Brolly and Spillane Etc

Started by Tyrone Dreamer, June 12, 2012, 10:59:18 PM

Orchardman

Quote from: From the Bunker on June 15, 2012, 07:18:42 PM
Quote from: Orchardman on June 15, 2012, 06:37:33 PM
Quote from: Whishtup on June 13, 2012, 03:52:34 PM
After Sunday's bletherings, I reckon Spillane is that wee bit cuter-Brolly has now shown his hand in being sensationalist for the sake of it.  On what was a good oul' day for Ulster football,  you'd wonder what his loyalties are $$$

But that's the thing, spillane isn't even cute, he's terrible ( i liked brolly years ago, but his time's done now as well, pure dose). Spillane comes out with usual riddles about "bastardises basketball, blanket defence, long ball into full forward". I don't mind sensationism, in fact i don't have much time for soccer yet i love to listen to eamon dunphy, especially when ireland/ man utd and others have been beaten in big games, and he goes off on a rant, but a good rant. Spillane also writes a terrible piece in the sunday world, which has crap gaa coverage, in fact he fits in well with roy curtis who must be the worst journo in the world.

By the way, was watching kerry and dublin 1976 on TG4 this week, spillane really was the real deal, brilliant footballer who would also the best footballer in the modern era as well if he was playing.

Only get to see the Sunday World when i go to the inlaws for a weekend, would never buy such a paper! Curtis one weekend, covered Irish Soccer, Ireland Rugby and Hurling. Giving his 'Specialist' view on all.

exactly, think i mentioned on here before about him. My father buys it every week, such a rubbish paper in every way. But curtis really tops it off, have long given up trying to read it, but his style was always a crap story about a player ( seemed pick ronan o gara a lot), with a shit load of comparisons and never really getting anywhere with the story. Plus his picture looks horrible.
Roy curtis and pat dolan at the irish star, 2 worst shit talkers going.

whatever about negativity in gaelic football, trying to watch england and swedan at the moment, again it's a reminder that soccer is lke paint drying most of the time, give me a bad GAA game any day

Orchardman

Quote from: Orchardman on June 15, 2012, 08:36:08 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on June 15, 2012, 07:18:42 PM
Quote from: Orchardman on June 15, 2012, 06:37:33 PM
Quote from: Whishtup on June 13, 2012, 03:52:34 PM
After Sunday's bletherings, I reckon Spillane is that wee bit cuter-Brolly has now shown his hand in being sensationalist for the sake of it.  On what was a good oul' day for Ulster football,  you'd wonder what his loyalties are $$$

But that's the thing, spillane isn't even cute, he's terrible ( i liked brolly years ago, but his time's done now as well, pure dose). Spillane comes out with usual riddles about "bastardises basketball, blanket defence, long ball into full forward". I don't mind sensationism, in fact i don't have much time for soccer yet i love to listen to eamon dunphy, especially when ireland/ man utd and others have been beaten in big games, and he goes off on a rant, but a good rant. Spillane also writes a terrible piece in the sunday world, which has crap gaa coverage, in fact he fits in well with roy curtis who must be the worst journo in the world.

By the way, was watching kerry and dublin 1976 on TG4 this week, spillane really was the real deal, brilliant footballer who would also the best footballer in the modern era as well if he was playing.

Only get to see the Sunday World when i go to the inlaws for a weekend, would never buy such a paper! Curtis one weekend, covered Irish Soccer, Ireland Rugby and Hurling. Giving his 'Specialist' view on all.

exactly, think i mentioned on here before about him. My father buys it every week, such a rubbish paper in every way. But curtis really tops it off, have long given up trying to read it, but his style was always a crap story about a player ( seemed pick ronan o gara a lot), with a shit load of comparisons and never really getting anywhere with the story. Plus his picture looks horrible.
Roy curtis and pat dolan at the irish star, 2 worst shit talkers going.

whatever about negativity in gaelic football, trying to watch england and swedan at the moment, again it's a reminder that soccer is lke paint drying most of the time, give me a bad GAA game any day

oops, said that after 30 mins and turned off, that game ended up a 3-2 'thriller' aparently

You have to factor in RTE policy regarding the approach they take to sport analysis. Possibly Eamonn Dunphy set the standard. Now I think Eamonn has been good down the years but it didn t mean that Rugby and Gaelic had to follow the same template as football.

As far as I can recollect Dunphy s first gig as an analyst was in the 78 World Cup in Argentina. Liam Touhy was on it too and that was probably RTE s first attempt at that kind of thing and it has to be said Eamonn is a pro and knows exactly how to keep a gig going. He could always be the guy to go to and keep the thing interesting. Maybe he went a bit ott at times but over 34 years he s done a good job.

In the last 15 years or so Rugby analysis has centred around the deliberately beligerent George Hook. He knows the game though but might upset people by pointing out failings in advance. Mostly he is correct in his analysis.

The earlier Sunday Game series used to have fewer analysts and it was pitched differently. Enda Colleran was the football man and Jimmy Barry Murphy did the hurling and Donal O Grady has been there a long time. Colleran was a gentleman and no way was he going to lay into the games for a few quid. I remember a JB Murphy interview where he said he quit the Sunday Game because they expected criticism of individual players and he was not prepared to criticise amateur players who were doin it for the love of the game and have to go to work Monday morning.

Compare that to Spillane whom I believe has sullied his great standing as a player. I was amazed that he went down the road he did as a hack after witnessing his career as a player. I couldn t believe his lack of manliness when he had a camera in front of him. Bitching and bitter and f**k all to be bitter about. Unfortunately Spillane s going to be remembered as the bollix on the telly rather than the great player. JBM though was a great hurler and footballer and is still vital in his second term as Cork hurling manager. He s the real deal not the 'me,me, me,listen to me gobshites' who never put their reputation on the line as amanager. Instead they lost their credibility by becoming performing bears for a few quid.

O Rourke of course has class and has managed to miraculously keep a distance from the muckspreaders. He doesn t get everything right but his dignity is still intact.

Ulick

Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on June 12, 2012, 10:59:18 PM
I cannot believe the gaa are sitting back and letting RTE drag the name of the game through the muck. They say they're worried about attendances, well its hard not to believe the constant attacks from Brolly and Spillane for self gain are doing the games image significant harm. Both of them know exactly what they want to say before every game and throw it out no matter how good or bad the game is. This was evidenced by there attack on the Longford Wexford game which given the standings off both teams was a decent game.

I don't think there is another sport in the world analysed by the pundits in a similar way to gaelic football. No match is analysed on its own merit instead a series of generalisations about the game and comparisons to 30 given years ago are made. Its ridiculous that these guys get paid for it.

For the last few months Brolly has had it in for Tyrone as evidenced by his attack on the team for being a bunch of divers in a recent newspaper article. I'm not sure where is current hate for Tyrone has come from considering during the period in which all his examples came from he was a huge fan of the team and constantly sung their praises in the media. On Sunday he was determined to continue with the attack no matter what happened during the game.

As it happened it turned out to be a very good game of football but Brolly didn't care as he was more interested in point scoring on who can be the most controversial negative pundit. At half time he said Colm Cavanagh made the most wonderful of dive that his brother would have been proud off. Having been at the game and watched it since I'm still not sure what he was talking about. At full time he was again on about Tyrone diving to win 2 frees to win the game. He was more interested in this than the wonderful points scored by Harte and O'Neill. As it happens neither free was a dive - Gormley was took down round the neck and there was no question it was a free and Donnellys was a clear cut free to. He also accused Mark Donnelly of wasting time with cramp. I'm no expert with cramp and I'm not sure if Brolly is but to me the lad didn't look like someone that was acting. Maybe Joe knows better though.

He also said it was a typical boring boring Tyrone performance and compared it to George Grahams Arsenal who liked to defend 1 - 0 leads. Given that the final score was 0-19 to 1-13 this makes no sense what so ever. Instead of focusing on the fact that Tyrone scored 12 or 13 points from play including some brilliant scores spread across 8 players he tried to make snide remarks. I was actually shocked on Sunday how open Tyrone were at the back. This allowed Jamie Clarke to pull off some wonderful scores which Brolly would have been safer focusing on.

I know I've defended Tyrone here but it is more an example of the nonsense these guys are coming out with every week against various counties and there insistence in finding negatives in every game even when they are far outweighed by the positives. The gaa has to act now and tackle this issue head on. The games and the players deserve better, especially coming from their so called own.

Get over it. An aging Tyrone team used their experience to close out the game against a youthful Armagh with a bit diving and playacting. Fair play to them, it's the Tyrone we've all come to know and love, but lets not pretend you or the rest of the country don't know it.

Quote from: Ulick on June 16, 2012, 02:03:07 AM
Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on June 12, 2012, 10:59:18 PM
I cannot believe the gaa are sitting back and letting RTE drag the name of the game through the muck. They say they're worried about attendances, well its hard not to believe the constant attacks from Brolly and Spillane for self gain are doing the games image significant harm. Both of them know exactly what they want to say before every game and throw it out no matter how good or bad the game is. This was evidenced by there attack on the Longford Wexford game which given the standings off both teams was a decent game.

I don't think there is another sport in the world analysed by the pundits in a similar way to gaelic football. No match is analysed on its own merit instead a series of generalisations about the game and comparisons to 30 given years ago are made. Its ridiculous that these guys get paid for it.

For the last few months Brolly has had it in for Tyrone as evidenced by his attack on the team for being a bunch of divers in a recent newspaper article. I'm not sure where is current hate for Tyrone has come from considering during the period in which all his examples came from he was a huge fan of the team and constantly sung their praises in the media. On Sunday he was determined to continue with the attack no matter what happened during the game.

As it happened it turned out to be a very good game of football but Brolly didn't care as he was more interested in point scoring on who can be the most controversial negative pundit. At half time he said Colm Cavanagh made the most wonderful of dive that his brother would have been proud off. Having been at the game and watched it since I'm still not sure what he was talking about. At full time he was again on about Tyrone diving to win 2 frees to win the game. He was more interested in this than the wonderful points scored by Harte and O'Neill. As it happens neither free was a dive - Gormley was took down round the neck and there was no question it was a free and Donnellys was a clear cut free to. He also accused Mark Donnelly of wasting time with cramp. I'm no expert with cramp and I'm not sure if Brolly is but to me the lad didn't look like someone that was acting. Maybe Joe knows better though.

He also said it was a typical boring boring Tyrone performance and compared it to George Grahams Arsenal who liked to defend 1 - 0 leads. Given that the final score was 0-19 to 1-13 this makes no sense what so ever. Instead of focusing on the fact that Tyrone scored 12 or 13 points from play including some brilliant scores spread across 8 players he tried to make snide remarks. I was actually shocked on Sunday how open Tyrone were at the back. This allowed Jamie Clarke to pull off some wonderful scores which Brolly would have been safer focusing on.

I know I've defended Tyrone here but it is more an example of the nonsense these guys are coming out with every week against various counties and there insistence in finding negatives in every game even when they are far outweighed by the positives. The gaa has to act now and tackle this issue head on. The games and the players deserve better, especially coming from their so called own.

Get over it. An aging Tyrone team used their experience to close out the game against a youthful Armagh with a bit diving and playacting. Fair play to them, it's the Tyrone we've all come to know and love, but lets not pretend you or the rest of the country don't know it.

Most of this thread is Ulster and I honestly think non Ulster counties have a bigger ax to grind with Brolly but i couldn t be arsed.

As regards the Tyrone/Armagh match the last day I thought it was a fine match. Armagh gone down to 14 managed to put themselves in a position where they looked the likely winners. Kicking long ball into the big sub cost them the match imo. Tyrone finished strongly on the turnovers from that and closed out the game.

But Brolly announced that that that the result was never in doubt ( my arse) and the whole diving business etc was wheeled out to justify his stance. Ffs it was not like that at all. Tyrone were very resourceful in those last few minutes. You don t get scores by diving etc when the game has swung against ye. What they did took quality. And Armagh let it slip by poor decision making. They stopped doing what was working for them and management has to take a hit there. They were on a roll to win the game but pandering to the old cliche of lumping the big ball in to the square to a lad that was raw  they allowed Tyrone to get a second wind. If they kept the ball and kept going for Jamie Clarke, a couple more points from frees or whatever could have got them the win.
  Brolly was scathing about  Tyrone and killing the game and their industrial approach to the game. Nonsense. They put up a big score and showed great character to win and played great stuff ( Armagh did as well). But he had to get his agenda in. At the end of the day it is all about him. I ve never had a problem with Tyrone s approach. Ever before they won an AI they produced fine players and and have been more sinned against down the years than sinners.

I recorded BBC and RTE at the weekend and what stood out was the morgue-like atmosphere in the RTE studio. I couldn't care less if there was no half time analysis but on this occasion the BBC version were buzzing about to fit in as much as possible with McHugh and Burns on the edge of their seats, pitch-side interview with the Tyrone assistant manager as well as Cavanagh and Kernan and the minor highlights thrown in. RTE had Brolly increasingly slouched telling a most unfunny joke about Banty which only he laughed at, heartily. He was barely audible (like a hangover throat) and then, I'm sure I saw it, started playing with his own saliva. O'Rourke attempted to issue some words of wisdom but the game didn't seem to suit their script. The managed to make a good game appear funereal.

Quote from: ONeill on June 16, 2012, 07:41:14 AM
I recorded BBC and RTE at the weekend and what stood out was the morgue-like atmosphere in the RTE studio. I couldn't care less if there was no half time analysis but on this occasion the BBC version were buzzing about to fit in as much as possible with McHugh and Burns on the edge of their seats, pitch-side interview with the Tyrone assistant manager as well as Cavanagh and Kernan and the minor highlights thrown in. RTE had Brolly increasingly slouched telling a most unfunny joke about Banty which only he laughed at, heartily. He was barely audible (like a hangover throat) and then, I'm sure I saw it, started playing with his own saliva. O'Rourke attempted to issue some words of wisdom but the game didn't seem to suit their script. The managed to make a good game appear funereal.

Although I don't like the actual commmentary on bbc would agree 100% with that. RTE are putting nothing into the games whatsoever and its nearly as if they're trying to put people off watching. For the first time I've actually started turning matches off at half time. I see Brolly is at it in the paper about the Colm Cavanagh saying he took a world class dive and some insult on the Cavanagh family. Still not sure what he's on about - obviously has it in for him since the McKenna Cup final and is out to damage his name no matter what.

Have to agree, whilst Sidebottom can be hard to take at times, the half time analysis was top notch. Squeezed a lot in there and Burns and McHugh provided a useful insight. Martin must be taking a hit of Diazepam before going on air as he is not half as frenetic as he used to be. Thought it was a good idea to pull some familiar faces from the crowd to give their say as well.

Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on June 16, 2012, 12:45:36 PM

Although I don't like the actual commmentary on bbc would agree 100% with that. RTE are putting nothing into the games whatsoever and its nearly as if they're trying to put people off watching. For the first time I've actually started turning matches off at half time. I see Brolly is at it in the paper about the Colm Cavanagh saying he took a world class dive and some insult on the Cavanagh family. Still not sure what he's on about - obviously has it in for him since the McKenna Cup final and is out to damage his name no matter what.

Ah now I think the Cavanagh family dig is more the trait which began with the older brother. Is it not true that the Cavanagh's like to hit the deck easily?? Come on lads take the red hand glasses off!!!

Quote from: screenexile on June 16, 2012, 01:24:13 PM
Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on June 16, 2012, 12:45:36 PM

Ah now I think the Cavanagh family dig is more the trait which began with the older brother. Is it not true that the Cavanagh's like to hit the deck easily?? Come on lads take the red hand glasses off!!!

So Colm Cavanagh took a world class dive against Armagh? I think this was in Brollys head. For a so a called clever man I think he struggles to be impartial when reviewing incidents and is judgement is severely flawed by bias.

In the League final Brolly highlighted Vaughan for diving! The lad in a previous incident had been nearly decapitated and was picked and ruffled like a rag doll while seriously injured on the ground, but this was ignored! You see this is a manly game where inflicting injury is held higher than freigning it!

Except brolly would have jumped over the wire if he felt he could get hurt in a tackle.