Six Nations 2012

Started by Karl Kennedy, July 09, 2011, 09:14:21 PM

I thought Wales deserved it, played the better rugby and while the penalty at the end was harsh, it was stupid from Ferris. Davies played his last 6 nations game this year too.

While I hold back on calling for Kidney to step down, again we were tactically out-played by the Welsh, Sexton is one of the best attacking 10s in Europe yet our game plan was to put up Garryowen after Garyowen a plan tailored made for O'Gara. Ireland have gone stale and something has to change.

Quote from: thewobbler on February 05, 2012, 05:03:23 PM
I think Wales will comfortably land a grand slam now, and getting that close to beating them is something to be proud of, not embarrassed about. Some of the nonsense Hook is spouting there is a disgrace.

Only negative comment I'd make is that the halfbacks shouldn't have been swapped on 77 mins in a one point game. Why anyone would want cold decision makers in that scenario is beyond me.

Proud of being beaten???  ::)
I thought the whole "glorious failure" mindset within Irish Rugby had disappeared.
Ridiculous comment.
Being beaten by an understength Wales outfit is nothing to ever be "proud of".

whitegoodman

Quote from: thewobbler on February 05, 2012, 05:03:23 PM
I think Wales will comfortably land a grand slam now, and getting that close to beating them is something to be proud of, not embarrassed about. Some of the nonsense Hook is spouting there is a disgrace.

Only negative comment I'd make is that the halfbacks shouldn't have been swapped on 77 mins in a one point game. Why anyone would want cold decision makers in that scenario is beyond me.

That performance was nothing to be proud of.  No change from 6 mths ago, no gameplan, midfield clueless and rudderless, Ryan not starting even more mystifying.

The backrow just isnt working, 3 world class players but the balance isnt there, O Brien will never be the ball winner that is needed at 7 at international level.

Second time in 6 mths Gatland has made a wee boy out of Kidney.......Says alot.

Ballyhaise, there is a difference between glorious failure and realistic expectations.

Every single back in the Welsh team is better than his Irish counterpart. Not because of Irish selection policies, but because they are better than anything Ireland has to offer.

The fact that we can compete despite this deficiency is amazing.

There's some shite being talked about the back row balance too. Once the world class talents of Warburton were removed, Irelan had more than parity in every aspect of back row play. Playing a 'specialist' 7 wouldn't have changed this; unless he's world class then Warburton will have for breakfast. I see Hook as anointed O Mahoney as the chosen one. I'll not hold my breath.

f**k this "doing well to get close" shite. The Heineken Cup has proven we are one of the top rugby nations in Europe, FFS do people think we are the Scots or Italy. The talent is currently there in that squad, the main difference is that Leinster and especially Munster play a game plan to suit their players and to negate the strengths of the opposition.

Ireland just f**k the 15 most noteworthy players they can find and think by teaching them a few lineout throws and one or two back moves and throwing them the same coloured jersey means their a team.

There was no gameplan or sense with the way Ireland played today. The only successful tactic we had was to kick it high and send Kearney chasing. f**king clueless.

Quote from: thewobbler on February 05, 2012, 05:20:39 PM
Ballyhaise, there is a difference between glorious failure and realistic expectations.

Every single back in the Welsh team is better than his Irish counterpart. Not because of Irish selection policies, but because they are better than anything Ireland has to offer.

There's some shite being talked about the back row balance too. Once the world class talents of Warburton were removed, Irelan had more than parity in every aspect of back row play. Playing a 'specialist' 7 wouldn't have changed this; unless he's world class then Warburton will have for breakfast. I see Hook as anointed O Mahoney as the chosen one. I'll not hold my breath.

There is no doubt about it that you are correct,that their are serious deficiencies within the Irish backline,however the ease with which and understrength Wales team moved down the field with 4 minutes left,was an absolutely pathetic fare from Ireland.
I just don't believe any pride can be taken from the failure to close out a game which was in their grasp with such little time left.

In an unrelated point, whom are the strength and conditioning staff for Ireland?
The difference in power and strength between the two sides was as noticeable as i've seen in a world- class rugby match.

Quote from: thewobbler on February 05, 2012, 05:20:39 PM

You're on the WU aren't you?

Rather have Kearny than Halfpenny. Rather have Bowe than Cuthbert. And in priestland v sexton, I'd pick the lad who could kick.

whitegoodman

Wobbler have a read at what u are saying, Wales are not the All Blacks FFS!!!

I dont see Halfpenny being better than Kearney, I dont see Culbert being better than Bowe, Priestland like Sexton blows hot and cold. Phillips on the front foot is great but can be got at.

We have 3 provinces in quarters of the Heinekin Cup, Wales have one and are lucky to have that one.

Putting Wales up on a pedestal is nonsense imo, dont think they will win the championship never mind comfortably.

WGM you should stop looking around the teams and look at them instead. The IRFU's desire to change the employment rules for foreign players tells you all you need to know about how many gaps the current provincial set up has created for intl rugby.

Player for player, only NZ have a better team than Wales in international rugby.

I actually find some of the comments below quite disturbing. They have so loudly respect for Wales it is shocking, almost English soccer style in its blinkeredness.

Tell me people, why is we can expect O Brien and Ferris to break lines everytime, but we find it a mortal sin that Wales' just as big, but more agile backs can do the same to us?

Wobbler you must be on the wind-up, the Welsh tight five were destroyed by Ireland today. Wales player for player are not better than Ireland they are though much better coached and that was evident today. Scrum-half and centres are where Wales were at their strongest, they targeted D'Arcy all day with their big runners and it got them over the gain line nearly every time and resulted in the second try.

D'Arcy was shocking today and gave McFadden no chance outside him.

Didn't see any of the match. Didn't want to. Just glad to hear Wales won.

To quote Nelson Muntz, "haw haw".

Ireland's record against tier 1 countries since the 2009 Grand Slam:

Played 25, Won 10, Drew 1, Lost 14. Take out games against Italy and Ireland have won 7 and lost 14.

We will be well beaten next week and in Twickenham as well. 

Quote from: Dinny Breen on February 05, 2012, 06:02:57 PM
Wobbler you must be on the wind-up, the Welsh tight five were destroyed by Ireland today. Wales player for player are not better than Ireland they are though much better coached and that was evident today. Scrum-half and centres are where Wales were at their strongest, they targeted D'Arcy all day with their big runners and it got them over the gain line nearly every time and resulted in the second try.

D'Arcy was shocking today and gave McFadden no chance outside him.

Was it Darcy that got completely flattened in the lead upto Davies try  by either North/Robert????
Jesus, you might have well have put any of the 8 stone Rugby WAGS in there,and they would have made a better attempt at a stop.

Quote from: Dinny Breen on February 05, 2012, 06:23:30 PM
Ireland's record against tier 1 countries since the 2009 Grand Slam:

Played 25, Won 10, Drew 1, Lost 14. Take out games against Italy and Ireland have won 7 and lost 14.

We will be well beaten next week and in Twickenham as well.

We'll definitely lose next week anyway (probably badly too) but England were rubbish yesterday and only won due to Scottish incompetence. That game is still very winnable even in our current state.

It was McFadden that got bounced but it D'Arcy that missed the tackle and McFadden had to bite in.

England in Twickenham can be quite formidable, it will be a dead rubber game for us although Kidney's job could be on the line.