Ciaran McManus (Offaly)
0 (0%)
Niall Buckley (Kildare)
1 (2.3%)

Total Members Voted: 43

Quote from: hardstation on May 08, 2013, 10:25:42 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on May 08, 2013, 09:49:50 PM
I missed Greg McCartan; my apoligies. He played to about 2000 didn't he?
He threw a ball at Brian McGuigan in 2003.

Fair play.

went done as if he was under sniper fire, thought it was a Man utd player lol

Ciarrai_thuaidh

How does one vote?

Find it incredible that Niall Buckley has so little of the vote..thought he was a fantastic player.

Tohill was  one of my favourite players growing up..a fantatically skillful player for his size and position.

Darragh has to be no.1 though. No midfielder influenced more big games to the degree he did over such an extended period. A man
I was privileged to share a pitch with (although not so much at the time!) and watch for so long. I always think a picture paints a thousand words so..

"Better to die on your feet,than live on your knees"...

Niall Buckley was a serious player.

I got one fella's name wrong already on this thread hut wasnt buckleys nickname the ' Nuxer'?

Quote from: theticklemister on May 09, 2013, 10:03:34 AM
I got one fella's name wrong already on this thread hut wasnt buckleys nickname the ' Nuxer'?

There was no 'The'

Quote from: heffo on May 09, 2013, 10:14:28 AM

There was no 'The'

Bollix

Quote from: hardstation on May 09, 2013, 10:18:47 AM
I think it's "Sheeny" McQuillan you're looking for too tbh.

Lol. Go away with yourself.

Quote from: Jinxy on May 09, 2013, 09:18:17 AM

Not a great full back, took him for 1-2 one year in a South Leinster Schools senior game  8)

Superb talent and if he had stayed in Ireland himself and Dermot Earley probably would have formed one of the great midfield partnerships of club and indeed county football of all time.

Alas life doesn't always work out the way you want it and Niall found himself having to take the road to America, still in Chicago as far as I know not sure if he's still involved with St Brendan's over there. A fit Nuxer and Glenn might have won that bloody 98 AI for us  :'(

He would have made an equally good centre forward I always thought.
With Earley and Willie McCreery midfield and Ryan centre back.
Some diamond.

Nuxer was badly missed in the 2000 semi-final. He would have freed up Martin Lynch to go into the forwards and win a few kickable frees! He was home around the time of the county final last year and he still looked fit enough to tog out.

What we would give now to have just one of Nuxer, Martin Lynch, an injury free Dermot Earley or Willie McCreery to line out at midfield. I see Willie had double at Gowran Park yesterday to add to the winner he trained at the Curragh on Monday so he's a man to follow these days.

Ah martin lynch. Now there was a fine all round footballer. Great talent.

I agree.
Great talent for falling all round the place.  :)

Quote from: Dinny Breen on May 09, 2013, 11:04:18 AM

Alas life doesn't always work out the way you want it and Niall found himself having to take the road to America, still in Chicago as far as I know not sure if he's still involved with St Brendan's over there.

Still over there alright

Quote from: heffo on May 09, 2013, 12:38:52 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on May 09, 2013, 11:04:18 AM

Alas life doesn't always work out the way you want it and Niall found himself having to take the road to America, still in Chicago as far as I know not sure if he's still involved with St Brendan's over there.

Still over there alright

He was some player alright. He was an unreal minor as well. I met him in Chicago back in 2000 I'd say, himself and Johnny McDonald. We swapped a few war stories and had a couple of pints.

What was the name of the minor full forward or half forward back then, 1991. He played soccer with Edenderry, and  I think he was from Carbury? Tom Sullivan or something? He scored a penalty in the Leinster Minor final of 1991 I think.