Gaa managers refuse to speak to Rte over Brian Carthy treatment

Started by Minder, June 07, 2011, 11:56:17 AM

Fair play to them RTE think they are bigger than the GAA at times so it's good that the men who line out their inter county teams decide to make a stand at something they feel is unfair to what most might believe is a friend and someone they have a strong working relationship.

borderfox

The next logical step would be for more managers to reject interviews if Spillane and Brolly were criticising their teams on air.
Nostalgia isn't what it used to be.

I'd like to see the reaction of these managers if Ryle Nugent came out and told them who they should be picking at corner-forward.

Orangemac

The whole situation is a bit crazy to say the least.

On one hand it is Mickey Harte's right to refuse interviews out of loyalty to his friend, this is not the Premier league, he has no obligation to do interviews.

On the other hand it is RTE's business who it employs and in what role. If a different commentator says something about Tyrone will Mickey Harte start another campaign.

What is surprising is the amount of power Harte has amongst other managers. Did he ring around to start this campaign or are they all friends of Carthy?

I agree most interviews are boring and cliche ridden but you still like to hear managers opinions of games.

catchandkick

Quote from: sammymaguire on June 07, 2011, 10:06:30 PM
Fair play to them RTE think they are bigger than the GAA at times so it's good that the men who line out their inter county teams decide to make a stand at something they feel is unfair to what most might believe is a friend and someone they have a strong working relationship.

It's none of Mickey Harte's business! End of argument!

Quote from: lynchbhoy on June 07, 2011, 04:47:42 PM
Quote from: muppet on June 07, 2011, 04:11:55 PM
What happens if RTE now pull the guy who replaced MOM and his friends in the Gaa do the same as Harte & co?
What happens if Jack O'Connor and Tomás O'Flatharta insist that MOM continues on for another few decades and no one replaces him?
What happens if James Horan and Kevin Walsh want Ray Silke made Director General of RTE?
unknown 'if's' muppet. Unlikely ones also.
unlike the 'known' scenario we currently have.
You can only deal with reality!

But according to the great prophet Rumsfeldt: 'there are also known unknowns'.

RTE is owned by the State and funded by the taxpayer. Its management is answerable to them and not an ad hoc pressure group looking after their mate. If this were 100,000 tv license holders protesting that might be different.

Quote from: muppet on June 08, 2011, 01:56:23 AM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on June 07, 2011, 04:47:42 PM
Quote from: muppet on June 07, 2011, 04:11:55 PM
What happens if RTE now pull the guy who replaced MOM and his friends in the Gaa do the same as Harte & co?
What happens if Jack O'Connor and Tomás O'Flatharta insist that MOM continues on for another few decades and no one replaces him?
What happens if James Horan and Kevin Walsh want Ray Silke made Director General of RTE?
unknown 'if's' muppet. Unlikely ones also.
unlike the 'known' scenario we currently have.
You can only deal with reality!

RTE is owned by the State and funded by the taxpayer. Its management is answerable to them and not an ad hoc pressure group looking after their mate. If this were 100,000 tv license holders protesting that might be different.

RTE is owned by the State and funded by the taxpayer, the IMF and the EFSF.

Quote from: catchandkick on June 08, 2011, 12:32:39 AM

It's none of Mickey Harte's business! End of argument!

It's his business if he wants to make it his business, the GAA and everything that revolves around it is Mickey Harte's business and who has the right to tell him what to do on this issue if he so chooses??

Quote from: ck on June 07, 2011, 08:26:51 PM
So does that mean we will be spared the dull monotony of McGeeney, Cody and Justin McNulty and the likes? Them saying as little as possible and boring the head of anyone listening. Managers are full of their own egos if they think their wee strike will hold any weight.

ps: Mickey, away and manage Tyrone and enough of the BS
How dare you McGeeney is the most affable and articulate manager around! Not to mention almost a saint, sure look at the miracle's he's working in Kildare.

Maybe that's the problem. It's one of the reasons GAA coverage on RTÉ is so anodyne, lazy, formulaic and "I suppose we got the rub of the green on the day like, Marty". If the journalist is the friend of the manager, what are we to make of the journalism that emanates from that relationship? Can you imagine Carthy asking a hard question of anyone?

QuoteRTE is owned by the State and funded by the taxpayer

Yes and No.

RTE is funded by the advertisers and licence payers. Not the taxpayer.

I wonder could they get ryle nugent to take himself off the rugby commentary because he's brutal.

feckin hell muppet - you go try to buy somehting or ask for a mortgage with the 'unknown' money you 'might' make !!! ...... ;)

rte may be funded by taxpayer (dont they get state cash) and license payers, but if the state as per usual were doing its job as owners, they'd be cutting the inflated wages of the high earners - rem the debacle recently where ordinary staff were being shed but top earners were not obliged to take pay cuts ?

maybe there are not 100,000 people behind this (yet - dont know the full story so how could anyone really know) but rte have shown themselves to be inpet in most areas, plus the lack of screening of the best and most popular sport in Ireland in favour of other rubbish ('sports' ) shows that rte dont know what they are at.
so if they are inept in most other areas, i'd suspect that in this 'Carthy' case they have fcuked up again !!

Quote from: lynchbhoy on June 08, 2011, 10:51:46 AM

feckin hell muppet - you go try to buy somehting or ask for a mortgage with the 'unknown' money you 'might' make !!! ...... ;)

rte may be funded by taxpayer (dont they get state cash) and license payers, but if the state as per usual were doing its job as owners, they'd be cutting the inflated wages of the high earners - rem the debacle recently where ordinary staff were being shed but top earners were not obliged to take pay cuts ?

maybe there are not 100,000 people behind this (yet - dont know the full story so how could anyone really know) but rte have shown themselves to be inpet in most areas, plus the lack of screening of the best and most popular sport in Ireland in favour of other rubbish ('sports' ) shows that rte dont know what they are at.
so if they are inept in most other areas, i'd suspect that in this 'Carthy' case they have fcuked up again !!

Regardless of whether RTE have made the right or wrong decision, it is their decision to make.
GAA inter-county managers have no place trying to dictate who commentates on games. They have overstepped the mark, regardless of how nice a man Brian Carthy is, or how friendly he is with the managers (I thought we were all against cronyism these days??  ;))

And if you think 100,000 people are remotely bothered whether Brian Carthy is commentating or not, you have lost the run of yourself, along with Harte, McGeeney, Cody etc

Quote from: Tubberman on June 08, 2011, 11:03:03 AM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on June 08, 2011, 10:51:46 AM
Regardless of whether RTE have made the right or wrong decision, it is their decision to make.
GAA inter-county managers have no place trying to dictate who commentates on games. They have overstepped the mark, regardless of how nice a man Brian Carthy is, or how friendly he is with the managers (I thought we were all against cronyism these days??  ;))

And if you think 100,000 people are remotely bothered whether Brian Carthy is commentating or not, you have lost the run of yourself, along with Harte, McGeeney, Cody etc
its not cronyism if Carthy is the best man for the job and is being overlooked.

I'm not saying that rte have an anti-gaa agenda, but they are inept in most things (staff payments/relation, bringing digital program on stream, finances to top 'stars' etc), they dont cover themselves in glory generally with GAA coverage/GAA programmes etc.

not sure what you are referring to in regards the 'cronyism' aspect - but yes I am not in favour of that and never am.
If the managers feel that Carthyhas been unfairly treated or overlooked etc - well what else can he do but embark down a 'Jerome' route that will end in failure.
If this is the case (and I state I dont know the story but there are massive hints at something being wrong here) then fair play to Harte , Cody et al for doing this.
This is exactly the kind of example and route the taxpayers of Ireland should have followed in the recent couple of years when our money and country were tied up by idiot politicians from both camps to bail out their buddies and own interests - when we as a country should still be basking in rude financial health.

like the past and seemingly present gov, rte have demonstrated they are unable to properly run their own ship. I wonder are there more people out there who are thinking of not paying the license fee as protest to their ever increasing 'sihteness' !