Managers Still Playing

Started by Any craic, June 16, 2011, 10:46:31 AM

Any craic

How many county managers or members of managements teams are still playing club football or hurling? I came across one last night playing in the Antrim League. He features on the highlights videos from the game at the link here. Mind you he's a bit unusual in that he is from Fermanagh, he plays in Belfast and manages in Donegal... and he's not long married. She must never see him. http://www.jeromequinnmedia.com/

onefaircounty

Kildare assistant Aidan O'Rourke was playing for Dromintee last year.

Did John Toal play and manage Keady at same time?

davegaasportsdesk

Quote from: onefaircounty on June 16, 2011, 12:41:04 PM

yes i think he did, I know there are a few clubs with player/managers. Some of the very small clubs, the manager is the team captain, pro, and chairman of the club.
Join Talking GAA on Twitter: http://twitter.com/TheWorldsTalkin

Glenn Ryan is still playing with Round Towers.

Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on June 16, 2011, 04:29:12 PM

Showing up the young lads as well...

orchard 8195

think aidan o'rourke is still playing this yr.
Does glenn ryan play for round towers in dublin? He must be a right age now. Was an animal of a player though.

Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 16, 2011, 05:24:49 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on June 16, 2011, 04:29:12 PM

Showing up the young lads as well...

He cut me in two with a shoulder in a match over a year ago the hoor!

Quote from: orchard 8195 on June 16, 2011, 06:01:15 PM

Does glenn ryan play for round towers in dublin? He must be a right age now. Was an animal of a player though.

Wash your mouth out.  He is only 38.

I'd say there are loads of player managers within clubs up and down the country, Our club for three seasons had player managers looking after their senior teams.

Christ I was looking after our junior teams while playing for years (only way i could get on ;D ;D ;D , not true of course ;))

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on June 16, 2011, 10:22:19 PM
I'd say there are loads of player managers within clubs up and down the country, Our club for three seasons had player managers looking after their senior teams.

Christ I was looking after our junior teams while playing for years (only way i could get on ;D ;D ;D , not true of course ;))

MR, was there not something on here recently that PJ OHare lined out for your 3rd's ?

He did Hoof, i wasn't there but in fact it was our seconds :D :D

we run three teams and I believe we should really only have 2, we have the numbers but these weeks leading up to the summer 'our wee Johnny' has exams and can't make it. Has plenty of time to be on facebook updating their status but ;)

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on June 16, 2011, 10:50:23 PM
He did Hoof, i wasn't there but in fact it was our seconds :D :D

we run three teams and I believe we should really only have 2, we have the numbers but these weeks leading up to the summer 'our wee Johnny' has exams and can't make it. Has plenty of time to be on facebook updating their status but ;)

If St.Galls can't have 3 teams then no-one can!

orchard 8195

Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 16, 2011, 10:05:48 PM

Wash your mouth out.  He is only 38.
Sorry Dinny my bad. I can remember Glenn playing in an awful Gaelic Football inspired soap on RTE a cupla yrs back. One of the episodes had him playing on the oppositions team in a big championship game. Was he wearing ur club colours in it? can anyone remeber the name of it? PS 38 is a right age in most peoples eyes, not the banty's though ;-)

Aidan O'Rourke definitely playing this year.