Antrim Football Thread

Started by theskull1, November 09, 2006, 11:48:40 PM

Hectic

So were you guys always against the Casement vanity project?  Or is it just more recently you feel we should have said enough is enough.

Just curious as I always felt something able to hold around 10-15k would have done nicely for Antrim and would have had more atmosphere than something 2-3 times the size.

But I don't remember much of a groundswell for this.

So just wonder is there a good bit of hindsight being applied when considering what we should have done or how we have been sucking Ulster's balls.

Hectic

Quote from: tonto1888 on March 07, 2025, 03:50:33 PMAlright folks. Armagh blow in here. The missus lives on the Antrim Road, near the waterworks. I'll be moving up over the summer. Who would be the local GAA clubs ?

Are you wanting to join a club to play?

You have a choice of a few from Ardoyne out to St Endas but wouldn't be a days trek to any club in Belfast.

So maybe want to look at the levels they play at and decide what suits your own level (including commitment) the best.

Cnoc Bán

Pearses or Ardoyne would likely be the closest to there.

Might depend on whether you are going to be a player or spectator/player/sending kids there as to which club you would choose and what aspirations you would have of them.

At 44 my playing days are long gone sadly. Just as a spectator. Cheers for the replies so far

Saffron_sam20

Quote from: tonto1888 on March 07, 2025, 04:04:43 PMAt 44 my playing days are long gone sadly. Just as a spectator. Cheers for the replies so far

Looked at fixtures there and they play eachother 16th April, go to that and see who wins lol

SaffronSports

Aye if you're living there it's Ardoyne or Pearses. They both play at the Cricky.

Duine Inteacht Eile

Quote from: Hectic on March 07, 2025, 03:54:11 PMSo were you guys always against the Casement vanity project?  Or is it just more recently you feel we should have said enough is enough.

Just curious as I always felt something able to hold around 10-15k would have done nicely for Antrim and would have had more atmosphere than something 2-3 times the size.

But I don't remember much of a groundswell for this.

So just wonder is there a good bit of hindsight being applied when considering what we should have done or how we have been sucking Ulster's balls.
I have been saying the same thing from the very beginning.

Regardless, having been strung along for 15 years, anyone is allowed to decide that Ulster GAA's plan is not working and that they need an alternative.

Hectic

Yeah of course and certainly while I had my views I was not trying to push them through any channels.  And I didn't sense much by way of momentum that way either over the period.

So just think it's a bit of a reach to say we have been suffering from Stockholm Syndrome towards Ulster.

But this current debacle is a sad state of affairs on a lot of levels and much of that I would direct at Ulster GAA. 

Many Armagh folk are more than happy for it to be in Corrigan even if it means they are watching on television as opposed to attending.

But maybe the time is right to reassess the whole Casement thing and, as youse have said, focus on what is appropriate and deliverable for Antrim.

bannside

I was in the front row giving off that Antrim officials had rolled over a bit to easily a few weeks back, especially without having any  mandate to do so.

But they are standing firm now and that's to be applauded. Credit where it's due, and all that.

bannside

Ulster Council should be ashamed at the way they've gone about this, it's a PR disaster for them, and it's hard to have any sympathy the way they've played this.

Had they said from the get go it's about the money and made a solid case, you never know what might have been agreed, but anyone with half a brain could see through that.

Would love the Antrim hurling community to show some support, to date it's obvious they don't give one toss. Maybe now it will be easier as the Antrim board have finally stepped up.

Gael-in-exile

Quote from: bannside on March 07, 2025, 06:04:21 PMUlster Council should be ashamed at the way they've gone about this, it's a PR disaster for them, and it's hard to have any sympathy the way they've played this.

Had they said from the get go it's about the money and made a solid case, you never know what might have been agreed, but anyone with half a brain could see through that.

Would love the Antrim hurling community to show some support, to date it's obvious they don't give one toss. Maybe now it will be easier as the Antrim board have finally stepped up.

How is it obvious to date they don't give a toss?
The hurling manager was asked and passed it over, he has his own focus. Neil McM was asked on tv, sort of side stepped it but got attacked for not coming out in full support as if he agreed with the move.
That's 2 who didn't row in behind publicly.
Where's the rest of the 'obvious' you refer to?

bannside

Rest as in the sound of silence! Maybe they put out a statement backing footballers I must have missed!

Jees lads yis will be asking us to change our fb profiles next lolol

Quote from: bannside on March 07, 2025, 06:04:21 PMUlster Council should be ashamed at the way they've gone about this, it's a PR disaster for them, and it's hard to have any sympathy the way they've played this.

Ulster Council are a disgrace on this.

Where do you see this ending BS? My sources are telling me that the Ulster Council won't be backing down as the have Health & Safety and season ticket issue on their side. If so, Antrim have 2 games left in their season which could end in relegation if they lose to Sligo.