The Fine Gael thread

Started by Maguire01, October 16, 2012, 08:14:56 PM

Quote from: LCohen on March 17, 2019, 02:23:34 PM
Quote from: Main Street on March 16, 2019, 01:31:49 PM
Is this a Fine Gael thing with their party leaders? Enda Kenny felt compelled to make almost snide comments, preachy -  'we're better that you are, you slob' in a traditional White House  Patrick's day speech  with the US president next to him.
Now I see Varadkar was making comments on the front lawn of VP Pence and his missus, both known conservative outspoken opponents of civil rights for LGBTQ. Was it not enough for Varadkar just to bring his partner to their house and have a private chat inside but had to shout out loud on the lawn to the worlds press, while Pence and missus were within earshot with fixed grins? Could he not have had the respect to hold his tongue and make the comments some other place, rather than on the front lawn of his gracious host?

Next we'll see Varadkar at some function where he's in the presence of Tipperary's finest, Michael Lowry, wearing a tee-shirt emblazoned  with the slogan "Unlike Mike, I'm clean"

You are entitled to your view but I think you called this one completely wrong for at least 2 reasons are very far removed from where the majority of Irish opinion is right now.

There is a whiff of the old angle that any visual or verbal confirmation of gayness is ramming it down your throat

Across the globe we see politicians glamourised by their hosts and kowtowed into not calling out their objectionable views/actions. Good to see someone step away from the usual crap
Bull on the whiff of visual or verbal confirmation of gayness.
This is not unlike Varadkar's totally inappropriate smug intervention in the presidential election process, he can't resist the little dig about how stupid you are and he has to spell it out for you. It's the holier that thou attitude which he shares with Kenny, when Kenny visited the White House.
This is about bland elected leaders of the country acting as if they are in fact, Martin Luther King when invited to grand palaces abroad.

You've let recent changes in Ireland go to your head.
You'd think Ireland was some go ahead progressive country for decades, instead of a society which has dragged its feet on most every social discrimination issue. Still to this day a very sizeable section of society  (a majority?) openly  exhibits intolerance, hatred, racism, or rampant bigotry towards Travellers, the bottom section of society on the equality scale.
Divorce? partially allowed in the mid 1990s, just how socially primitive can you get?  the rot of clergy everywhere.
And if you take in Ireland as a 32 county entity, as Varadkar implied he was representing at the Chicago parade, just how much bigotry, sexism and ignorance can you measure in the north.
There are plenty of ignored/evident social issues of discrimination  closer to home which offer ample opportunity for Varadkar to give an enlightened input.

LCohen

Quote from: Main Street on March 17, 2019, 05:14:22 PM
Quote from: LCohen on March 17, 2019, 02:23:34 PM
Quote from: Main Street on March 16, 2019, 01:31:49 PM
Is this a Fine Gael thing with their party leaders? Enda Kenny felt compelled to make almost snide comments, preachy -  'we're better that you are, you slob' in a traditional White House  Patrick's day speech  with the US president next to him.
Now I see Varadkar was making comments on the front lawn of VP Pence and his missus, both known conservative outspoken opponents of civil rights for LGBTQ. Was it not enough for Varadkar just to bring his partner to their house and have a private chat inside but had to shout out loud on the lawn to the worlds press, while Pence and missus were within earshot with fixed grins? Could he not have had the respect to hold his tongue and make the comments some other place, rather than on the front lawn of his gracious host?

Next we'll see Varadkar at some function where he's in the presence of Tipperary's finest, Michael Lowry, wearing a tee-shirt emblazoned  with the slogan "Unlike Mike, I'm clean"

You are entitled to your view but I think you called this one completely wrong for at least 2 reasons are very far removed from where the majority of Irish opinion is right now.

There is a whiff of the old angle that any visual or verbal confirmation of gayness is ramming it down your throat

Across the globe we see politicians glamourised by their hosts and kowtowed into not calling out their objectionable views/actions. Good to see someone step away from the usual crap
Bull on the whiff of visual or verbal confirmation of gayness.
This is not unlike Varadkar's totally inappropriate smug intervention in the presidential election process, he can't resist the little dig about how stupid you are and he has to spell it out for you. It's the holier that thou attitude which he shares with Kenny, when Kenny visited the White House.
This is about bland elected leaders of the country acting as if they are in fact, Martin Luther King when invited to grand palaces abroad.

You've let recent changes in Ireland go to your head.
You'd think Ireland was some go ahead progressive country for decades, instead of a society which has dragged its feet on most every social discrimination issue. Still to this day a very sizeable section of society  (a majority?) openly  exhibits intolerance, hatred, racism, or rampant bigotry towards Travellers, the bottom section of society on the equality scale.
Divorce? partially allowed in the mid 1990s, just how socially primitive can you get?  the rot of clergy everywhere.
And if you take in Ireland as a 32 county entity, as Varadkar implied he was representing at the Chicago parade, just how much bigotry, sexism and ignorance can you measure in the north.
There are plenty of ignored/evident social issues of discrimination  closer to home which offer ample opportunity for Varadkar to give an enlightened input.

I agree with everything you say about Ireland. Be a bit kinder about Leo though

See how their delegates gave Donaldson a bualadh bos for suggesting Ireland rejoin the commonwealth. Pretty pathetic party for inviting that odious individual to their ard fheis.

So a party with a gay Taoiseach leading a government that introduced abortion rights invited to its own party event an MP from a largely sectarian party which has denied rights to all sorts of minority groupings in its own jurisdiction. A party for whom many of its MPs have hurled constant abuse at Varadkar throughout the Brexit process. I'm all for reconciliation but I think that was spectacularly ill judged.

Then Jeffrey brazenly invites Ireland to rejoin the Commonwealth probably knowing full well the reaction and media attention this would bring. I think he was probably on the wind up. I certainly don't think he would have expected to be applauded but the fact that some FG party members agree with his proposal should not come as a major surprise and just prove some of the underlying apologetic Irishness at the core of that party.

Did Naomi Long or Eastwoid or Swann get an invite?

Quote from: Rossfan on March 24, 2019, 10:13:07 AM
Did Naomi Long or Eastwoid or Swann get an invite?

Claire Hanna and Naomi Long were at it which was fair enough even if you would have to question the rationale for a self annointed socialist like Hanna to attend a FG event. The difference is that Jeffrey Donaldson represents the party of extreme unionism and his party have been at loggerheads with FG throughout the Brexit process. He then had the temerity to suggest Ireland rejoin the Commonwealth. It would leave you asking the question did FG know what the general content of his speech was going to contain before the event. What message does it send to the majority of nationalists in the north when they bend over backwards to appease extreme Unionism yet ignore broad nationalism.   

The main event of the night was wee Jeffrey! 

1). The clapping re: joining the Commonwealth tells us everything about FG - little Englanders.

2). After all the abuse the DUP have given Leo etc. about Brexit, they invite him to headline their event.  Laughable if it wasn't so serious.

3). He's a member of the DUP - the anti LGBT, anti Irish language and anti Catholic party.  Heck, some of them see no issues with bonfires with the Irish national flag on the top etc. etc.

A major own goal by FG and Leo.

If/when a border poll becomes a reality, it will be of benefit to have some sort of non-toxic relationship with the largest unionist party.
SF may consider themselves the gate keepers of irish unity, others might see them as an inpediment to it when it comes within grasp.

Surely understanding the views of a broad range of people on this Island is key to delivering a UI. Some people think ramming a UI down Unionists throats is going to work. FFS ramming Britain down Nationalists throats hasn't worked in 100 years the reverse is hardly going to.

This has got absolutely nothing to do with ramming a UI down people's throat so to conflate it otherwise is nonsense. It is entirely possible to be respectful of other peoples beliefs and traditions but Ireland rejoining the Commonwealth is a ludicrous suggestion and I suspect that Jeffrey Donaldson knows this too well. I doubt that he would have expected it to receive any approval whatsoever so he may have been mildly surprised.

Would there be a referendum required if a government went ahead with Jeffín's proposal? If so, I couldn't see it passing.

Quote from: yellowcard on March 24, 2019, 12:59:50 PM
This has got absolutely nothing to do with ramming a UI down people's throat so to conflate it otherwise is nonsense. It is entirely possible to be respectful of other peoples beliefs and traditions but Ireland rejoining the Commonwealth is a ludicrous suggestion and I suspect that Jeffrey Donaldson knows this too well. I doubt that he would have expected it to receive any approval whatsoever so he may have been mildly surprised.

I was referring to those who were critical of Donaldson's invite.

Quote from: Farrandeelin on March 24, 2019, 01:04:21 PM
Would there be a referendum required if a government went ahead with Jeffín's proposal? If so, I couldn't see it passing.

Joining the Commonwealth might play a role in United Ireland negotiations. No need for action before then.

Quote from: armaghniac on March 25, 2019, 12:48:03 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on March 24, 2019, 01:04:21 PM

Joining the Commonwealth might play a role in United Ireland negotiations. No need for action before then.

- New Flag
- New Anthem
- Join the Commonwealth
- Guaranteed ministerial/junior ministerial positions in cabinet (with lovely pension entitlements) for X number of unionist politicians for Y number of years

Would be a small price for a United Ireland.

The latter three wouldn't really bother me, but I wouldn't like losing the flag, especially given what it's supposed to stand for. But the provos fecked that one up by hijacking it as a terrorist symbol, so it has to go.

This is interesting

https://www.ft.com/content/a283b658-3c71-4ecc-b6f3-84f9993ba0cf

The European Commission initially tried to argue that it was the turn of a developed country — a position that EU trade commissioner Phil Hogan, who is contemplating a run, claimed had the support of Robert Lighthizer, the US trade representative. But it rapidly became clear that Mr Hogan had overstated the US position. Mr Lighthizer's office last week said that "Ambassador Lighthizer does not support any candidate at this time, nor does he feel that a candidate must necessarily be from a developed country". The EU's own member states also said last week that the next head did not have to be a European.