Páidí Ó Sé

Started by 5 Sams, December 15, 2012, 12:50:15 PM

Some footballer & character. Way too young to go. RIP.

Quite shocked by this.

Great story in Humphries book about the Kerry/Dubs rivalry when he was playing, something along the lines of Paidi being consumed by nerves and superstition, fired up to the last. John Egan would come along and casually ask where we're they heading that night!

O'Cinneide comment that the fun seemed to leave football when he stepped down sas a lot

big shock, great folballer, may he rest in peace

Beantown

One of the games great characters.. Great player and never afraid to speak his mind, usually with a twinkle in the eye, and a
devilish smile...

RIP

Ar dheis Dé go raibh a anam uasal.

Celt_Man

Very very sad, a young man, a great character and a great GAA man.  As was said earlier, the word legend gets thrown around a lot but completely fits with Páidi...

I was completely stunned when I heard it, always had it on my To Do List to head into his pub at some stage, sip a few pints and hopefully listen to of his yarns

RIP Páidí - you can only imagine the craic is mighty upstairs with himself there
GAA Board Six Nations Fantasy Champion 2010

All of a Sludden

Very fitting tribute to Páidí in the Sunday Times which ends with the following verse from Sigerson Clifford.

'Twas thus I lived, skin to skin with the earth,

Elbowed by the hills, drenched by the billows,

Watching the wild geese making black wedges,

By Skelligs far west and Annascaul of the willows.

Their voices came on every little wind,

Whispering across the half-door of the mind,

For always I am Kerry...
I'm gonna show you as gently as I can how much you don't know.

I'm no big fan of the BBC but I just seen a mention of Paidi on the sports awards. Fair play.

RIP Paidi.

Great to see Paidi remembered on the BBC Sports Personality of the Year show.

maggie

Seen his pic was included there on SPOTY. A real legend. Rest In Peace.

Sandino

Paidi just remembered by the BBC on SPOTY  nice touch by the BBC.
"You can go proudly. You are history. You are legend''

All of a Sludden

Nice touch from the BBC SPOTY including Páidí in their tribute, maith thú.
I'm gonna show you as gently as I can how much you don't know.

Brilliant gesture by the BBC,perhaps less unjustified criticism of them on this board in future.

ApresMatch

Great to see Paidi there. Paidi def a legend of the game,who Im sure will be sorely missed in Kerry!! Dara O'Cinneidi summed him up well!!