Tyrone County Football and Hurling

Started by Fear ón Srath Bán, April 01, 2007, 05:58:31 PM

Jim Bob

Quote from: Christmas Lights on May 04, 2018, 09:48:25 AM
Quote from: Jim Bob on May 03, 2018, 10:58:26 PM
Quote from: Christmas Lights on May 03, 2018, 10:24:11 PM
Quote from: Jim Bob on May 03, 2018, 07:07:55 PM
When Mugsy was on the team squad didn't really bother me whether he was picked or not. Had some outstanding moments in the Tyrone jersey but consistent he was not. Shouldn't even be mentioned in the same breath as Canavan or O'Neill. He seems to think he was a better player than any of the forwards we have now. He wasn't.

A truly embarrassing post. Have a word with yourself.

Embarrassing to who ?

To yourself, your friends, your family, the people of Tyrone and the entire GAA community on the island of Ireland.

So you re a big Mugsy lover. I wasn't ..... just accept that.

I've not watched any club football at all as I live in Dublin lads but here is the starting 15 I would like to see, not the 15 I think will start though. I think Rory Brennan brings so much pace to the half back line along with Tiernan but Meyler is not too far away I'd say.

Morgan

McCarron
Hampsey
HP McGeary

Tiernan McCann
Frank Burns
Rory Brennan

McClure
Cavanagh

Sludden
Mattie
P.Harte

Lee Brennan
McShane
Mark Bradley (Maybe Skeet)

Subs
McAliskey
Meyler
Mulgrew
McNamee
Conan McCann
Kieran McGeary
McNulty
O'Neill
McCrory
Richie

bigpackiechestout

Quote from: Fuzzman on May 08, 2018, 03:45:12 PM
I've not watched any club football at all as I live in Dublin lads but here is the starting 15 I would like to see, not the 15 I think will start though. I think Rory Brennan brings so much pace to the half back line along with Tiernan but Meyler is not too far away I'd say.

Morgan

McCarron
Hampsey
HP McGeary

Tiernan McCann
Frank Burns
Rory Brennan

McClure
Cavanagh

Sludden
Mattie
P.Harte

Lee Brennan
McShane
Mark Bradley (Maybe Skeet)

Subs
McAliskey
Meyler
Mulgrew
McNamee
Conan McCann
Kieran McGeary
McNulty
O'Neill
McCrory
Richie

Morgan

McCarron
Hampsey
HP McGeary

K McGeary
Frank Burns
Meyler

McClure
McShane

Sludden
Mattie
P.Harte

Lee Brennan
Skeet
Mark Bradley

My team above. As much as I would like to be proved wrong I can't see Colm Cavanagh being fit to start with him not having played for the Moy at all yet. Also I think Tiernan McCann will have to be content with coming on from the bench this time out, he missed 3 months football there and with his game relying so much on pace and fitness I think it might take him another little to get up to full speed.

I also think Skeet is nailed on to start as we have nobody to kick right footed frees if he doesn't. There's a strong possibility there will be a couple of surprise selections though with a lot of training and club football having taken place since the last National League game - remember Conall McCann played barely any League last year then started and got Man of the Match first day out in the Championship v Derry.

Anybody any insight as to any non-regulars who are flying at club level? Guessing Richy Donnelly and Ruairi Brennan are playing well what with Trillick's good start? I see McNamee scored 6 from play in one of Ahyaran's recent games, i wonder is there a chance we could see him at wing back or midfield this year? He is a tall strong physical presence and comfortable on the ball and could struggle to get on the team otherwise with Hampsey and Burns looking settled at 3 and 6 respectively.

From my sources I heard Colm will be fit to start

Yeah you would imagine with the wealth of half backs and half forwards at his disposal then it would seem unfair to the others for Tiernan to walk straight back into the team but like I said that is the team I'd like to see.
I just think two really speedy wing backs are very important these days who can shoot.

Yeah wondered that about McNamee too. Would he do better out around the middle or even half forward.
Hopefully Frank Burns can keep up his high standards he has set this year and also the fans dont get on McShane's back if he misses a few shots. Some players get lots of latitude and some are hung out to dry very early.

Positions mean very little any more as we know so like the league games I'd say there will be a lot of chopping and changes with loads of different players moving into the FF line at different times.

bigpackiechestout

Quote from: Fuzzman on May 08, 2018, 05:19:06 PM

Hopefully. Regardless of the Monaghan game, I think as the year progresses this last couple of months off will really benefit Colm. Only for picking up the injury he would have been on the go non-stop since the start of last year with club and county and i think it would have been very difficult for him to maintain his high standards throughout the summer. So hopefully he will come back refreshed whenever he is ready

WT4E

Quote from: bigpackiechestout on May 08, 2018, 05:41:44 PM

Hopefully. Regardless of the Monaghan game, I think as the year progresses this last couple of months off will really benefit Colm. Only for picking up the injury he would have been on the go non-stop since the start of last year with club and county and i think it would have been very difficult for him to maintain his high standards throughout the summer. So hopefully he will come back refreshed whenever he is ready

Do you remember when half the people on here thought big Colm was sh1te - that was some craic!

Therealdonald

Quote from: WT4E on May 08, 2018, 06:38:26 PM

Do you remember when half the people on here thought big Colm was sh1te - that was some craic!

Who changed opinion? There was a seperate position created for him. The reason people thought he was sh1te was because he was sh1te in a conventional football set-up. And i say sh1te in regards to country standard as I always looked at him as a very good club footballer, just a bit below county standard. But to his and Sean's fortune, football changed, he became the Beckenbauer supreme of GAA (actually tied with Cian O'Sullivan) and now he's an all-star. Better to be born lucky than good.

southtyronegael

thats a pile of shite, therealdonald. colly cavanagh had already bagged and all ireland minor title before he got on tyrone senior team. he may not have looked the most natural footballer in the early days but always had a fantastic attitude. id say its more to do with his hard work and dedication to the tyrone cause than luck. pity we didnt have a few more like him this last few years. and ur attitude towards him stinks.

Gaafan2

Quote from: southtyronegael on May 08, 2018, 08:23:09 PM
thats a pile of shite, therealdonald. colly cavanagh had already bagged and all ireland minor title before he got on tyrone senior team. he may not have looked the most natural footballer in the early days but always had a fantastic attitude. id say its more to do with his hard work and dedication to the tyrone cause than luck. pity we didnt have a few more like him this last few years. and ur attitude towards him stinks.

Just like your attitude towards Micky harte stinks.

southtyronegael

Quote from: gaafan2 on May 08, 2018, 08:39:33 PM
Quote from: southtyronegael on May 08, 2018, 08:23:09 PM

Just like your attitude towards Micky harte stinks.
yeah difference is colly cavanagh proved the doubters wrong. mickey keeps proving me right.

GetOverTheBar

Quote from: Therealdonald on May 08, 2018, 07:52:41 PM
Quote from: WT4E on May 08, 2018, 06:38:26 PM

Who changed opinion? There was a seperate position created for him. The reason people thought he was sh1te was because he was sh1te in a conventional football set-up. And i say sh1te in regards to country standard as I always looked at him as a very good club footballer, just a bit below county standard. But to his and Sean's fortune, football changed, he became the Beckenbauer supreme of GAA (actually tied with Cian O'Sullivan) and now he's an all-star. Better to be born lucky than good.

Lets not say things we can't back up. They are not even in the same league as footballers or even positionally. O'Sullivan is so many more levels ahead.

redzone

Aidy Mcrory played well in the in house game down in carton house

southtyronegael

Quote from: redzone on May 08, 2018, 10:34:09 PM
lol

Thebigdog

Quote from: redzone on May 08, 2018, 10:34:09 PM
oh yeah a heard that, he was marking a cardboard cut out of Darren McCurry.on the golf course. That's Aidy boy!

Dire Ear

McCrory midfield with McNamee, McClure FF