Mayo vs. Roscommon Connacht SFC Semi-final (June 16th, McHale Park)

Started by Syferus, May 19, 2013, 05:49:32 PM

How much will Roscommon win by?

1-3 points
4-6 points
I really wish I was born a Rossie

Quote from: Farrandeelin on June 14, 2013, 01:24:02 PM
Can Leitrim not choose Hyde Park if they get to the Connacht final now?
Nope, Roscommon and Leitrim will play the Connact final in Castlebar now..........minor final that is. :P

Quote from: Tubberman on June 14, 2013, 09:16:39 AM
On the match itself, that's a very decent Roscommon side. A lot of those players would be familiar to the Mayo players and vice versa.
So the Rossies won't start the match with any inhibitions. But you'd have to think their conditioning, speed, tackling, speed of thought would all be a fair bit behind the level Mayo are operating at.
If Mayo go at the Rossies the way they went at Galway, they should win comfortably enough in the end. I don't expect complacency from them - Horan and the entire squad seem to be very focussed on their own performances rather than relying on rivalries etc to get them up for a match.
But if for some reason they approach the game thinking the game will look after itself, the Rossies have the players and the chip on the shoulder to make it a very uncomfortable afternoon.
I wonder what picture or phrase they'll put up on the Mayo dressingroom wall to get the players up to the appropriate  level of giddyup for the match 

Quote from: Lar Naparka on June 14, 2013, 12:31:01 PM
Quote from: RMDrive on June 14, 2013, 11:36:28 AM
Still though, having the Connacht final played in Castlebar every year will help a bit with paying off the McHale park costs.
Point taken; I'm sure it is a great help but Prenty alone isn't responsible for that.
The Rossies had their chance to have the Hyde developed as the provincial and they blew it.
There are only two venues in Connacht big enough to stage Connacht finals; Castlebar and Salthill.
Granted, last year the final was played at the Hyde in Roscommon but that was because Sligo opted to play there rather than give Mayo home advantage or go to Salthill which would not suit the supporters of either county. 
Luckily enough from a safety point of view; the weather was very bad that day and that kept the attendance low.

That is a whole can of worms in itself.

3 CBs of 5 voted in favour of McHale Park , mysteriously one delegate voted against his CB mandate and The Hyde won the vote. Galway and Mayo gave it the two fingers and continued with their home and away arrangement.

QuoteGranted, last year the final was played at the Hyde in Roscommon but that was because Sligo opted to play there rather than give Mayo home advantage or go to Salthill which would not suit the supporters of either county. 
Luckily enough from a safety point of view; the weather was very bad that day and that kept the attendance low. 

It was a scorcher. No booze on sale either!

We've been through this a million times with the Location of the Center of Excellence in Bekan. Obviously not too many of the non Mayo posters are familiar with the Geography of the county or the condition of the roads if they think Bekan is in the heartland of Mayo football

The phrase "can't get there from here" springs to mind

To the Ros team, management and subs -
we going to stand for the insullts and the denigrations we've had to take over the last few days about how handy a win Mayowr will have?
Are we going to let McHale away with bemoaning the fact that Mayowr are suffering because no one in Connacht can give them a game?
Are we going to stand for them taking away our right to host Connacht finals?
We've put up with enough crap in recent years and now it's time to shout
                                            STOP!!
Time to take ye're place among the heroes and give us long suffering Rossfans a bunch of lads to gladden our hearts and make the hair stand on the backs of our necks as in the days of Lindsay, Keegan, Dermot, Jigger, Tonymac, Sheerin etc etc.
Not to mention Gerry O'Malley, Aidan Brady or the men of 43/44.
Let's do it for them and   for Queen Maeve, Niall of the 9 hostages, Saints Eithne and Fidelma, St Coman, St Croan, St Faithleach, St Michael, St Ronan, Ned Duffy, The O'Connor kings of Ireland, Douglas Hyde, Percy French,the 42 who died for Ireland and Freedom and of course iar- Uachtarán na hEireann herself.
Think of famous days in Castlebar like 52 , 72, 79 and 86 when Mayo's thoughts of Sam were disrupted.
Young O'Malley in goal - what a proud surname for a Roscommon footballer - Fear no rhubarb like your great namesake.
Young Collins from Castlerea -   think of Harry Keegan and when faced with a rhubarb forward coming at you ask yourself " What would Harry do?"
He'd drive man and ball half way to bloody Belmullet so you do the same and ye can win the day. Carty and Seanie - do likewise.
Dalys, Keenan, Finneran, Higgins Cregg, O'Gara, Devaney, Smith, Kilbride and Mango - think of all the years of hurt we long suffering fans have had to endure.
Put it right on Sunday.
Let ye go down in history as the "RHUBARBSLAYERS"  and send them home sadder and wiser to their dens of iniquity in Balla, Ballina, Ballinrobe, Belmullet, Ballyhaunis, Claremaorris etc.
And last but not least do it for Syferus and the Ballaghrossies who deserve it more than most for their steadfast faithfulness to the great cause.

UP ROSS

sans pessimism

Quote from: Rossfan on June 14, 2013, 02:33:53 PM
To the Ros team, management and subs -
we going to stand for the insullts and the denigrations we've had to take over the last few days about how handy a win Mayowr will have?
Are we going to let McHale away with bemoaning the fact that Mayowr are suffering because no one in Connacht can give them a game?r
Are we going to stand for them taking away our right to host Connacht finals?
We've put up with enough crap in recent years and now it's time to shout
                                            STOP!!
Time to take ye're place among the heroes and give us long suffering Rossfans a bunch of lads to gladden our hearts and make the hair stand on the backs of our necks as in the days of Lindsay, Keegan, Dermot, Jigger, Tonymac, Sheerin etc etc.
Not to mention Gerry O'Malley, Aidan Brady or the men of 43/44.
Let's do it for them and   for Queen Maeve, Niall of the 9 hostages, Saints Eithne and Fidelma, St Coman, St Croan, St Faithleach, St Michael, St Ronan, Ned Duffy, The O'Connor kings of Ireland, Douglas Hyde, Percy French,the 42 who died for Ireland and Freedom and of course iar- Uachtarán na hEireann herself.
Think of famous days in Castlebar like 52 , 72, 79 and 86 when Mayo's thoughts of Sam were disrupted.
Young O'Malley in goal - what a proud surname for a Roscommon footballer - Fear no rhubarb like your great namesake.
Young Collins from Castlerea -   think of Harry Keegan and when faced with a rhubarb forward coming at you ask yourself " What would Harry do?"
He'd drive man and ball half way to bloody Belmullet so you do the same and ye can win the day. Carty and Seanie - do likewise.
Dalys, Keenan, Finneran, Higgins Cregg, O'Gara, Devaney, Smith, Kilbride and Mango - think of all the years of hurt we long suffering fans have had to endure.
Put it right on Sunday.
Let ye go down in history as the "RHUBARBSLAYERS"  and send them home sadder and wiser to their dens of iniquity in Balla, Ballina, Ballinrobe, Belmullet, Ballyhaunis, Claremaorris etc.
And last but not least do it for Syferus and the Ballaghrossies who deserve it more than most for their steadfast faithfulness to the great cause.

UP ROSS
And ya aren't even in the Dock -Robert Emmett would turn in the grave
"So Boys stick together
in all kinds of weather"

Quote from: Lar Naparka on June 14, 2013, 11:04:59 AM
Last year, ye were going on and on about the exciting new plans to re-develop the place and make it fit for human occupation and ye're at it again this year. Can ye not do anything for yeerselves?
We don't have any money and can't top up our debt like the bigger counties. Low cost work like cutting the cement steps was carried out before last years final.

Quote from: Tubberman on June 14, 2013, 08:51:25 AM
From a supporter's point of view, it can only be good news. The Hyde isn't up to scratch, as acknowledged by Roscommon County Board themselves.
You come through the turnstiles and you have to walk across a field to get to the terrace or stand ffs. The 'seating' below the new stand is literally crumbing away to nothing, and I'm sure the media facilities aren't much better. The players have to come out from a separate dressing room building in the far corner, almost having to ask supporters to make way for them.
It's a terrible 'user experience' if you want to talk marketing language.

McHale Park and to a lesser extent Pearse Stadium are the only grounds within the province capable of hosting provincial finals that satisfy the modern-day requirements - from the point of view of supporters, media and I'm sure players as well.

Hyde park doesn't have the facilities of the newer grounds but it was still more than capable of hosting Connacht final as the last two years has proved. You don't have to walk across the field as you also have the option of the footpath.

Quote from: Lar Naparka on June 14, 2013, 12:31:01 PM
The Rossies had their chance to have the Hyde developed as the provincial and they blew it.
There are only two venues in Connacht big enough to stage Connacht finals; Castlebar and Salthill.
Granted, last year the final was played at the Hyde in Roscommon but that was because Sligo opted to play there rather than give Mayo home advantage or go to Salthill which would not suit the supporters of either county. 

Yes over 20 years ago Hyde park was developed, remember we had grassy hills & a small stand. Galway,Mayo then developed their own grounds to make sure the Hyde didn't become the Clones of Connacht.

It's been agreed many years ago that Sligo,Leitrim would have a neutral venue for Connacht finals, the Mayo heads did talk up McHale park as possible venue but the only choices was Roscommon or Salthill.

Was close to 25,000 at last years final and weatherwise it was one of the best days we had last summer.

Quote from: RMDrive on June 14, 2013, 11:36:28 AM
Still though, having the Connacht final played in Castlebar every year will help a bit with paying off the McHale park costs.
Whenever it's Ros v Mayo final now it will be played in Salthill and Leitrim,Sligo would still have the choice of two venues.

This is going to backfire on the Bekan honchos. The Hyde will end up being redeveloped and probably with more provincial backing when they start seeing Connacht final receipts.

Quote from: Syferus on June 14, 2013, 03:54:55 PM
This is going to backfire on the Bekan honchos. The Hyde will end up being redeveloped and probably with more provincial backing when they start seeing Connacht final receipts.

You think LESS people will attend Connacht Finals because they're not in Hyde Park??

Any Finals involving Ros, Sligo and Leitrim will mean less of the bandwagon hoppers going to Salthill.
Regular supporters might look down their noses at them but their money is as good as ours and its loss will be felt in the corridors of Ballyhaunis and indeed the wider Connacht GAA community.

Not sure who the gripe is with here as regards this decision on hyde park, you say it's prenty then in the same breath you say it's a motivating factor for Sunday, ffs lol.

McHale park is the best ground in the west, it should be used for all finals, it's a better town in fairness too.

Some lovely posts there from the Rossies, the poetry ones are lovely, it had the hair on my arms standing to attention reading them, such a massive footballing county and it has such iconic people who have hailed from a truly wonderful county. 

God bless Roscommon.

Quote from: larryin89 on June 14, 2013, 05:07:03 PM
Not sure who the gripe is with here as regards this decision on hyde park, you say it's prenty then in the same breath you say it's a motivating factor for Sunday, ffs lol.

McHale park is the best ground in the west, it should be used for all finals, it's a better town in fairness too.

Some lovely posts there from the Rossies, the poetry ones are lovely, it had the hair on my arms standing to attention reading them, such a massive footballing county and it has such iconic people who have hailed from a truly wonderful county. 

God bless Roscommon.

Pearse is easily a better stadium than McHale. The only problem is it's built in Salthill.

Hyde4Connacht.

Quote from: Syferus on June 14, 2013, 06:10:32 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on June 14, 2013, 05:07:03 PM

God bless Roscommon.

Pearse is easily a better stadium than McHale. The only problem is it's built in Salthill.

Hyde4Connacht.

Pearse stadium is the only stadium i hear Mayo people saying, ''ahh fook i'm not going, it's a nightmare to get out of''

Quote from: seafoid on June 14, 2013, 01:46:44 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on June 14, 2013, 09:16:39 AM
On the match itself, that's a very decent Roscommon side. A lot of those players would be familiar to the Mayo players and vice versa.
So the Rossies won't start the match with any inhibitions. But you'd have to think their conditioning, speed, tackling, speed of thought would all be a fair bit behind the level Mayo are operating at.
If Mayo go at the Rossies the way they went at Galway, they should win comfortably enough in the end. I don't expect complacency from them - Horan and the entire squad seem to be very focussed on their own performances rather than relying on rivalries etc to get them up for a match.
But if for some reason they approach the game thinking the game will look after itself, the Rossies have the players and the chip on the shoulder to make it a very uncomfortable afternoon.
I wonder what picture or phrase they'll put up on the Mayo dressingroom wall to get the players up to the appropriate  level of giddyup for the match

God you are very caught up on this? This tactic is as old as the hills!