Most annoying words

Started by seafoid, December 27, 2012, 10:40:12 PM

Quote from: ziggy90 on December 28, 2012, 07:50:54 PM
"Bab", Brummie term of endearment.

Is that like c o c k, which is a Manchester term of endearment?

The Boy Wonder

A habit I'm guilty of myself is putting unnecessary words at the end of a sentence like ye know.

I've also heard the phrase "shovel ready" or something similar a few times.

Quote from: NetNitrate on December 28, 2012, 07:06:29 PM
Craic. Eejits trying to make anglosaxon word "crack" sound Irish.

I agree, but not quite. Craic is an abomination, as you say, but crack I understood to be Hiberno-English and maybe particularly of Ulster protestant origin. There's a book in our house from the 1950s, which is a collection of Ulster protestant humour. It's called Brave Crack.

They use the word "crack" (or "craic" if you prefer) in Cumbria the same way they use it in Ireland.  If that comes from Cumbric then its Irish cousin might be from Hibermo-English all right.

Cheers.

In recent years this has been used more and more here. I used to hear my family in england say this a wile lot but never people in ireland in times gone by.

This one really gets to me

The person would say.....

'well, I'm not a racist but...........'

These words are usually followed by something really racist. 

Whoop

'big night out with the girls planed! Whoop Whoop!'

Even worse if used by a fella.

Quote from: seafoid on December 27, 2012, 10:40:12 PM
http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2012/1227/breaking29.html

"You know," "whatever" is a really annoying term - "like" "you know." We're "just sayin'." When it comes to the most annoying words or phrases used in conversation, those four top the list in 2012, according to the annual Marist Poll.

"Whatever" headed the list, cited by 32 per cent of adults, and next came "like," which 21 per cent didn't like.

Runners-up included "Twitterverse" and "gotcha'." The results mirrored last year's survey when "whatever" topped the annoying words list for a third straight year. But "seriously," named by 7 per cent last year, dropped off the list entirely - really. Marist questioned 1,246 adults in a US telephone survey.

Results showed differences by age and regions, with people younger than 45 or in the northeast especially annoyed by "like," while "you know" offended more of the 45-and-over set.

Men and women gave similar responses overall, but whites were twice as likely as non-whites to find "you know" irritating. And people under 45 were more than twice as likely as those over 45 to be put off by "just sayin.'"

Some of Seafoid's most annoying words

jew
hanukkah
yarmulke
even
handed

(http://www.bl.uk/learning/langlit/sounds/case-studies/geordie/lexis/)
According to the British Library website   the word "crack, " meaning banter, camaraderie, fun is probably  from the Anglo-Saxon verb cracian (cf. modern German krachen) - from which we get Standard English expressions, such as to crack a joke and wisecrack.

Touch base.

People meeting you for the first time "And what is it that you do?"

I tend to leave, quickly.

Quote from: theticklemister on December 29, 2012, 01:11:54 AM
This one really gets to me

The person would say.....

'well, I'm not a racist but...........'

These words are usually followed by something really racist.

Or "no offense but... [something offensive]"

Same as when you're at a GAA meeting, you have the floor, you're making a point, and some ignoramus blurts out at full volume while you're in mid-sentence "I'm not cutting you off Eamonn but ..."

Quote from: blewuporstuffed on December 29, 2012, 01:36:45 AM
Whoop

'big night out with the girls planed! Whoop Whoop!'

Even worse if used by a fella.
Agree 100%, instant block from anyone who says that on facebook

Armaghgeddon

"Roll on Friday" (could be another day of the week, a particular date, a month; haven't got anything against Friday just using it as an example) really pisses me off, it is such an annoying phrase.

"At the end of the day" gets on my nerves to.

"Yeoooo" is kind of annoying to.

Arthur_Friend

Alright already.

Enough already.

Ok already.

>:(