All-Ireland Senior Football final - Kerry v Dublin 18/09/2011

Started by Dinny Breen, August 22, 2011, 06:06:06 PM

Quote from: Take Your Points on September 21, 2011, 10:29:16 PM
Good article by D O'Se in Irish Times in which he blames the experienced players on losing the lead and the game before blaming O'Connor for poor work on the sideline.  he was almost at the stage of telephoning a selector to get Donaghy back to midfield.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2011/0921/1224304482647.html

Good article. I would agree with a lot but wouldn't agree Marc O'Se bossed Brogan. Brogan got a few scores when it counted. 100% on Eoin Brosnan and Donaghy.

Not much has been made of Kerry retracting everyone bar Donaghy behind the 45 in the second half for reasonably long periods either. Didn't quite get that.

Darren O'Sullivan is, to my mind, a great guy for an impact sub. He's probably the paciest player in the game and would go at people with tired legs. In my mind that's a good place for him and McMenamim, while possibly deserving to start, is a perfect man for an impact sub and it's been a masterstroke by Gilroy to hold a man so direct until the opposition is tired.

Good article all right, he does criticise a few players but obviously the o se are off limits, i think that if your compromised you shouldnt write articles because you wont be honest though. He didnt sit on the fence totally though in fairness and i give him kudos for that.

It reminded me to a lesser extent of listening to newstalk tonight and alan kennedy talking about liverpool and he wouldnt name names and he wouldnt criticse any individual and he basically stuck up for kenny and carragher etc... totally biased becuase he does work for pool and is friends with kenny, i feel newstalk shouldnt waste there money for such an unobjectionable view.

bcarrier

Quote from: INDIANA on September 21, 2011, 12:07:00 AM
Quote from: Ciarrai_thuaidh on September 20, 2011, 10:41:05 PM
Still coming to terms with the weekend events....had a great night Sunday in Dublin to be fair and didn't watch the Sunday game or anything. Watched the game then last night...Good God talk about depression after it...had the game wrapped up really...horrible viewing.
could write an essay on the game but basically we handed the Dubs the initiative. Fair play to Cluxton for kicking that free without even a hint of nerves (he didn't take too long over it either) and to McMenamin for having huge impact again on the game...hard to begrudge the Dubs a win, having played up there I'd have to say there's a large proportion of the GAA community who are A1 up there....still sickening for us though.
I could go on about the ref and individual errors we made etc...but wouldn't be much point at this stage really. I will say that Brennan should certainly have got red for his filthy tackle on Declan...More benefit in focusing on 2012 and beyond for us though, hopefully apart from Brosnan and maybe Tom Sullivan we don't lose many..Kerry bench was very young on Sunday and most of them need to see game time from the start of next years league.
No more so then Donaghy who tried to get  Brennan sent off in the last minute

I think Brennan did a good job at trying to get himself sent off. If I was A Dub  I would have been furious with him. Suceeded in getting the ball hopped when Dubs had advantage ( and could have been worse) . I remember he got plenty of grief on here when sent off against Kildare in 09 . Slapped one of Meath boys in game before that year and got way with it too . He doesnt need to do it and isnt helping his team ...his game would be better if he cut it out.

Quote from: bcarrier on September 22, 2011, 07:22:34 AM
Quote from: INDIANA on September 21, 2011, 12:07:00 AM
Quote from: Ciarrai_thuaidh on September 20, 2011, 10:41:05 PM
Still coming to terms with the weekend events....had a great night Sunday in Dublin to be fair and didn't watch the Sunday game or anything. Watched the game then last night...Good God talk about depression after it...had the game wrapped up really...horrible viewing.
could write an essay on the game but basically we handed the Dubs the initiative. Fair play to Cluxton for kicking that free without even a hint of nerves (he didn't take too long over it either) and to McMenamin for having huge impact again on the game...hard to begrudge the Dubs a win, having played up there I'd have to say there's a large proportion of the GAA community who are A1 up there....still sickening for us though.
I could go on about the ref and individual errors we made etc...but wouldn't be much point at this stage really. I will say that Brennan should certainly have got red for his filthy tackle on Declan...More benefit in focusing on 2012 and beyond for us though, hopefully apart from Brosnan and maybe Tom Sullivan we don't lose many..Kerry bench was very young on Sunday and most of them need to see game time from the start of next years league.
No more so then Donaghy who tried to get  Brennan sent off in the last minute

I think Brennan did a good job at trying to get himself sent off. If I was A Dub  I would have been furious with him. Suceeded in getting the ball hopped when Dubs had advantage ( and could have been worse) . I remember he got plenty of grief on here when sent off against Kildare in 09 . Slapped one of Meath boys in game before that year and got way with it too . He doesnt need to do it and isnt helping his team ...his game would be better if he cut it out.

If they lost he would have had to shoulder alot of the blame anyhow. Whatever about Donaghy's antics Brennan was lucky to stay on the field after the hit on Sullivan. Apart from that his tackling was reckless and clumsy.

Quote from: hardstation on September 21, 2011, 02:02:50 PM
It's a strange rule that. If you are the sufficient distance away, you should be allowed to do the buckin' riverdance if you want. I mean, if you are 30 yards away you are allowed to jump and block the ball.

http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=19266.msg961423#msg961423

drici

Quote1 mins 35 secs of injury time was used up by Dublin's freetaker, and he added only 15 secs the other way.

Last Active: August 13, 2011, 09:53:10 AM

A belated well done to Dublin, delighted for the lads who've been through the mill with them, what's rare is wonderful.

It was a very good final, great end to the inter county year and there's no better way to win a match than with a last minute point, fair play to Cluxton for nailing it. Thought the tactical battle was fascinating (well the bits u could make out on the telly anyway). Kerry taking Donaghy out in the first half and the Dubs putting Fitzsimons on Cooper. One of Kerry's main regrets will be not getting ball into Cooper in the first half, to go half an hour from your 1st point to your 2nd is unheard of in the Kingdom. A tactic that did work well for Kerry was the passing over and back on the 65 until a man was free inside on the 45 and was hit with accurate footpassing.

Kerry should have seen it out though and their experience and traditional coolness seemed to desert them in the last 10 mins. Dublin got the luck that has gone against them manys the time before. It was woeful defending for the goal but they managed to pull it together after that.

The refereeing was quite poor as well, McQuillan is one of the better ones out there but he got loads of decisions wrong. Least he wasn't as picky as Hughes in the minor. Not adding a minute on for Cluxton's wander up is unforgivable. I know he didn't want to be seen as the ref who played for a draw but fair is fair no matter what the perception.

It was some kick to win it too, especially after he missed one in a similar position in the first half. McMenamin though was again the game changer, couldn't happen to a nicer fella, dedicated to his football. Was in the vicinity of Merrion Sq on Mon and wandered along to the reception. As with these things it was a load of standing and waiting around till the team came out. McMenamin though stole the show with his, ahem, tune.  :D

Time is rarely added on for stoppages within the added time at the end of a match.  Of course it should be, but the practice is the same for everyone.  Dublin were the wrong side of that in 2006 against Mayo, the right side of it on Sunday. 

ok, the grace period is over. I think it is generally accepted that we were robbed.

Discuss...

No !
Ye got caught out effin about with the ball , not once but TWICE. Very unKerrylike.
Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.

Michael Schmeichal

Quote from: Mike Sheehy on October 01, 2011, 09:19:45 AM
ok, the grace period is over. I think it is generally accepted that we were robbed.

Discuss...

Its also generally accepted that we have Sam and thats all that matters!

Quote from: Mike Sheehy on October 01, 2011, 09:19:45 AM

Discuss...

Despite it not being in your DNA there was far too much cynicism in your play. Discuss...

southsidejohnny

How come Collins the Connacht final referee turned over a free he gave Mayo two minutes into the second half. He felt the free taker O Connor was time wasting. Mayo were four points down there was 33 minutes left and a gale was blowing. TV 3 timed the next free, awarded to Roscommon. They took longer but no throw up.
Now either there is a rule that applies to every team as regards the length that can be taken for a free kick or Collins had it in for mayo. If the criteria applying to O Connor of Mayo by Collins then Cluxton should have had that last ball thrown up. By the way I didn't think Cluxton was time wasting but neither was O Connor.

Let's see, Kerry had the better of the first 10 minutes, and roughly 20 minutes in the middle of the second half.  Dublin were much the better team in the rest of the game.  On balance, deserved win for Dublin.

3 wins and a draw in the last 4 against Kerry tells its own tale.