Kerry v Tyrone

Started by Ball Hopper, July 16, 2012, 08:51:15 AM

don't worry he'll steal my Mcmenamin/water story no doubt too.don't worry i know when he returns to Dungiven at the weekends  ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D. i'll PM you with the details!!

Quote from: theticklemister on July 21, 2012, 12:29:31 AM
don't worry he'll steal my Mcmenamin/water story no doubt too.don't worry i know when he returns to Dungiven at the weekends  ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D. i'll

;D ;D

Can't sleep. Too nervous. Can't stop thinking tactics & young baby Harry must be the same or maybe he needs a bottle of the house white. I'm dying to go down on the train from Dublin with about 12 others from TAD.ie but feel guilty leaving the wife & 4 kids. Could well be last game though but maybe I'm better missing it. Where's me keys? Come on Harry. We'll sneak out. Howl your tongue!

Chief Whip

Any of you tech savy chaps any idea how to stream this game online; working in the sticks in Oz and really dont wanna miss this?

cadhlancian

Chiefwhip, setanta -i is your best bet methinks.

Best of luck to the red hands today. Hopefully it's a belter of a game. I'm going to keep the O'Neill county glasses welded on and go for a 2 point win. Safe travelling to all heading down the country. COME ON TYRONE, YOU'RE ON YOUR OWN! 

reddgnhand

Quote from: J OGorman on July 20, 2012, 11:44:50 AM
Quote from: cadence on July 19, 2012, 05:20:34 PM
Quote from: J OGorman on July 19, 2012, 04:19:35 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on July 19, 2012, 08:38:47 AM
Quote from: cadence on July 19, 2012, 07:59:12 AM
unfortunately for tyrone, i doubt that the kerry team will be relying on the venue to see them through this one. they wouldn't be that stupid, would they?

"unfortunately"..."I doubt"...jesus what the f**k is it you Tymoan lads and this fixture...such manufactured bravado ..yet such doubt. How about nailing your colours to the mast and stop being the britboy pussies that we know you are ? Are you going to win or not ?

Up Tyrone...anything to shut this pollution up!

honestly. + there's no consideration whatsoever here for the post-modern perspective on the complexity of identity. which is a shame because 'tis handy to unpack and debunk stereotypes and all sorts of other nonsense.

honestly. you're backing a man who continuously offends his northern brothers and sisters and offers little to nothing discussion wise because I maybe dont like Donegal's style of play? head back over to the Ulster final thread and take all gripes against Donegal personally. Honestly?

Tyrone by 2 after extra time

Mike will be outside the ground with a petition to have Kerry's All Ireland's won in 1903,04,09,13,14 removed from the history books as they were won whilst Kerry was under british rule and he believes them to be tainted.

This will be fascinating. Can talent defeat effort? Can skill overcome persistence? Can the beauty of the object of our passion survive the machinations of a wily Fagin and his horde of malevolent thieves, intent on pickpocketing the soul of it? I mean this board. I'm afraid it will be business as usual here on Monday morning, with rrhf and the shrieking army of fanatical bushwallahs drowning out the sweet reason of Mike Sheehy.

A really good article by Billy Keane in today's Independent - paints a different picture of Kerry folk than that idiot Sheehy on this board.

Kerry and Tyrone is so much more than a football match. For Mickey Harte and for all of us.
There will be many even in heartland of the Kingdom who will cheer for Tyrone. The sympathy and affection for Mickey Harte knows no boundaries.
If we're beaten in Killarney this evening, all of us will back Tyrone for the rest of the summer, but for now we will roar for our own beloved Kerry.
Don't tell Mr Ahmed.
Mr Ahmed, a renowned throat specialist, told me a persistent hoarseness was down to mucus seeping from an old battle wound of a broken nose.
Indeed I remember the blow only too well. It was at a carnival game in Moyvane, the Rio of north Kerry. The murderous corner-back who hit me with a kango of an elbow declared it was all a terrible accident -- it was my brother Conor he was after.
This evening we will do our best to keep quiet, but championship fervour has ruined more throats than Woodbines.
All of Ireland will cheer themselves hoarse for Mickey Harte.
He knows what it takes to beat Kerry. This will be four in a row in championship games if Tyrone win.
sacred

Tyrone desperately crave victory on our sacred turf and a win by playing classy football. Once that first All-Ireland was wrought from a mix of graft, guts, skill and puke too, Mickey has always kept an eye on the history of style.
Tyrone will try to run Kerry off the pitch and out the gate up into the Macgillicuddy Reeks, a well-known retreat for a beaten Kerry team.
Referee Dave Goldrick has a tough job. Goldrick is one of the best refs in the game, despite the occasional human lapse. He is also one of the fairest and has no favourites.
But now Dave has to referee a saga of a game between the two fiercest rivals in the GAA, and the background is everyone everywhere would love for Tyrone to win this one.
All we want is fair play. Yes we did get a refereeing break against Westmeath in Mullingar last Sunday, but that was as rare as a sunny day in summer.
The neutrals for Tyrone among you will claim I am biased.
Yes I am Kerry and always will be. I will not join in the criticism of our team and manager.
When I started to write this column more than 10 years ago, I promised I would never down my own county.
We are up against it this evening. There isn't much confidence behind the team within Kerry. Gallant Westmeath were desperately unlucky. Kerry only played for 10 minutes but I believe we can win, if we multiply 10 by seven.
Kerry are seldom underdogs. It's almost a luxury for us.
Never mind the bookies. Their odds are accountancy-based, to offset the flood of money on Kerry to win the All-Ireland.
In the hearts and minds of Kerry people, Tyrone are hot favourites. Yet Kerry have always given their best when they are unfancied.
Our friend Kieran Donaghy, of Tyrone ancestry, has been written off by those two well-known footballers on the ditch, all and sundry. Expect a big game from the big man this evening, for that's the nature of the fierce pride in jersey and self that epitomises the hero from Tralee town.
I'm sure Mickey Harte would approve of such loyalty. He has played with and managed county and club for all of his life.
No man has ever been more welcome in our county.
He will, as usual, stand quietly by the edge of the dugout with a cognitive finger under his jaw as he calmly analyses the fury before him.
Part of his magic as a manager is that he distances himself from time and place. But I am sure there are long nights when Mauritius is only too near and January is today.
Mickey would swap every All-Ireland ever played for one hour with his beloved Michaela but that will come too, in time, and many more hours with it. And that will be the joyous meeting.
Loyalty

We are torn in Kerry by an undying loyalty to the Kingdom and the love and respect we hold for this mighty man who in so many ways has brought such dignity and honour to his beloved Tyrone and has inspired all of us, in every jersey.
Mickey must keep the tragedy that befell his lovely daughter separate from football. He has to, but the goodwill and sympathy we all carry for the bereaved families has become an intrinsic part of the emotional consciousness of a nation.
There will be candles burning brightly in Kerry windows tonight to light Mickey and Tyrone safely home and a prayer will be said in every green and gold Kerry heart for the Hartes and McAreaveys.
Yes this is more than a game. It is a manifestation of solidarity and sympathy for two GAA families torn by events outside of their control.
Two families we in the GAA desperately desire to put back together again.
- Billy Keane

maggie

Just in Tipp, plenty of early starts this morning. Any recommendations of where to go for a pre-match bev? That's within walking distance of the pitch.

Quote from: Hardy on July 21, 2012, 10:08:19 AM
This will be fascinating. Can talent defeat effort? Can skill overcome persistence? Can the beauty of the object of our passion survive the machinations of a wily Fagin and his horde of malevolent thieves, intent on pickpocketing the soul of it? I mean this board. I'm afraid it will be business as usual here on Monday morning, with rrhf and the shrieking army of fanatical bushwallahs drowning out the sweet reason of Mike Sheehy.
Very good but only partly true.   I can sense your own nerves also having been awarded a Leinster title by a Tyrone man I know you would almost begrudge the Monaghan man the success, these are outsiders tampering with your beloved Meath and it doesn't feel right because you cant love outsiders . It will never happen in bushwallah country. Do you want us to send down sludden again  to win you the auld thing again or are you happy enough with it in all left in the safe hands of Banty.  Anyway if Tyrone are bate I'll admit to not handling it well so, and the thought of the sheehy man etc. id struggle to take. I might never appear on here again. As this could be my last post I'm  gonna say yerra one last time. Good luck to all teams this weekend, and to Mickey and the team, just give it your best and we, ll be happy.

cadence

Quote from: J OGorman on July 20, 2012, 11:44:50 AM
Quote from: cadence on July 19, 2012, 05:20:34 PM
Quote from: J OGorman on July 19, 2012, 04:19:35 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on July 19, 2012, 08:38:47 AM
Quote from: cadence on July 19, 2012, 07:59:12 AM
unfortunately for tyrone, i doubt that the kerry team will be relying on the venue to see them through this one. they wouldn't be that stupid, would they?

"unfortunately"..."I doubt"...jesus what the f**k is it you Tymoan lads and this fixture...such manufactured bravado ..yet such doubt. How about nailing your colours to the mast and stop being the britboy pussies that we know you are ? Are you going to win or not ?

Up Tyrone...anything to shut this pollution up!

honestly. + there's no consideration whatsoever here for the post-modern perspective on the complexity of identity. which is a shame because 'tis handy to unpack and debunk stereotypes and all sorts of other nonsense.

honestly. you're backing a man who continuously offends his northern brothers and sisters and offers little to nothing discussion wise because I maybe dont like Donegal's style of play? head back over to the Ulster final thread and take all gripes against Donegal personally. Honestly?

Tyrone by 2 after extra time

i'm sorry, but you read that not in the way i intended it to be read. i made no reference to what you think of how donegal may play. i'm as offended as any right-minded person about his comments and was actually making fun of his offensiveness about what he thinks irish identity should be, and that if he had more of a grip on how complex identity is, then maybe he could debunk a few stereotypes himself... stupid kerrymen for example.

on a more serious note, i'll always back donegal to the hilt.

give her dixie

Great drive so far, and there is plenty of Tyrone support heading to Killarney.
Lets hope the result will go our way today, and I am going for a 3 point win for us in the end.....

As usual, I will be doing live updates throughout the match on Twitter and Facebook
for those not able to travel or see it on TV.

Here's to a good day out.......

https://twitter.com/TyroneGAALive

http://www.facebook.com/tyronegaa
next stop, September 10, for number 4......

Chat of roadworks on the way down, Abbeyfeale I think.

winsamsoon

who won the minor game?
I never forget a face but in your case I will make an exception.