Antrim Football Thread

Started by theskull1, November 09, 2006, 11:48:40 PM

realisticsaff

Quote from: Sportacus on April 10, 2023, 01:30:46 PM
Quote from: realisticsaff on April 10, 2023, 09:10:23 AM
Quote from: Sportacus on April 09, 2023, 02:41:34 PM
He's in the job 10 months.

Ok and? Mickey Harte almost got 3 promotions in a row since 2021, Rory Gallagher has 2 promotions and an Ulster title in 3 years, Mcconvile just in the door at Wicklow promotion right away and an 80% win ratio and Davy Burke just in the door at Roscommon finished 3rd in division 1 which is incredible and went to the pre all Ireland favourites backyard yesterday and won. All outside managers and most from a different province aswell maybe just maybe Andy is not very good and it was a dreadful appointment ever thought of that?
Mickey Harte - no comparison.  He's one of the most successful managers in history.  Very few of them around.  Although I'm not a fan of his system.
Rory Gallagher - he inherited a serious player base and underage structure and has made the most of it. Puke football though.
Davy Burke - Has done amazing but Roscommon are a seriously proud county and turn up in the championship every year.  Our players have lost that tradition completely.
Oisin - could turn out to be a great manager.  Time will tell.  Got Wicklow playing attacking football and it's been good enough for division 4.  Fair play.

So who knows with McEntee, he's from solid GAA pedigree but has his work cut out with Antrim.  He's only scratched the surface.  Too early to rubbish him, but we'd all like to see changes and a good run in the TC.

Puke football and not a fan of his system 😹😹😹 I'd rather we played "winning" puke football than the naive rubbish we play currently and as the guy above says where was the intensity the huger on Saturday?This team feels and felt like they are just going through the motions

Sportacus

If we played puke football you'd be the first to complain.  But anyway each to their own. I've said my piece, I'd prefer to give McEntee more time. It'll probably end in failure, but that would be nothing new for us.  Plenty of room on the Board for other opinions.

Kidder81

Brendan Crossan reckons it was a "gutsy" display  :o

The bank balance will be bulging this week after their latest in-depth take on Saturday's game

I'm sure the subscribers will be chomping at the bit to hear
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

NatSoSaff

Quote from: realisticsaff on April 10, 2023, 12:08:02 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on April 10, 2023, 10:17:56 AM
Quote from: realisticsaff on April 10, 2023, 09:48:01 AM
Quote from: NatSoSaff on April 10, 2023, 09:12:17 AM
Quote from: realisticsaff on April 09, 2023, 07:29:25 PM
Quote from: bannside on April 09, 2023, 07:01:58 PM

Truth is we were disappointing yesterday.

Change the word yesterday to all year and you are spot on

Genuinely realisticsaff fair play for promoting Antrim club football on the podcast. I think it's great. But to admit you haven't went to any of the county games this year on one hand, then batter performances on the other... well it doesn't add up does it? Outside of the Westmeath and Longford game which was a dead rubber, performances were encouraging, particularly against 3 of the best teams in the league. But sure push your own agenda.

No dressing up Saturday. Poor display. Those two line ups are on completely different levels of quality and that's the reality. Tailteann cup will be better, and so will next years league campaign. Give things a chance and get behind it.

No Agenda.

McKenna cup poor
League poor
Saturday poor

Facts

Plenty of agenda.

It can be hard to be positive being an Antrim fan sometimes but your negativity and cynicism is next level. Reading this it's like you are revelling in Antrim getting beat with a poor performance. Do you even want to see Antrim do well? I have no idea who you are btw but your posts don't read like you do.

Btw newsflash enda mcginley didn't get us to division two and we got beat by a division four team in the tailteann cup. (That is not a criticism of him but of your argument).

Mate I couldnt give a toss if Andy Mcentee, Jim Allistar or Jamie Byrson was managing the Antrim footballers *I judge results and performances* and this season has been dreadful. Antrim were literally that meme on Saturday of the guy holding the cardboard cut out "our expectations were low but holy f**k". The tactical naivety you wouldn't see from an u12 coach holy christ.. keeping Joe Finnegan on Conor Turbitt for the full game, our D area going unprotected all game and being pure blindly ignorant towards your defence and defensive structures and trying to stop the opposition scoring is laughable and picking lads who clearly arent anywhere near the level for county football and constantly persistently with them.

How do you judge performances when you haven't seen them perform  ;D

realisticsaff

Quote from: Kidder81 on April 10, 2023, 05:52:54 PM

I would expect nothing less from Brendan Crossan lick arse get arse just ask MR I wonder what Division 1 game he's got on Wednesday night

paddyjohn

Quote from: realisticsaff on April 10, 2023, 07:28:22 PM
Quote from: Kidder81 on April 10, 2023, 05:52:54 PM

I would expect nothing less from Brendan Crossan lick arse get arse just ask MR I wonder what Division 1 game he's got on Wednesday night

What has MR2 ever done to you? Did he book or send you off when you were kicking Div1?

I'd say he's not played senior never mind div 1

None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

realisticsaff

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 10, 2023, 07:44:55 PM
I'd say he's not played senior never mind div 1

Cushendall Loughgiel yesterday
Cargin game Wednesday night
Loughgiel again on Sunday

Tumelty similar too..use 2 boys must have sore lips and must take an arse cheek each too kiss. I'm genuinely intrigued when was the last time one of the belfast boys club did a game outside Division 1 or is the egos that big you cant be seen refereeing a Division 3 game for example. How does a young referee get up the ladder to get eventually get division 1 games?

Under 15b league on Thursday night last but hey you ain't smart enough to check before talking shite!

realisticsaff

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 10, 2023, 09:31:56 PM
Under 15b league on Thursday night last but hey you ain't smart enough to check before talking shite!

How does a young aspiring referee like myself become a Division 1 referee?

Quote from: realisticsaff on April 10, 2023, 09:40:13 PM

Do the course first

realisticsaff

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 10, 2023, 09:41:16 PM

Do the course first

I've done it

Quote from: realisticsaff on April 10, 2023, 09:42:02 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 10, 2023, 09:41:16 PM

Do the course first

I've done it

I only got kids games when I started 14 years ago.. it takes time

geezer

Quote from: Sportacus on April 10, 2023, 01:30:46 PM
Quote from: realisticsaff on April 10, 2023, 09:10:23 AM
Quote from: Sportacus on April 09, 2023, 02:41:34 PM
He's in the job 10 months.

Ok and? Mickey Harte almost got 3 promotions in a row since 2021, Rory Gallagher has 2 promotions and an Ulster title in 3 years, Mcconvile just in the door at Wicklow promotion right away and an 80% win ratio and Davy Burke just in the door at Roscommon finished 3rd in division 1 which is incredible and went to the pre all Ireland favourites backyard yesterday and won. All outside managers and most from a different province aswell maybe just maybe Andy is not very good and it was a dreadful appointment ever thought of that?
Mickey Harte - no comparison.  He's one of the most successful managers in history.  Very few of them around.  Although I'm not a fan of his system.
Rory Gallagher - he inherited a serious player base and underage structure and has made the most of it. Puke football though.
Davy Burke - Has done amazing but Roscommon are a seriously proud county and turn up in the championship every year.  Our players have lost that tradition completely.
Oisin - could turn out to be a great manager.  Time will tell.  Got Wicklow playing attacking football and it's been good enough for division 4.  Fair play.

So who knows with McEntee, he's from solid GAA pedigree but has his work cut out with Antrim.  He's only scratched the surface.  Too early to rubbish him, but we'd all like to see changes and a good run in the TC.

Derry play puke football? Really? They were in the doldrums before gallagher took over. They were a county with all the potential in the world with no direction. IMO, gallagher has done a fantastic job. Their style of play suits the players they have. Tough team,  physical run game. Wouldnt by no means call it puke football given the scores they put up. They are a well oiled machine with some top class footballers that would grace any team in ireland.