Leinster Minor 2013

Started by The Insider, April 10, 2013, 08:58:01 PM

Quote from: Blowitupref on July 06, 2013, 04:56:11 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 06, 2013, 04:55:20 PM
Are we still in this?
Nope sent packing by Tommy Carrs Westmeath.

Quote from: rodney trotter on July 06, 2013, 05:29:02 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 06, 2013, 04:57:03 PM
I know we lost but are we still in it?

Think ye had enough chances already.. Tommy the Messiah Carr must be working wonders with Westmeath.

Now I know the trouble Hardy had with Banty McEnaney's Eastmeath  >:(

Anyway, best of luck to the Westmeath players tomorrow, it's been three years to long since we were in a Leinster final and 13 years at this grade. Kildare caused this team the most trouble at U16 level and have a couple of players available now that weren't then. Good to have Israel back for Sunday, wasn't at the match in Navan but reports of what happened aren't nice to hear. Theo a big loss. Kildare rightly strong favourites after demolishing Dubs in the semi final.

Have to point out that not so long ago some Westmeath posters here were giving out yards about Tommy Carr. What has changed?

Quote from: Canalman on July 12, 2013, 11:14:11 AM
Have to point out that not so long ago some Westmeath posters here were giving out yards about Tommy Carr. What has changed?

Nothing.

Kildare 2-15 Westmeath 2-7

A great win for Kildare. I thought Kildare played within themselves in the first half but they put the game to bed in great style after the break with the two goals from the Two Mile House lads. Some of Fitzpatrick's points in the first half were sublime and Paul Mescal put in a great hour at centre back.

It's mad to think that these lads weren't even born the last time Kildare won a Leinster Minor Championship.

Alright so. Winners of Roscommon-Mayo next weekend get Westies, the losers the Lilies. We usually get shipped off to Croker (quite happily, actually) for AIQFs so whoever gets us might have to make a trip to Jones' Road.

The Insider

Most likely venue will be Pearse Park for a double header, might also depend on Senior All Ireland Q/F draws . 3 years ago The Hyde held the Leinster v Connaught quarter finals in minor

Quote from: The Insider on July 14, 2013, 04:37:37 PM
Most likely venue will be Pearse Park for a double header, might also depend on Senior All Ireland Q/F draws . 3 years ago The Hyde held the Leinster v Connaught quarter finals in minor

If Mayo win Connacht senior, there could be the same scenario as last year - with Mayo minors forming part of a triple header in Croke Park.

Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on July 14, 2013, 01:44:09 PM
Kildare 2-15 Westmeath 2-7

A great win for Kildare. I thought Kildare played within themselves in the first half but they put the game to bed in great style after the break with the two goals from the Two Mile House lads. Some of Fitzpatrick's points in the first half were sublime and Paul Mescal put in a great hour at centre back.

It's mad to think that these lads weren't even born the last time Kildare won a Leinster Minor Championship.

There was 5 Towers lads on the minor panel that won the last time, same as this time.  8)

Kildare played better against Dublin but always going to be hard to raise the bar after that performance and Cian McMonagle was very quiet today. The platform though was laid by midfield and Connell and in particular Luke Flynn were outstanding.

Thought it was madness from Westmeath to persist with the blanket defence as Mescal was just sweeping up everything and from early on I thought it was obvious it wasn't going to work. When the shackles came towards the end they actually caused Kildare some problems.

Lacey has added something to the Brian Murphy set-up.

Junior, u21 and minor Leinster champions. How bad!!!!

I'm delighted for Murphy. He has had a rough time of it in the last twelve months and he had to be persuaded to give it another year. It's silverware that's long overdue for all the work he has put in over the past five years.

Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on July 14, 2013, 06:34:42 PM
I'm delighted for Murphy. He has had a rough time of it in the last twelve months and he had to be persuaded to give it another year. It's silverware that's long overdue for all the work he has put in over the past five years.

Absolutely. Should have won it three years ago and was seconds away from winning it 2009.

Some fire power in the u21 team next year, Brophy, Kelly, Fitzpatrick, Healy, Neil Flynn and McMonagle. You could play the Flynn brothers at midfield.

Murphy to move up to the 21s and Lacey to remain with the minors seems to be the popular consensus. Would like to see that.

Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 14, 2013, 06:22:52 PM
Junior, u21 and minor Leinster champions. How bad!!!!

Ye must be disappointed  ;D
I see ye're in the Junior AI Final.
We'd better bate the Rhus next Sunday to avoid ye're buckeens in the Qtr final.
Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.

I heard the Kildare minors are on calf nuts.

fearglasmor

After their success at U-21 and Minor I think its only fair that Kildare be split into Nth and Sth  How can other Leinster teams compete.

Nice article DH. They are a very impressive minor team