O'Byrne Cup 2013

Started by Shamrock Shore, October 16, 2012, 10:24:35 PM

Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on January 20, 2013, 04:32:55 PM
Entertaining match in Tullamore and a good crowd at it. McDonnell looks to have Offaly in decent shape and they will definitely be stronger this year if today is anything to go by.

Kildare will be grateful of another competitive game as they prepare for Division 1. I know it's only the O'Byrne Cup but it is hard to work out how Kildare are approaching things at this stage. A lot of the experimentation today had been tried unsuccessfully in the past. I don't understand playing two backs in the half-forward line when we have three forwards in the half-back line (Bolton probably more of a natural forward than a defender). From watching the last two weekends it looks like we are trying to be too clever and are fairly shapeless at times because of it. The three players listed in the half-back line kicked 1-3 and we got one Cathal McNally point from the half-forward line. EOF was tried at wing back this time last year and it did not work. I don't see why he was there again today. Conway was poor and should have had more sense than to go diving into tackles after picking up a yellow card. O'Neill will never make an inter-county midfielder but Daryl Flynn could miss the whole of the league so there's a serious lack of options there.

We kicked our usual high quota of wides and it nearly came back to haunt us only for McNamee to drive his penalty wide. Johnston did well to be fair to him but I wouldn't go overboard. He still has a lot to prove to the Kildare support. It's good to be in the final of this again but I would like to see a bit more shape to the team ahead of what will be a very tough league. There are too many square pegs in round holes at the moment.

Jaysus DH, it's the O'Byrne Cup - that's way too much analysis for this time of the year. It's really just another challenge game next week and I hate that cliche  >:(

Nearly 4k at the game today...

Quote from: Dinny Breen on January 20, 2013, 06:51:21 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on January 20, 2013, 04:32:55 PM
There are too many square pegs in round holes at the moment.

Jaysus DH, it's the O'Byrne Cup - that's way too much analysis for this time of the year. It's really just another challenge game next week and I hate that cliche  >:(

Nearly 4k at the game today...

I know it's only January but it's frustrating to see the same approach taken when it isn't going to work. I always think there's an element with McGeeney's Kildare of trying to be a bit too clever and forgetting the basics. I don't understand the logic of playing three or four lads in the forwards who are not going to contribute on the scoreboard. Donegal don't get a huge scoring return from their half forwards but they have Murphy and McFadden inside. Apart from Johnny we don't have scorers of that calibre.

These games are fairly irrelevant in the long run but with so many of the established players starting I would like to see a bit more shape to Kildare. We seemed to be a bit more fluent last week without TOC inside on the edge of the square. I think there's a good case for trying him out at midfield in the league (especially with Flynn out injured) and leaving Johnny inside. Johnny was screamed at from the line anytime he dropped deeper last Sunday. That's a good sign for the weeks ahead.

Quote from: Dinny Breen on January 21, 2013, 09:17:43 PM
Kildare for Ham

You've been waiting for an AI for a loin time now but you're bacon the trail now after last years ham-fisted attempt

Hopefully we'll dish out a HAMmering to the neighbours on Saturday night.

Fair play to the KCB on securing this though - not an easy task in these times

Quote from: heffo on January 21, 2013, 09:37:08 PM
Fair play to the KCB on securing this though - not an easy task in these times
Yep hamtastic

The food industry is clearly booming.

What's Joe doing in the Carlow colours?

GAA rule out ban on player-tracking systems

The GAA have no intention of outlawing the use of GPS tracking systems worn by Dublin footballers in their O'Byrne Cup semi-final against Louth.

The device helps to measure the heart rate and distance travelled by the player wearing it, who slips on a discreet vest around his chest with the GPS device itself sitting into his back between his two shoulder blades.

The system has been available to GAA teams for a number of years now, but few have taken them on because of the high costs involved.

The GAA's head of games administration Fergal McGill said the association had already examined the safety aspects of the device and were satisfied that they were not a danger or obtrusive in any way. "We're satisfied that there are no safety risks attached to them," he said.

Dublin are not the first team to use the devices in competitive match situations. The Galway footballers, under the management of Joe Kernan, who was involved with the company that has the franchise for Ireland, used them in league matches in 2010.

The provincial and national rugby teams are regular users of the system, which provides feedback on fatigue for coaches.

Dublin centre-back Ger Brennan doesn't believe there is any major advantage gained in their use.

"Most of the top county teams are doing something similar and at the upper end of every sport there is very little between success and failure. It's all about getting the 'inches' and stuff like that.

"I wouldn't be too bothered about it," he said.

The Dubs are leaving no expense spared this year!!

That tracking system would be handy for Longford so that we could find some of the lads who seem to disappear during crucial parts of important games!

Presume there'll be a big crowd tomorrow night to say goodbye to Heffo.

Quote from: Declan on January 25, 2013, 05:29:00 PM

The match must be in doubt if this weather keeps up?

Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on January 25, 2013, 06:56:50 PM
Quote from: Declan on January 25, 2013, 05:29:00 PM

The match must be in doubt if this weather keeps up?

Pitch is off tonight anyway for the Walsh cup game - pitch inspection tomorrow - it's to be dryish tomorrow