Kerry v Tyrone

Started by Ball Hopper, July 16, 2012, 08:51:15 AM

I have my own paper but not a digital version.

Quote from: trileacman on July 19, 2012, 11:28:45 PM
Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on July 19, 2012, 11:03:21 PM
Quote from: ONeill on July 19, 2012, 10:50:40 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on July 19, 2012, 10:26:53 PM
Wonder how Marc O'Se would do against a 19 year old speed merchant?

Do we have one? I know nothing about McCurry. Is he a speed merchant?

From what I have seen he's sharp more than very quick if that makes any sense. Seems to be quick of the mark and a great turn. Also extremely accurate. The question mark at this stage is whether he can win his own ball in a tight championship match. I think we will see him at some stage on Saturday so may have a better idea after that. Could help solve part of the free taking issue in the coming years. Confidence doesn't seem to be an issue.

Bit soon to be heaping all this pressure on him? I mean it was a twenty minute cameo against Roscommon, before that if anyone of us was asked about him we'd talk about a take-out in Draperstown. I don't want to see a situation develop were he comes out the next day and has a poor match or an average match. Then all the chat will be the "what happened McCurry/ never delivered on his potential" shite that Colm Cavanagh, Raymond Mulgrew, BJ Keane, Aidan O'Shea and countless others have to put up with.

One good performance and your a f**king superstar, one bad performance and Joe Brolly is writing your Prima-dona obituary. As the ould boys say don't count your chickens.

I certainly wasn't try to put any pressure on him. And don't think I said anything too over the top that would suggest he's going to be some kind of superstar. What I said was based on seeing him play in 4 u21 games this season and the brief appearance v Roscommon. Would want to see a bit more him before making a judgement and as I said will know better after seeing him in a few tight championship matches.

Up The Middle

Just read McGuigans article there, Jesus its shite, he gives no insight worth talking about whatsoever. Just goes to show not all players/explayers make good pundits or journalists.
I'm very important. I have many leather-bound books and my apartment smells of rich mahogany.

[quote author=trileacman link=topic=21912.msg1134705#msg1134705

Bit soon to be heaping all this pressure on him? I mean it was a twenty minute cameo against Roscommon, before that if anyone of us was asked about him we'd talk about a take-out in Draperstown. I don't want to see a situation develop were he comes out the next day and has a poor match or an average match. Then all the chat will be the "what happened McCurry/ never delivered on his potential" shite that Colm Cavanagh, Raymond Mulgrew, BJ Keane, Aidan O'Shea and countless others have to put up with.

One good performance and your a f**king superstar, one bad performance and Joe Brolly is writing your Prima-dona obituary. As the ould boys say don't count your chickens.

Being a tad dramatic there?

God14

Few interesting things about the subs;
Ronan McNamee coming back from a long lay off.

Jonny Lafferty not listed at all? . And it cant be down to the alphabetical order issue...

Good luck to all the Tyrone lads heading down tonight on the tear.  Choose your Kerry woman wisely!

Yes Trileacman we're all hanging our hopes on McCurry who probably wont get more than 15 mins knowing Mickey.  ::)

Was chatting to a lad from the club this morning and they are going on a stag weekend to Killarney today. They had it booked ages ago so I'll say there could be some crack there.
Oh to be young free and single again. But enough about me.

I know there is probably no chance of many of ye taking me up on this but sure I'll ask anyway.
Would it be possible for ye to come on here and give one honest post on who you think is gonna win and for what reasons. Where do you think the game is gonna be won and lost and who is going to be the main players on the day
Yes I know we all like to play the WUM and some are so caught up in reverse psychology that they'd never ever speak their true minds.
Personally I am worried that our run over the Kingdom is gonna come to an end.
I think if we can contain them for 40/50 mins we will win but I think Kerry will be all out to put up an early lead and if they don't have that at half time then doubt could seep in.

Kerry by 4 points I'm sad to say. :'( :'(

Right Fuzzman - here's mine.  I won't be any less disappointed posting this if we lose than if I hadn't posted it.

I have to be optimistic here and go for Tyrone.  Yes we've lost the big names, but we've picked up a few gems that Kerry aren't as familiar with.  We haven't had a league game with them in a couple of years, we didn't get much league tv coverage, so from this year Kerry have the Armagh and Donegal matches to go on, two quite different games. 

I think there will be so much desperation in the Kerry camp to beat Tyrone at home, that it will work against them.  For Kerry, nothing less than a win will do for a lot of the older heads on the team.  For Tyrone, we'll just go back to the drawing board and let Mickey have a bit of a rest that he deserves.  Can Kerry cope with that pressure?  I hope not. 

I love that it's a hard match to call.  No counting chickens in this one, even at half time or with 50 mins on the clock - see AIF 2008 for that lesson.  Tyrone powered on in the last ten to take the match - I'd love to see the same thing happen here again. 

Also, not convinced that's the team that will start.

Head also says Kerry by 4. Tyrone haven't beaten a team of note for a while and although that breakthrough will happen some time, I can't see it being this weekend. I expect the Kerry midfield to dominate the game and although in the past that has meant nothing to Tyrone I don't think we've the army of ants to compensate. Lack of reliable free taker adds to that. Sheehan MOTM.

God14

Good queston Fuzz

Unfortunately I agree with you. I geniunely think Kerry will win, although at odds of 8/15 I wouldnt touch them in the bookies (Im fond of a bet you see!)

Ultimately I think Kerry will shade the match because (A) they have better forwards, (B)
home advantage & (C) they have the greater need for victory here.
(D) The Tyrone full back line wouldnt be the most experienced either, and taking on Donaghy & Gooch isnt easy at the best of times
(E) Finally in close fought games free taking is crucial. Kerry have Bryan Sheehan, the best in the business. We have 4 or 5 men who will juggle the responsibility & invariably miss a few big scores.
Sheehan was made scapegoat by Kerry fans in 2008. Redemption beckons. Key man.

I fear that Kerry will tear into Tyrone in the first 25 minutes and build up a huge lead, then their goose will be cooked and they will cynically drag pull and haul Tyrone for the next 45.... whilst Coldrick waves play on.  The Draperstown lad comes on for the last 15 and Tyrone are alive but as the red hands set about to kick over the equaliser, Mc Menamen makes a run the full length of the field, Cooper goes with him as he enters the square theres a tangle or two - Gooch goes down holding his tonsils with  a snarling Mc Menamin standing over him.  In all the furore and with Jack O Connor sent to behind the stand, Mc Menamin gets the line, the Tyrone point is disallowed theres a hop ball in the square between Donaghy from Beragh and Penrose from Carmen.  Penrose riseth higher and punches the ball over the bar, but to everyones disbelief the referee gives a square ball and awards the tie to Kerry.  A disgruntled Tyrone supporter drives his car onto the pitch and the referee is escorted to the pub by Gardai traffic branch.       

God14

lol
p.s who is "The Draperstown lad"

I must be the only one that sees some of the Kerry forwards as being a tad over-rated.  Galvin can win a bit of ball but he doesn't really hurt the opposition, Darren O'Cullivan is fast but he doesn;t get enough scores and Declan O'Sullivan usually has one or two good moments a match.  Donaghy can catch if allowed, but if that avenue is negated then he isn't much to worry about.  The Gooch on the otherhand is unmarkable really if any kind of decent ball comes his way.