Tyrone County Football and Hurling

Started by Fear ón Srath Bán, April 01, 2007, 05:58:31 PM

Galway aren't motoring well at all this year and Comer is gone. Dublin rely heavily on Con and we've got two strong options in Teague and Hampsey to mark him.

Quietly confident we'd take both of them if our main men up front fire. Should both be great games.

HokeyPokey

Quote from: omagh_gael on June 16, 2025, 09:45:18 AMGalway aren't motoring well at all this year and Comer is gone. Dublin rely heavily on Con and we've got two strong options in Teague and Hampsey to mark him.

Quietly confident we'd take both of them if our main men up front fire. Should both be great games.

Galway traveling up to Newry a week after an intense match in Cavan could take a lot out of them.

Quinn and Devlin have loads of potential and they're good young  players, I'm not writing them off in future, but our FB line of Quinn, Teague and Devlin hasn't a patch on our last AI winning FB lines of Hampsey, McNamee and McKernan. When you look back at it they were a fantastic trio of defenders.

Quote from: trileacman on June 16, 2025, 10:32:20 PMQuinn and Devlin have loads of potential and they're good young  players, I'm not writing them off in future, but our FB line of Quinn, Teague and Devlin hasn't a patch on our last AI winning FB lines of Hampsey, McNamee and McKernan. When you look back at it they were a fantastic trio of defenders.

That wasn't the full back line yesterday, Teague was half back. Also, I don't think Quinn is young to be calling one for the future. Had a good game yesterday.

HokeyPokey

Quote from: trileacman on June 16, 2025, 10:32:20 PMQuinn and Devlin have loads of potential and they're good young  players, I'm not writing them off in future, but our FB line of Quinn, Teague and Devlin hasn't a patch on our last AI winning FB lines of Hampsey, McNamee and McKernan. When you look back at it they were a fantastic trio of defenders.

Devlin somewhat goes unnoticed I find, neither in a good or bad way.

He really looked very classy for the U20s, he was a great kick passer, but I can't remember seeing him show that for the senior team.

cjx

Quote from: trueblue1234 on June 15, 2025, 11:11:57 PMStill think we need a bit more on the kick out strategy. I know Morgan has looked jittery at times ( To be fair all keepers have with the new rules) but our running into space for kick outs is still poor. We're relying on Morgan hitting pin point passes a lot of the time and that's putting him under pressure. A few times he was nearly called for taking too long, but there was literally nothing on to hit. Then when one of his lockouts goes slightly off, he's getting the blame.
But that's nick picking on a day when they did so much right.

Agree kick stratgey now the last big piece of the jigsaw. In Mayo Donegal both got approx. 75% of own kickouts. Tyrone must get this level. With Kennedy back and Teague up the field Tyrone can reach this level and thus become real AI contenders. Winning dirty ball is complimentary to kickout and if Harte is on from start Con rampaging, defense getting more solid and Daly looking very determined there are good prospects there now too. Add bit more game management with McGeary's help and all pieces will be available and confidence will click them into place. No strong favorites this year so it is there for the taking with determined game management. managment

Grace Murphy

Fair play to Meyler for getting back but does he not make a big deal out of a lot of things. Mind reading an article about him few years ago about getting his sleep just right and how prepared he was for everything.

Maybe he should have a holiday or smoke a bit of weed or something.

Note: I do realise that he's way more talented than a lowly ladies footballer like myself before someone points that out!

Tyrone_Q55

Quote from: Grace Murphy on June 17, 2025, 12:45:22 PMFair play to Meyler for getting back but does he not make a big deal out of a lot of things. Mind reading an article about him few years ago about getting his sleep just right and how prepared he was for everything.

Note: I do realise that he's way more talented than a lowly ladies footballer like myself before someone points that out!

I think you would have been better off ending this post after the first 7 words.

When you were reading that article, did you notice there would have been an author, probably the person who asked him how he prepares for a game or training?

I think you're totally missing the point, he's an amateur sportsperson who is committed to his club and county. A young person who reads that article might take a bit of direction from it and say to themselves, this is what I need to do to improve or strive to that level. I would hope that's what most people would take from an article like that rather than, ah what a dose...

Dire Ear

Don't bother engaging with a fool ...

Quote from: Grace Murphy on June 17, 2025, 12:45:22 PMFair play to Meyler for getting back but does he not make a big deal out of a lot of things. Mind reading an article about him few years ago about getting his sleep just right and how prepared he was for everything.

That was the article about him taping his mouth shut at night to improve his breathing. I thought that was absolute f**king madness too but heard since it's pretty common place amongst the Tyrone senior team. Seems mental to me.

Truthsayer

Quote from: trileacman on June 17, 2025, 11:48:03 PM

That was the article about him taping his mouth shut at night to improve his breathing. I thought that was absolute f**king madness too but heard since it's pretty common place amongst the Tyrone senior team. Seems mental to me.
That goes way back before Myler... Tom Herron from Coalisland introduced that when he was in the Tyrone setup with Harte about 2011. He still promotes breathing through the nose on his Facebook and with other athletes.
Strange how Myler thought it was new or newsworthy.
https://oxygenadvantage.com/instructor/tom-herron/

HokeyPokey

Quote from: trileacman on June 17, 2025, 11:48:03 PM

Did you read the whole thimg? He's looking for marginal gains and he's been very open about how he has been too hard on himself and the pressure and trying to be enjoy life more. He's been brilliant in being so open and vulnerable, as well as outspoken in supporting LGBT people and ladies footballers.

Young men face many issues, his speaking out helps so much. Your attitude is just perpetuating exactly what he is trying to help fight. The players aren't removed from their communities, how would you feel if he read that? He's had a horrible time of it and has got through it, we should celebrate him, not make snide judgemental comments.

MC

Very unlucky not to be PotY in 2021 - not to take anything away from McGeary.
And very unlucky with such bad injuries for two years now, especially when he takes such care of himself and the effort he puts in. He has mentioned before about overdoing it with training, etc. and I wonder was that a factor again?
Great that he speaks out on all those things - we complain when footballers don't say anything!
Everyone built different ways - he takes it all very seriously as an athlete - maybe doesn't find it so easy to enjoy the craic like some others.

Grace Murphy

He's a serious athlete but if he had won POTY in 2021 it would have been another nail in the coffin of football in its purest form.

Why don't they just do the All Stars based on GPS trackers.

Just thought some of the pics at the end of the Cavan game where a bit attention seeking.

Player gets injured comes back plays football it's a story as old as time, just get on with it .