Started by ranch, May 23, 2013, 12:04:41 AM

Quote from: theticklemister on May 23, 2013, 04:38:43 PM
Quote from: stew on May 23, 2013, 04:30:27 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on May 23, 2013, 07:24:25 AM
He sounds like a big woman!

The brothers Grim.......more like the sisters Gay

Here internet warrior.............................. tell you what, why don't you go up to any one of them, pick one and tell him what you think of him and his brothers, you would be a red splat on the pavement you cowardly ballix!

I think there was no need for Paul to send this statement, I am also shocked that he seem's to not want a plan B until plan A is perfected, not good, i don't know what has happened him, maybe he is one of those good club managers that can't get the job done as the main man at Senior level.

Grimley's total honesty is his weakness.

I will take that over the Shite that Harte and his ilk spout on a regular basis, transparency is great as long as you are not the only one being transparent!

Quote from: stew on May 23, 2013, 04:47:38 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on May 23, 2013, 04:38:43 PM

Here internet warrior.............................. tell you what, why don't you go up to any one of them, pick one and tell him what you think of him and his brothers, you would be a red splat on the pavement you cowardly ballix!

I think there was no need for Paul to send this statement, I am also shocked that he seem's to not want a plan B until plan A is perfected, not good, i don't know what has happened him, maybe he is one of those good club managers that can't get the job done as the main man at Senior level.

Grimley's total honesty is his weakness.

I will take that over the Shite that Harte and his ilk spout on a regular basis, transparency is great as long as you are not the only one being transparent!

Exactly no good.

Now if Grimley could work for the Shinners ee would have a lot more answers about the past.lol

Jeysus but this is comedy gold! He must be the laughing stock of Ireland at this stage!

lawnseed, Stew and now Paul Grimley...is there something in the water in Armagh that turns people into certifiable lunatics.

Quote from: Mike Sheehy on May 23, 2013, 06:08:16 PM
lawnseed, Stew and now Paul Grimley...is there something in the water in Armagh that turns people into certifiable lunatics.

It's the apples!

I must say I find this severe bashing of a man who is obviously a committed GAA man and merely trying his best, which no one disputes, very distasteful. I hope he doesn't take it too personally.

Now that's rich coming from kerry's answer to jed Clampett!

Quote from: stew on May 23, 2013, 06:46:06 PM

Now that's rich coming from kerry's answer to jed Clampett!

Go on, we haven't had a good old stew rant for a while. You must be steaming after that game at the weekend. Cut loose you mad auld eejit. Give the people what they want !

Kinda not too fussed on the grimley bashing alright, hell i admire honest people, men made mistakes, and at the end of the day its only a game of football

Read the statement again
Hopefully pg has ingrained a seige mentality with the players
Grimley fked up on the side but the players didn't cover themselves in glory
Onwards and upwards
Now to find my map for the backdoor.

Quote from: ranch on May 23, 2013, 12:04:41 AM
" Paul Grimley has contacted me this evening to relay this personal statement to YOU the fans.

To all Armagh supporters as Manager of our senior Team I am making a short statement in reference to our senior championship match v Cavan last Sunday, firstly let me apologise to all our loyal supporters and to our county board whom put there faith in me 6 months ago, if you feel I have let you down with the way we approached the game with reference to our tactics, let me sincerely say sorry for the hurt I have caused, I met with the players and management last night and I conveyed the same in what was a very positive meeting, I am proud to manage a talented loyal committed bunch of lads whom where only doing what they were told last Sunday and no blame should be brought to bear on them nor my management team as I have a very astute team around me. In the form of an explanation as to what went wrong as you may or may not know, we have adopted a very attack minded approach from the start of the year, a high pressure high risk strategy which was practised throughout the league with limited success, but we will persist with our plan although we shall address the risk element of our tactic and plan B will arrive when plan A is polished as these need to be worked on over months if not years to get right, finally I hope that our players both young and the more seasoned lads can count on your continued support, as for my long term position no doubt that will be decided by our club delegates at year end.

Thank you for your patience

Kind regards

Paul Grimley
"

Posted on Armagh co.board's own forum tonight by the web administrator.

http://armaghgaa.net/forum/threads/paul-grimley-statement-to-the-fans.2850/#post-61846

Seems a nice man but I don't think there's any need to go this far. Time to move on and concentrate on the qualifiers in 6 weeks time.

I don't log on here as often as I used to due to a combination of family/work/gaa time constraints so I'm late commenting on this thread. For the life of me I cant understand some of the negative/derogatory comments that have been posted in response to Paul Grimley's statement.

The man has quickly moved to divert criticism of his players on to himself. He has expressed an intention to persist with his own tactical philosophy whilst at the same time acknowledging that he may need to amend some of it's weaknesses.

He has met the challenge presented to him head on without resorting to paranoid media avoidance or insincere media spin. In doing so he's conducted himself in a courageous, loyal, humble and transparent manner. For me those attributes always spring to mind when I think of an Armagh footballer in the McGeeney/McGrane mould.

I admire the man. I think he's intelligent rather than cute. I think his players will respect him even more as a result of this statement. I hope that respect his echoed in their efforts on the training ground in the lead up to and during their qualifier match. They owe Grimley that.

Quote from: ardchieftain on May 23, 2013, 01:38:31 PM
Some seriously ridiculous reactions here. The statement wasn't that big of a surprise going by the openness policy adopted this season. It was obviously made to take some flak away from the players. I admire the honesty. Let's see how Armagh get on in the qualifiers, then we can judge.

Quote from: Canalman on May 23, 2013, 12:46:49 PM
The more I hear and see about this guy (PG) the more I like him. Respect his way of playing football and they would have won on Sunday if they had better footballers.
Imo he will leave  the Armagh players better off than when he got them when he finishes up.

We have plenty of whingers here and on the media (especially) giving out about bland press conferences and after match interviews ................. yet PG and his team will take the flak for their openness. You cannot win sometimes.

Both he and Jim Gavin are ploughing a lone furrow and hope both (obviously in one instance) do very well this year.

Quote from: seafoid on May 23, 2013, 06:47:05 AM
At least banty is not involved.  It seems to be an iconic statement on the situation with the game as is, Modern midget counties like Cavan who only have 5 all Ireland s are not supposed to beat Armagh. Www.catch.yourself.on.co.uk

Not often I agree with you Seafoid but see your point. If anyone should be offended in all of this it's Cavan. Proud gaelic football tradition combined with recent underage success..... sleeping giant etc. Hardly a scandal for Armagh if they lose to them in a 1st round championshp match?

Quote from: muppet on May 23, 2013, 06:44:50 PM
I must say I find this severe bashing of a man who is obviously a committed GAA man and merely trying his best, which no one disputes, very distasteful. I hope he doesn't take it too personally.
This kind of anti manager post traumatic loss bandwagon  would not be unknown in mayo , surely . The post longford  2010 catharsis is still on the board somewhere .