Tyrone County Football and Hurling

Started by Fear ón Srath Bán, April 01, 2007, 05:58:31 PM

redhandefender

Surprised no forwards were called up at all. Does anyone know if Conor O'Donnell got a call again or Conan Grugan?

I would imagine ronan McHughn might get more of a run in mc kenna cup anyway after an impressive year with his club

Thebigdog

Quote from: redhandefender on November 28, 2017, 04:12:34 PM
Surprised no forwards were called up at all. Does anyone know if Conor O'Donnell got a call again or Conan Grugan?

I would imagine ronan McHughn might get more of a run in mc kenna cup anyway after an impressive year with his club
I think the only forward called up was Stephen O Neill, it's gonna be his job to collect the cones after training. Good man Stevey!

Tyrone95

Was it just the 3 called up? Ciaran Mc Laughlin, brendan burns and michael mc kernan?

Knock Yer Mucker In

Quote from: Tyrone95 on November 29, 2017, 10:13:19 AM
Was it just the 3 called up? Ciaran Mc Laughlin, brendan burns and michael mc kernan?

makes sense to me, its not forwards is our problem, it is a system that is built on protection full backs who are not good man markers, or good when isolated one to one, which restricts our ability to play a more offensive minded way. getting better defenders to an absolute priority to developing a more offensive game.
local expert is as sick as a dog, ate to many mc dollars

Tyrone95

Quote from: Knock Yer Mucker In on November 29, 2017, 10:24:41 AM

makes sense to me, its not forwards is our problem, it is a system that is built on protection full backs who are not good man markers, or good when isolated one to one, which restricts our ability to play a more offensive minded way. getting better defenders to an absolute priority to developing a more offensive game.
I would agree with that yes, all 3 are better players than aidan mc crory.. however like many others I believe Mc Crory's club location within Tyrone helps his case in starting every game! That debate is for another day though....

Club boi

Quote from: Tyrone95 on November 29, 2017, 10:43:23 AM

I would agree with that yes, all 3 are better players than aidan mc crory.. however like many others I believe Mc Crory's club location within Tyrone helps his case in starting every game! That debate is for another day though....

That debate has been happening for a while now. Where ye been??

Tyrone95

Quote from: Club boi on November 29, 2017, 02:03:14 PM

That debate has been happening for a while now. Where ye been??
I'm well aware off it..I'll let it sit until the season starts before ridiculing the decision though  ::)

Jim Bob

Such stupidity to suggest that.
Sure why doesn't Mickey  just pick the entire Errigal team if that's the case!!!

lenny

Quote from: Jim Bob on November 29, 2017, 07:26:22 PM

Such stupidity to suggest that.
Sure why doesn't Mickey  just pick the entire Errigal team if that's the case!!!

Don't be giving him ideas.

southtyronegael

I see all Ireland finalists mayo have called up 15 new players to their squad. Very progressive thinking manager they have.

TF15

Championship runners up and league champions but only have two on the panel. The bias is sickening from Mickey!

Dire Ear

Quote from: TF15 on November 30, 2017, 11:38:59 AM
Championship runners up and league champions but only have two on the panel. The bias is sickening from Mickey!
;D ;D

chieftain

There are about 50 fellas in the county of the same footballing ability as the vast majority of the squad, and that is the problem with Tyrone team. We just haven't got the players to annex Dublin / Mayo / Kerry. In my opinion two ulster titles back to back is a great achievement for the squad we have. Hopefully we can push on next year and with a bit of luck see the end stages of the championship and remain in division 1. 

GetOverTheBar

Quote from: southtyronegael on November 30, 2017, 11:36:41 AM
I see all Ireland finalists mayo have called up 15 new players to their squad. Very progressive thinking manager they have.

That...and their team is away on holidays just after xmas so they'll need someone to fulfill fixtures.

As Cheiftain has just posted, I agree with fully. We have a lot of players in Tyrone on the same level - I'm thinking O'Neill, Bradley, McCurry, Lee Brennan (slightly unfair as he hasn't actually got his chance perhaps). On any given day these lads could score 1-3 and get Tyrone a win....the problem is none are consistent enough and there is also, on any given day, they could go missing.

Defensively, they have called up three players much promoted on this board and anyone who has seen them play or played against will have high hopes.

Dire Ear

O'Neill, Bradley, McCurry, Brennan--the problem I see with these players is their lack of confidence, due to the defensive system ( a system that most teams use TBH )