Antrim Football Thread

Started by theskull1, November 09, 2006, 11:48:40 PM

bannside

Just imagine no PR or coverage of our games...

I cant believe a few posters here cant see the absolute value in promoting our games especially to juvenile sector who are already looking at soccer and other sports as a viable alternative.

We took SK for granted, he was the best in the country, and I just cant think what would happen if SG closed down or ran out of energy due to an exhausting workload.

I see these things as hugely important most especially in the way we promote our culture and games to the next generation.

We lose more hearts and minds to soccer our task looks even more daunting.

Quote from: JimStynes on January 05, 2026, 12:26:27 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 05, 2026, 08:44:18 AM
Quote from: HTownlad on January 04, 2026, 11:03:13 PM
Quote from: Deerstalker on January 04, 2026, 06:34:17 PMPRO & Saffron Gael are very very minor issues in the grand scheme of things & the least of our worries.

They aren't really, a good PRO and good communications can help drive promotion of not just the games but also the teams. Which in turn helps raise the profile of games and young people could actually step forward and want to play for Antrim

Why don't the county go speak to them two lads doing the podcast? SAFFRON voice

The same two that berated the county? Aye, sound lads  ;D

Anyone who speaks bad about the county ousted then? Not be many men left to pick from lol

You are an employer... So two fella's which have berated your company for ages, would you employ them?

I know there is no money in this gig but have a bitta cop on..

Be different if they used a common sense approach to their conversation but that was sadly lacking, some of the name calling was straight outta primary school. not to mention what they said about the deaths in Donegal

But hey ho if you are in favour of that sort stuff
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

No volunteer should be criticised for stepping forward.

SK raised the bar for sure.

But even for a club now this is not a role for one person, there needs to be a team of people driving this forward.

Quote from: NAG1 on January 05, 2026, 01:02:56 PMNo volunteer should be criticised for stepping forward.

But even for a club now this is not a role for one person, there needs to be a team of people driving this forward.

100%.

At club level, you need 4 people.

At county level, you'd need a team of 10 to cover everything. Roles divided up into certain areas/teams etc.

Just need to get the people to work as a team.

UpTheSaffs17

Just on the topic of PRO and the topic of the SV lads

The two lads on the SV cover:

They cover all three divisions in the men's game, giving each club the respect it deserves and demonstrating knowledge far greater than most people in the county.

They also cover minor and, in some cases, U16 games, providing excellent coverage—something the underage scene in Antrim often lacks.

Finally, they give the LGFA its own mention, and any school, club, or county team receives special recognition if they have progressed or entered competitions outside of Antrim.

Because the lads express their own opinions on how the county is run, they often seem to be criticized.

In my opinion SK the best PRO the county has ever had, then these two lads gave the younger generation experience into media from doing podcasts with them and even some managers which also at the end of the day it helps the players see the fun and craic involved in playing and that side of the game to.

The three of them would be great i think

UpTheSaffs17

Quote from: NAG1 on January 05, 2026, 01:02:56 PMNo volunteer should be criticised for stepping forward.

100%

bannside

Maybe Ciaran Kearney has a plan to build a bespoke PR team around all the different sectors, with a designated person assigned to the task.

As some have said, its practically impossible for one person to attend a fraction of all this activity. In that regard Dan put in a bigger shift than people realised.

SK definitely had us spoiled!

SaffronSports

The Saffron Gael is a great journalistic tool but probably not that much geared toward the younger generation. Kids are never off their phones nowadays so if it's the younger ones you want, you need content that can go to places like Instagram and Tiktok and no doubt by the end of whoever takes over's term, there will be something new again.

A balance of both would be perfect. Saffron Gael is basically like an online newspaper with reports and they go back a good few years now so great for that side of things while to pull in the younger ones, you need something they can interact with.

Quote from: HTownlad on January 05, 2026, 04:47:27 PM

Why not? It's a role they have went for and that's as open to criticism as any other.
Coaches and managers take criticism including those that are volunteers.

Yes I 100% agree abuse of any nature should not be tolerated but to criticise a persons approach or performance in a role that they have wanted to do is absolutely no different  to someone paid!

Below is a post you put up, now there is a fine line between abuse and criticism

I haven't take a senior team before and I don't think I'd be capable of doing it either but the abuse and throw downs that go on especially recently towards Colin Toal and Niall Jackman was ridiculous
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Quote from: HTownlad on January 05, 2026, 09:10:24 PMAnd that's exactly what I'm saying , you can  have a view on someone's performance regardless of the role but it's wrong to abuse anyone .

I don't think there's a fine line between criticism and abuse. It's a might jump from one to the other

It depends on if the negative criticism affects the person

NorthAntrimSaff

Quote from: SaffronSports on January 05, 2026, 02:48:51 PMThe Saffron Gael is a great journalistic tool but probably not that much geared toward the younger generation. Kids are never off their phones nowadays so if it's the younger ones you want, you need content that can go to places like Instagram and Tiktok and no doubt by the end of whoever takes over's term, there will be something new again.

A balance of both would be perfect. Saffron Gael is basically like an online newspaper with reports and they go back a good few years now so great for that side of things while to pull in the younger ones, you need something they can interact with.

Its an opening probably for someone to take and develop. Curly and Paddy wont be around forever. They have done fantastic work(as have all the regular reporters, BmcT, Heron etc etc) and i hope people individually support it on a monthly basis.

Hectic

I see we have a team/squad announced for tomorrow night's game.

Looks like a mixture of what could be the core along with getting others some experience.

Which is probably about right for this competition.

bannside

I see there is a call to anyone interested in a range of various communication /PR duties to contact the county individually.

They must have been on here yesterday!

Hope the call to action works. Our games need coverage and promotion.

NorthAntrimSaff

Decent looking side will be interesting to see how they perform v a very strong looking Derry outfit

UpTheSaffs17

Quote from: NorthAntrimSaff on January 07, 2026, 09:55:06 AMDecent looking side will be interesting to see how they perform v a very strong looking Derry outfit

I think the opposite very weak Antrim side, expected them to go 80% of a starting side. Maybe holding back for Sundays game vs Donegal but expected some more exciting names and senior players to be involved. That being said interesting to see how a few of the new lads get on.