Realistic Hopes for Your County 2012

Started by Orangemac, January 01, 2012, 09:30:07 PM

I imagine Mayo will take the League seriously this year. Horan has the makings of a very useful side on his hands but needs to do a bit of fine-tuning and maybe come up with one or two fresh faces if he is going to make progress this summer.
I would expect the team to finish in the top half of the division; maybe contest the final but actually winning it would be one heck of a bonus.
I'll be disappointed if we fail to make it to the last eight in the championships. A semi-final appearance is probably an unrealistic goal but, given the improvement we saw last year, it's just about possible if Horan manages to keep the side improving at the same rate.

For the seniors the goal is promotion to div 2 and to integrate the u21s from last yr into the senior panel. I might be mad but I think there is a great opportunity to ambush donegal in ulster as I think mcguinness crazy demands might just backfire this year. However, I don't expect anything huge from the seniors this yr.

My big ambition is for our u21 team to retain ulster. We've a good few lads still u21 from last yr and our minor team should also contribute some players.

Lone Shark

From an Offaly point of view, I'd love to see us actually win the tactical battle in a football match for a change. Most of the games we've lost in the last few years were to a better team, but there were lots of really painful losses as well where we got beaten on the sideline. In terms of measurable achievements:

(1) Get out of division 3 - we get to play the Rossies when the Brigids lads are gone, and we've a few of the longer trips at home.
(2) Finally make a decent fist of under-21 competition. We've a lot of good young footballers in the county and there is no excuse for some of the pathetic performances we've put in at this grade.
(3) Beat Kildare. We used to dominate all rivals in the midlands, and we need to get back to that.
(4) Win a Leinster minor. Four lost finals in the last six or seven years is too many.

Third or fourth in Division 2 (can't see promotion on the cards) with 4 wins from 7. Ulster final appearance.

The usual Mayo pessimism will kick things off in January.

The poor mouth will last until the first trial match of the year, when we beat the seals away in Iniskea, after which the proclamations of this finally being the year will will be roared from every bar and keyboard of a green & red hue. The frenzy will grow quicker than a Celtic Tiger, until word of the first loss of the season, a pitch opening in Roosky, leaks out. Then the mná caointe will be heard in force and the first cry of 'Horan out' will be whinged. Informed wisdom will mention that the loss could be attributed to 3 of the aforementioned Iniskea seals being given a run in the full back line, with Shine slaughtering them, but the mná caointe will not be for turning.

The doom will continue, the clouds will grow ever darker and the mná caointe will start a campaign to bring in the great white hope, a minke whale from Achill, to play full forward. The campaign will be very vocal and determined. The mná caointe will point out the obvious strengths of the potential savior, two good fins 'which is more than C McD or McHale ever had', a bigger heart than Andy Moran, good in the wet, won't get pushed around, while ignoring any weaknesses such as the requirement of a crane to stretcher him off in every match, an apparent aversion to dry pitches and the fact that he has no feet at all.

Horan will give the Minke Whale a run in the last game of the league, when we will astonish the mná caointe by staying in the top flight for the 11th year in a row. Meanwhile the whale will score a goal, off the back of his head, while being stretchered off. The mná caointe will demand the whale starts in the championship and when the whale is only named as a sub for the Leitrim game, they will demand the resignation of Horan, the County Board and Pope Benedict.

There will be an awkward truce preparing for the Connacht Final after we beat Leitrim by 5 points with the Kilcoyne coming on and doing well.

Horan will then name a two man 'Killer Whale' full forward line for the final in the Hyde. All of Mayo will pray for rain.  Inexplicably one of the seals will also start and despite Shine scoring 10 points off him and the whale being stretchered off early again, we will win Connacht by a couple of points. Na mná caointe will be quiet as the rest of the county gets on the band-wagon, but their unhappiness won't go away. They will predict a heavy loss to Dublin in the quarters.

The whole county will go absolutely belugas, including the mná caointe, when we beat Dublin by 5 points.

Ominously Paul Galvin will be seen on Fashion TV wearing oil-skins and sharpening his harpoon. But Paul will be left eating blubber as we demolish Kerry. The fashion item of the summer will be Killer Whale hats. The Hardy Bucks will release the rap song: Killer Whale Inside.

Despte the Troika lobbing a fun tax of €100 per ticket on the AIF, Mayo will win Sam in front of a full house against........well it doesn't really matter.

The Whale will be award an MBE. He will be disowned in Mayo and the word by the end of 2012 will be, sure we are back where we started last year. There will be calls for the heads of Horan and the County Board. Na mná will be happy.

Beat the flourbags and restore the natural order in Leinster.

Sheedy

hoping for an ulster title this year. has to be our year doesnt it....... ::) ::)

FermGael

Promotion From Division 4 is a must for wee Pete.

Then Down in the first round in Brewster Park.
Sure we would not have a chance against one of the great teams of Gaelic football.
If we manage to keep the beating to less then 10 points we will have done well.
Wanted.  Forwards to take frees.
Not fussy.  Any sort of ability will be considered

neilthemac

Quote from: muppet on January 02, 2012, 02:07:21 PM
The usual Mayo pessimism will kick things off in January.

The poor mouth will last until the first trial match of the year, when we beat the seals away in Iniskea, after which the proclamations of this finally being the year will will be roared from every bar and keyboard of a green & red hue. The frenzy will grow quicker than a Celtic Tiger, until word of the first loss of the season, a pitch opening in Roosky, leaks out. Then the mná caointe will be heard in force and the first cry of 'Horan out' will be whinged. Informed wisdom will mention that the loss could be attributed to 3 of the aforementioned Iniskea seals being given a run in the full back line, with Shine slaughtering them, but the mná caointe will not be for turning.

The doom will continue, the clouds will grow ever darker and the mná caointe will start a campaign to bring in the great white hope, a minke whale from Achill, to play full forward. The campaign will be very vocal and determined. The mná caointe will point out the obvious strengths of the potential savior, two good fins 'which is more than C McD or McHale ever had', a bigger heart than Andy Moran, good in the wet, won't get pushed around, while ignoring any weaknesses such as the requirement of a crane to stretcher him off in every match, an apparent aversion to dry pitches and the fact that he has no feet at all.

Horan will give the Minke Whale a run in the last game of the league, when we will astonish the mná caointe by staying in the top flight for the 11th year in a row. Meanwhile the whale will score a goal, off the back of his head, while being stretchered off. The mná caointe will demand the whale starts in the championship and when the whale is only named as a sub for the Leitrim game, they will demand the resignation of Horan, the County Board and Pope Benedict.

There will be an awkward truce preparing for the Connacht Final after we beat Leitrim by 5 points with the Kilcoyne coming on and doing well.

Horan will then name a two man 'Killer Whale' full forward line for the final in the Hyde. All of Mayo will pray for rain.  Inexplicably one of the seals will also start and despite Shine scoring 10 points off him and the whale being stretchered off early again, we will win Connacht by a couple of points. Na mná caointe will be quiet as the rest of the county gets on the band-wagon, but their unhappiness won't go away. They will predict a heavy loss to Dublin in the quarters.

The whole county will go absolutely belugas, including the mná caointe, when we beat Dublin by 5 points.

Ominously Paul Galvin will be seen on Fashion TV wearing oil-skins and sharpening his harpoon. But Paul will be left eating blubber as we demolish Kerry. The fashion item of the summer will be Killer Whale hats. The Hardy Bucks will release the rap song: Killer Whale Inside.

Despte the Troika lobbing a fun tax of €100 per ticket on the AIF, Mayo will win Sam in front of a full house against........well it doesn't really matter.

The Whale will be award an MBE. He will be disowned in Mayo and the word by the end of 2012 will be, sure we are back where we started last year. There will be calls for the heads of Horan and the County Board. Na mná will be happy.

which Shine is that?
the other Shine is back playing

Obviously another Ulster championship is a realistic aim. Beyond that, it depends on the draw. We'll give anyone a tough game as McGuinness is not going to just abandon the defending and workrate of last season. I don't see where the extra forward firepower is going to come from though. McBrearty is still a very young kid at this level, while McFadden will have to reproduce the form of what was probably his best season. Can a player reknowned for hisinconsistency do that? If so, we can repeat last year's achievements, as most teams will not suddenly discover the art of consistent long range shooting. Can't see us going the whole way with our limitations though.

Enjoy a Championship match involving my county.

Oh sorry. It's meant to be a realistic hope.

OK. Endure a Championship match involving my county without stabbing myself in the eyes.

And I managed not to mention Banty.

Ah shite!

Quote from: FermGael on January 02, 2012, 02:37:03 PM
Promotion From Division 4 is a must for wee Pete.

Then Down in the first round in Brewster Park.
Sure we would not have a chance against one of the great teams of Gaelic football.
If we manage to keep the beating to less then 10 points we will have done well.

The first 'yerrah' of 2012.

cadence

Quote from: J70 on January 02, 2012, 04:40:20 PM
Obviously another Ulster championship is a realistic aim. Beyond that, it depends on the draw. We'll give anyone a tough game as McGuinness is not going to just abandon the defending and workrate of last season. I don't see where the extra forward firepower is going to come from though. McBrearty is still a very young kid at this level, while McFadden will have to reproduce the form of what was probably his best season. Can a player reknowned for hisinconsistency do that? If so, we can repeat last year's achievements, as most teams will not suddenly discover the art of consistent long range shooting. Can't see us going the whole way with our limitations though.

we didn't have a great draw this year and there were a few what ifs in the dub game for the boys to mull. it'll take a good side to beat us but it's all on the day, right mindset, tactics, wee bit of luck and most players playing at or near their best level. i'm just glad to have a donegal side who put it up to whoever they play.

it'll be interesting to see how the squad's fitness has developed as well. can't see them being anything other than leaner and meaner... but how lean and how mean is the question.

donegal = the most loveable rogues in gaa.   

For Roscommon I hope it will be a smooth transition for the new management. I'd like to see Newton make them a little more defensive up the middle without blunting the like of Shine and Kilbride in attack. If David O'Gara can return to centre forward himself.. Cregg and the big two inside would make for a serious attack. League promotion.... a Connacht title or a back door run to the last 8 has to be serious targets now. The panel are young but they've alot of experience. The progress at underage since 2006 must continue.

Ciarrai_thuaidh

To develop at least 3/4 new players during the League.
To make a decent showing at minor/U-21 level after last year's shambles.
To win the AI Senior.
"Better to die on your feet,than live on your knees"...