Uibh Fhailí v Cill Dara 01/06/2013 5pm

Started by Dinny Breen, April 29, 2013, 12:07:55 PM

What is the story with Offaly at the moment? How come they are so far down the Leinster pecking order ? 

SF Challenge

Kildare 0-23 Roscommon 0-07

Ahh fcuk !!!  :( :-[
Ah sure who heeds oul challenge games anyway ?  :D
Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.

The Biff

Quote from: seafoid on May 06, 2013, 09:51:15 AM
What is the story with Offaly at the moment? How come they are so far down the Leinster pecking order ?
Because we couldn't win enough games to scratch ourselves.  We have to wrap up Niall McNamee in cotton wool, because we shouldn't even take the field if he is not 90% fit.

In the back of my mind, I still regard Kildare as perennial underachievers, always capable of just "not turning up on the day".  So that's why we have a chance.
Never argue with a fool; He'll bring you down to his level and then beat you on experience.

Quote from: The Biff on May 22, 2013, 02:21:31 PM
Because we couldn't win enough games to scratch ourselves.  We have to wrap up Niall McNamee in cotton wool, because we shouldn't even take the field if he is not 90% fit.

In the back of my mind, I still regard Kildare as perennial underachievers, always capable of just "not turning up on the day".  So that's why we have a chance.

It's at the forefront of every Kildare supporter's mind.

Leper named as Captain for the Championship, if he's over his injuries worries a really good appointment.

Any words on the when teams will be named?

Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on May 28, 2013, 11:42:25 AM
Hurley won't be involved for Kildare anyway.

http://www.kildare-nationalist.ie/2013/05/28/kildare-star-hurley-dropped-for-offaly-game/

What did he do now, so much potential. Interesting that it was the squad who decided his fate! As with all young men I wouldn't judge him too much but he needs to learn from these things.

Quote from: Dinny Breen on May 28, 2013, 12:11:35 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on May 28, 2013, 11:42:25 AM
Hurley won't be involved for Kildare anyway.

http://www.kildare-nationalist.ie/2013/05/28/kildare-star-hurley-dropped-for-offaly-game/

What did he do now, so much potential. Interesting that it was the squad who decided his fate! As with all young men I wouldn't judge him too much but he needs to learn from these things.

There must be something of a personality clash between himself and McGeeney. He was dropped for the u21's first game of the year as well.

I'd say if he was in any other position on the field his absence might be more of a permanent arrangement but McGeeney is pragmatic enough to know that he cannot afford to lose another midfielder.

Ohtoohtobe

Back to the game and given the scores Cork and Kerry put on Division Four teams at the weekend, and how ruthless Mayo and Donegal were in their games, Kildare would want to be winning this by at least 10 points if we have any realistic ambitions of closing the gap to the best teams in the country.
More importantly I'm looking for us to be a bit more ruthless with our goal chances - we missed four or five in the same fixture last year, even if some of them were great saves by Mulhall, and even if the ref waved away the most certain penalty you could get when Eoghan O'Flaherty was in.
A big margin, two or three goals and no goals conceded - easier said than done with McNamee around - would be a good evening's work.

Quote from: Dinny Breen on May 27, 2013, 01:43:23 PM

Someone on the board said a while ago that the 4 mad about fuball counties most desperate for an all Ireland are Cavan, Ros, Mayo and Kildare
And Kildare have the worst record of the 4 over the last 2 generations. How did that happen ? 

Ohtoohtobe

Quote from: seafoid on May 30, 2013, 02:38:11 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on May 27, 2013, 01:43:23 PM

Someone on the board said a while ago that the 4 mad about fuball counties most desperate for an all Ireland are Cavan, Ros, Mayo and Kildare
And Kildare have the worst record of the 4 over the last 2 generations. How did that happen ?

Bad refs and injuries. No, only messing, it mainly happened through shite football

Cill Dara (v Uibh Fhailí 1/6/13):

1.   Mark Donnellan  - Maynooth
2.   Peter Kelly  - Two Mile House
3.   Michael Foley  - Athy
4.   Hugh McGrillen  - Celbridge
5.   Eoin Doyle  - Naas
6.   Éamonn Callaghan (Capt.)  - Naas
7.   Emmet Bolton  - Eadestown
8.   Daryl Flynn  - Moorefield
9.   Daniel Flynn  - Johnstownbridge
10.   Paul Cribbin  - Johnstownbridge
11.   Niall Kelly  - Athy
12.   Eoghan O'Flaherty  - Carbury
13.   John Doyle  - Allenwood
14.   Tomás O'Connor  - Clane
15.   Paddy Brophy  - Celbridge

5 championship newcomers for Kildare which is welcome after last year. I would have preferred if Alan Smith was in at full forward but apart from that I would be happy enough if that team started. I expect it might take some of the young lads a bit of time to settle into the match so hopefully they can limit Offaly on the scoreboard early on.

Which of the 5 are the championship debutants and which of them played U21 this year?

Quote from: Hound on May 31, 2013, 10:14:36 AM
Which of the 5 are the championship debutants and which of them played U21 this year?

All of them were u21 - Donnellan, Dan Flynn, Cribbin, Niall Kelly and Brophy.

Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on May 31, 2013, 10:15:51 AM
Quote from: Hound on May 31, 2013, 10:14:36 AM

All of them were u21 - Donnellan, Dan Flynn, Cribbin, Niall Kelly and Brophy.

That's the youngest Kildare team I can remember, average age must be close to 24.

Nice to see Daryl Flynn back. Hopefully he can play to his 2010/11 form.