Brian McGuigan and Phillip Jordan announce their retirement

Started by muppet, November 01, 2011, 08:57:24 PM

sheamy

Both class acts. They won't be replaced. Nothing more to be said.

Best wishes to both of them. They were good ones and will be hard to replace.
Belated rebuilding should begin in earnest now in Tyrone.

Archie Mitchell

Best of luck to both men. Absolute legends in Tyrone football over the past 10+ years. Both will be very hard to replace in this current team, especially McGuigan. McGuigan in 03-05 was absolutely sublime for Tyrone, everything went through him and god only knows how Tyrone would have fared if he hadn't had the terrible injury's for a few years. Even when he came back he wasn't at his peak but you still seen how important he was to Tyrone. Thanks for the great years lads.

This could be the start of the real break up of the successful Tyrone side. McGuigan in particular was a class footballer at his peak who was very unfortunate with injury.

McGuigan was a more talented player than Phillip Jordan but it will be Jordan who will be missed more. Arguably Tyrone's best player of the last decade if you consider consistently playing near the top of his game. The best player in Tyrone's half-back line, he will be hugely missed. Hard to think how Tyrone will replace him and I'd say we'll see their game suffer because of it. I mean take a team's best half-back out of it and you seriously curtail their play (McKeever, Lacey, O'Se, Canty, Cahill).

McGuigan was robbed of a All-star in '05, easily Tyrone's best player in the final. Scored a peach of a goal against Galway in the championship one year http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nJoC6cBE7U0 Wasn't the same since them dirty Dromore fcukers broke his leg. To the football purist he's a big loss, kinda player you could watch all day. Down would tell you he knew the dark arts too.  ;D  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K8cRM4UQ5eU but sometimes them things seperate winners and losers. Himself and Declan O'Sullivan were the best CHF's in Ireland since the 90's, maybe even back to Blaney. McDonald would get an honourable mention too.

There'a nothing that can be added about Brian that has not already been said before.

He was the proverbial conductor of the orchestra, pulling the strings all over the pitch and seemed to have eyes in the back of his head. Without Mc Guigan on board we'd not have had as many great days such was his infleunce.

In spite of horrible setbacks with njury, he came back and defied all advice. He was a joy to behold and for one who has witnessed him from his formative years, I can safely say that we'll never see the likes of hm again. A true legend of the game. Tyrone's loss will hopefully be Ardboe's gain.

As for Philip Jordan, definitely one of the greatesst half backs of his generation. There have been many great half backs as past 10-15 years - Jordan was right up near the top alongside Tomas and co.

When the chips were down, Jordan still fought to the end.

Best of luck in their retirements and hopefully both will have long careers with their clubs.

Important to remember how lucky we are to have had this one group of players in Tyrone. Even more important to remember how lucky we are that we are able to wish all the best to McGuigan in 2011 considering the injuries and setbacks that he has had.

SBH1983

Quote from: sheamy on November 01, 2011, 09:47:10 PM
Both class acts. They won't be replaced. Nothing more to be said.

Tyrone reverting to the 13-a-side version of the game then?

Fecking legends the both of them!

leaveherinsir

That Phillip Jordan is never done retiring!!  ;)
McGuigan was some player, as a Derryman was hard to take all Tyrone's success in the noughties, but Mcguigan would be the one player in particular who you would have admired from those Tyrone teams.

Two giants in Tyrone football. Brian and Philip gave everything to the Tyrone cause and brought our county a lot of joy over the years, with minor, u21 and senior titles. They owe us nothing more, I just hope the next generation can do it too.

eriugaMS

Jordan cannot ever be a great after his stunt in 2003.

Feigning injury and hurt to get D Marsden sent off will only ever send out the message he was a cheat and perjursit (By action) and an insult of all that is good in our sport.  Yes it may have won him an AI medal but to do so by such mal-practice of all that is good in Gaa was and is a heresy to all proper supporters of the game.

He may be remembered for a few all Ireland medals but in the minds of many he will be remembered for being a cheat and as yellow as a duck's foot

Orangemac

McGuigan at the height of his powers in 2003-2005 was a major part of Tyrones success. Remember him skipping round McGeeney in 2003 when he had been dying from flu the night before.

As someone has said he was robbed of an All Star in 2005 as Canavan got one through sentiment. If Armagh had McGuigan during this period we would definitely have won another AI.

The soldiers from the 97/98 minor teams are one by one leaving the battlefield. They will not be easily replaced.

Both these guys owe Tyrone nothing & by stepping a side they should give youth a chance. All these retirements are going to be hard to replace but with Mickey Harte still around anything is possble.