Tyrone - Is this the end?

Started by Orangemac, August 07, 2011, 10:55:21 PM

To whom it may concern

It is not the end but rather, it has to be a fresh beginning. The bar has been raised since as recent as 2008 and truth be told, we have fallen short in 2009 against Cork and in 2010 and 2011 against Dublin. Kildare 2009 was the moment when the writing was on the wall. We see now with Dublin, Donegal, Cork and Kildare the level of physicality, tactics, systems, gameplans, fitness, strength and conditioning required. Are we forerunners in any of these fields any more? Probably/definitely not.

What do we need to do? I certainly think some serious thought needs to be given to the fitness/conditioning aspect. Does it need freshening up? All the best coaches/physical trainers are Tyrone men and they are serving other counties. It would be difficult to impose Dublin's/Donegal's physical training regime on established players/veterans, but certainly the younger players now know what level of devotion is required. Are Kyle Coney, Niall McKenna and Peter Harte better players than Mark McHugh? Yes. Are they in a position where they can go straight in and survive in Croke Park in an All Ireland Quarter Final like Mark McHugh? If not, then why not?

In terms of the changing of the guard, there will be some changes and probably this is needed. Gormley and Jordan need to remain. Gormley most likely will but the worry is that Jordan won't. Both carried the fight to Dublin throughout. I thought if anything, Jordan looked too fired up for it at the start of the game. Jordan should be offered the captaincy and told to report back in April next year. Gormley looked revitalised this year and back to his 2007 form. We should now look at developing one or two specialist man markers in an attempt to rid Gormley of the burden of having to plug holes and mark dangermen, a role which is probably not his forte anymore. We have a nucleus of defenders like PJ Quinn, McCaul, McCarron, Carlin and Swift. Each of these need to be tried and hopefully we can establish two corner backs. Carlin proved in the second half that he merited more game time. His only weakness is his tendency to carry the ball into the tackle.

Cassiy and McKenna now need to be given their head at midfield, along with Colm Cavanagh. Hub was shown up to lack the mobility to cover ground. Bastick and MD MacCauley are manufactured footballers but that is the way the game has now gone. Sean's best football is now to be played in the forward line. With the tactic of subtlely fouling a dangerman, teams can simply foul him around centre field and then rotate the fouler.

the forward line requires the most work. Mattie Donnelly, Coney and Ronan O'Neill need to be given their head now. Mark Donnelly has been a bonus and a bright spark. Peter Harte will only continue to develop. Tyrone are still potentially a top 8 side with some tweaking and development but the big challeneg is to make that next step again

twenty one yard free

think its time for change on sideline,no harm to mickey he's been a great servant to the o'neill county but he s set in his ways
bringing on mc ginley was enough for me i was just waiting on him bringing on davy as well
its a young mans game with plenty on the bench mckenna,coney,mcnabb to name but a few
Is it time for someone outside the county?

randomtask

Quote from: twenty one yard free on August 09, 2011, 12:43:41 PM
think its time for change on sideline,no harm to mickey he's been a great servant to the o'neill county but he s set in his ways
bringing on mc ginley was enough for me i was just waiting on him bringing on davy as well
its a young mans game with plenty on the bench mckenna,coney,mcnabb to name but a few

No

Paddy O Rourke

Mickey has stated that he is staying on. He deserves the chance now to rebuild. A number of the older players will retire now and Mickey will have to start using the new younger players on a regular basis. There is no better man inside or indeed outside the county to bring in a new and sucessfull team. I would love to see him commit for 4-5 years.

I thought McGinley was class when he came in.

Íseal agus crua isteach a

I'm going to make a bold statement. Tyrone could very well win next years all-Ireland. Yes, they might get beat but it wouldn't be by the same manner of defeat as happened in the Dublin game. You have to remember that Dublin themselves suffered heavy defeats to Kerry and Tyrone in the recent past, yet didn't fade away and die. They came back regrouped reorganized and are now only seventy minutes from contesting an all-Ireland. Fair play to them they have showed a lot of character.

IF Tyrone want to give themselves every chance posable there is no time like the present. The first approach would be to call a special meeting with all the players on the panel and the County board. A structured plan should be drawn up and put in place for the new season. What I would like to see is the work load at the top being divided out more. Older players on the panel have a huge roll still to play and could be assigned to go scouting through the various divisions to look for "hidden" talent. Every club should be emailed to see for example if they want to suggest some of their own members to go to trials. Something like the underdogs. So no one can say they weren't given a chance.

The league this year should be taken very seriously. Its imperative Tyrone get back into division one. To win division two with several new players would establish a renewed confidance and would be a great plat form to start the championship campaign. A lot of Counties look upon Tyrone with envy. To win five minor all-Irelands in eleven years in todays game shows great commitment. However the work must commence right now at senior level. Roll the sleves up and get the show on the road, it could be a tough hard slog but the reward is more than worth it.

Orangemac

Quote from: Íseal agus crua isteach a on August 09, 2011, 05:59:43 PM
I'm going to make a bold statement. Tyrone could very well win next years all-Ireland. Yes, they might get beat but it wouldn't be by the same manner of defeat as happened in the Dublin game. You have to remember that Dublin themselves suffered heavy defeats to Kerry and Tyrone in the recent past, yet didn't fade away and die. They came back regrouped reorganized and are now only seventy minutes from contesting an all-Ireland.

A lot of Counties look upon Tyrone with envy. To win five minor all-Irelands in eleven years in todays game shows great commitment.
On paper minor success promises senior glory down the line. There is a lot of hope in Armagh for the minors from the last 3 years.
However this is no guarantee of success Galway, Down and Laois have had successful underage teams without bearing the expected fruit. Kerry haven't won a minor AI since 1994 and it hasn't done them any harm.

U21 although an afterthought to the GAA authorities the way it is squeezed into the calender, should be a better gauge and Tyrone haven't really delivered at U21 in the last 3 years or so.

Frank Casey

Very interesting article by Darragh O Se in today's Irish Times. He sees life in the old dogs yet!

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2011/0810/1224302182064.html
KERRY 3:7

I'd be wary of throwing MH out.
For all the conveyor belt of talent that the red arses had from the 80's onwards in underage they couldnt put the pieces together when it came to senior level until MH arrived.
The very good 'Ball' (Paddy was it - dont think it was Sean) was expected to bring them to AI glory, but he just coudlnt get that last 10%.
Harte has.
MH needs to change himself up a gear or two also. He and his tactics etc need to evolve a wee bit if he is to remain a success.
I think he can do that.
Then again I am a huge MH fan.

Quote from: Orangemac on August 07, 2011, 10:55:21 PM
Tyrone - Is this the end?

It's not the end, it's not even the beginning of the end, but it is perhaps, the end of the beginning.

Quote from: lynchbhoy on August 10, 2011, 02:03:27 PM
I'd be wary of throwing MH out.
For all the conveyor belt of talent that the red arses had from the 80's onwards in underage they couldnt put the pieces together when it came to senior level until MH arrived.
The very good 'Ball' (Paddy was it - dont think it was Sean) was expected to bring them to AI glory, but he just coudlnt get that last 10%.
Harte has.
MH needs to change himself up a gear or two also. He and his tactics etc need to evolve a wee bit if he is to remain a success.
I think he can do that.
Then again I am a huge MH fan.

Danny.  Spot on with what you are saying.

Mickey Harte should stay as long as he fecking well pleases, he is a tremendous Manager, the best in the Country who just happens to have had a game as bad as big Joe did in pulling Geezer off in the AISF.
Even the great one's have a bad day at the office but I cant believe people think it might be time for him to go. Tyrone have tremendous talent coming through the ranks and they will be back for another crack at Sam before to long.