogan,Enda Smith,Donie Smith,Conor Daly,Colm Compton,Scott Oates,Donal Keane,Ciaran Cafferkey we have plenty of underage talent only finding their feet at senior level & with many more waiting for their chance we should have competitive senior panel in the years ahead.While its our priority getting to D2 we must make sure we have team/squad thats good enough to compete at that level, remember 2008 proved to be level above us.

The first thing you need to do is keep idiots like Syferus away from these young lads. The worst thing for a young player is to be told how great he is when he has some success at underage and then have fellas constantly making excuses for them when they dont do the business at Senior. Syferus does this all the time. I hope its not indicative of the type of people these players have around them. If so, they will never kick on.

+1.
I read in some paper a few years ago an explanation why Laois didn't win more from all those good underage teams they had back whenever.
When 19 year olds walk into a pub and see a portrait of themselves with a Minor Cup at the end of the bar and everyone starts buying them drinks......

Our 2006 minors will be aged 25 and 26 next year. One minor team will never give you more than 4 or 5 at best good Seniors.
Many have played on the Senior team and by now Carty, Keenan, O'Gara, Higgins, Devaney and Donie Shine were on the Championship squad Saturday. Domican may be back next year.
Carty's not a full back, Keenan is one of the best run around everywhere players around, the others are very inconsistent and will be overtaken by the younger lads if they don't perform more regularly.

Since 06 we've been ALL Irl minor Qtr Finalists 6 times incl this year but we've only won once ( extra time at that !!).
We've won 2 Connacht U21s and have lost to the eventual AI Champions each of the last 4 years.
There's a lot of potential there but  it will take hard work, bruising of some egos, ruthless culling of lads not shaping up and large doses of reality medicine to bring it to fruition as good  Seniors.
We Ros supporters need to become like "those roughest kind of fcukin animals" and become hard to please with anything less than scoreboard victories not moral ones like last Saturday.

The Kerry attitude was summed up for me back in 2000 when we bet them in a Junior AI Final.
A mate met this Kerryman he works with in Sligo the week after and said to him how great a day last Saturday was.
The Kerryman said it "was for ye but a bad day for us". My mate said sure ye're hardly bothered about an oul Junior Final with all ye've won and will win.
The reply was " Any day Kerry lose an All Ireland Final is a bad day"

The time for excuses and Syferianism is over .
WIN OR BUST FROM HERE ON
Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.