Author Topic: RTE and SKY Live Coverage of GAA Championships 2014  (Read 111457 times)

SLIGONIAN

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3783
    • View Profile
RTE and SKY Live Coverage of GAA Championships 2014
« on: April 18, 2011, 02:24:19 PM »
Has this been announced yet and if so can someone repost it, cheers. Cant find it anywhere and i did search..
« Last Edit: May 13, 2014, 12:46:18 PM by SLIGONIAN »
"hard work will always beat talent if talent doesn't work"

RMDrive

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 829
    • View Profile
Re: RTE and TV3 Live Coverage of GAA Championships 2011
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2011, 04:29:20 PM »
Haven't seen the schedule yet but I'm looking forward to watching the championship in HD on RTE digital.

AZOffaly

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 25179
    • View Profile
Re: RTE and TV3 Live Coverage of GAA Championships 2011
« Reply #2 on: April 18, 2011, 04:32:23 PM »
I presume the answer to this is 'Yes of course, you eejit', but will RTE be available on HD on the Sky Platform?

Croí na hÉireann

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4785
  • There's Always Next Year...
    • View Profile
Re: RTE and TV3 Live Coverage of GAA Championships 2011
« Reply #3 on: April 18, 2011, 05:03:32 PM »
I presume the answer to this is 'Yes of course, you eejit', but will RTE be available on HD on the Sky Platform?

I may be wrong about this but I don't think so. RTE2 is currently broadcast in HD on Saorview but none of the footage/programmes are currently shot in HD, it is all being upscaled and then broadcasted. The Championship will be shot in HD though so like RMD, can't wait.
Westmeath - Home of the Christy Ring Cup...

AZOffaly

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 25179
    • View Profile
Re: RTE and TV3 Live Coverage of GAA Championships 2011
« Reply #4 on: April 18, 2011, 05:04:51 PM »
I presume the answer to this is 'Yes of course, you eejit', but will RTE be available on HD on the Sky Platform?

I may be wrong about this but I don't think so. RTE2 is currently broadcast in HD on Saorview but none of the footage/programmes are currently shot in HD, it is all being upscaled and then broadcasted. The Championship will be shot in HD though so like RMD, can't wait.

I don't have a fecking ariel. Everything comes in on the Sky dish. Will I be banjoed?

blanketattack

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1171
    • View Profile
Re: RTE and TV3 Live Coverage of GAA Championships 2011
« Reply #5 on: April 18, 2011, 05:25:15 PM »
All games on TV3 and RTE for the 2011 Championship are available to watch in 3D.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
Just go to the ground and watch as normal.

Croí na hÉireann

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4785
  • There's Always Next Year...
    • View Profile
Re: RTE and TV3 Live Coverage of GAA Championships 2011
« Reply #6 on: April 18, 2011, 08:47:42 PM »
I presume the answer to this is 'Yes of course, you eejit', but will RTE be available on HD on the Sky Platform?

I may be wrong about this but I don't think so. RTE2 is currently broadcast in HD on Saorview but none of the footage/programmes are currently shot in HD, it is all being upscaled and then broadcasted. The Championship will be shot in HD though so like RMD, can't wait.

I don't have a fecking ariel. Everything comes in on the Sky dish. Will I be banjoed?

tbh, I would be surprised if RTE HD is available on Sky this summer. RTE are trying to get as many as possible to switch over to the digital service and will probably only offer it domestically to encourage people initally. Link here http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056067815&page=2

You may not need a specialised ariel, if you have a decent analog reception currently with rabbit ears you shouldn't have any problem picking up the digital signal with them, all you'd need is the digibox. There's a primary transmitter near enough u there on Woodcock Hill. The only certified digiboxes so far are Walkers around €80 but the price will come down as more manufacturers are certified. You could look at getting a Freeview HD box (designed for the British service), just make sure it's an MPEG 4 tuner and has MHEG 5 (red button, teletext middleware). Even better get a HD + one so that you can record the matches to an internal drive.
Westmeath - Home of the Christy Ring Cup...

armaghniac

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14259
    • View Profile
Re: RTE and TV3 Live Coverage of GAA Championships 2011
« Reply #7 on: April 19, 2011, 01:35:55 AM »
Quote
You could look at getting a Freeview HD box (designed for the British service), just make sure it's an MPEG 4 tuner and has MHEG 5 (red button, teletext middleware).

A new TV may have a tuner built in.
If at first you don't succeed, then goto Plan B

Rossfan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 16924
  • Ballaghaderreen CO ROSCOMMON
    • View Profile
    • Roscommon County Board official website
Re: RTE and TV3 Live Coverage of GAA Championships 2011
« Reply #8 on: April 19, 2011, 10:50:57 AM »
A lot of the new TVs have the tuner built in alright.
So buy a new telly for the Summer lads and never mind having a plethora of boxes attached. ;D
Still Connacht Champions

AZOffaly

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 25179
    • View Profile
Re: RTE and TV3 Live Coverage of GAA Championships 2011
« Reply #9 on: April 19, 2011, 11:16:19 AM »
A lot of the new TVs have the tuner built in alright.
So buy a new telly for the Summer lads and never mind having a plethora of boxes attached. ;D

My new telly has that built in (or at least it says it's 'Ready for Irish Digital' and MPEG 4 or something). Do I need Cats Ears, or an old fashioned Ariel, or what?

armaghniac

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14259
    • View Profile
Re: RTE and TV3 Live Coverage of GAA Championships 2011
« Reply #10 on: April 19, 2011, 11:21:36 AM »

Quote
My new telly has that built in (or at least it says it's 'Ready for Irish Digital' and MPEG 4 or something). Do I need Cats Ears, or an old fashioned Ariel, or what?

What do people use to pick up TV in your location? You need that.
If at first you don't succeed, then goto Plan B

AZOffaly

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 25179
    • View Profile
Re: RTE and TV3 Live Coverage of GAA Championships 2011
« Reply #11 on: April 19, 2011, 11:30:32 AM »

Quote
My new telly has that built in (or at least it says it's 'Ready for Irish Digital' and MPEG 4 or something). Do I need Cats Ears, or an old fashioned Ariel, or what?

What do people use to pick up TV in your location? You need that.

Sky dishes. We're all rich :) Just a regular ariel so.

RMDrive

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 829
    • View Profile
Re: RTE and TV3 Live Coverage of GAA Championships 2011
« Reply #12 on: April 19, 2011, 03:37:40 PM »
A lot of the new TVs have the tuner built in alright.
So buy a new telly for the Summer lads and never mind having a plethora of boxes attached. ;D

Just remember that you won't be able to record what you are watching.

Bogball XV

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4931
    • View Profile
Re: RTE and TV3 Live Coverage of GAA Championships 2011
« Reply #13 on: April 19, 2011, 05:28:42 PM »
A lot of the new TVs have the tuner built in alright.
So buy a new telly for the Summer lads and never mind having a plethora of boxes attached. ;D

My new telly has that built in (or at least it says it's 'Ready for Irish Digital' and MPEG 4 or something). Do I need Cats Ears, or an old fashioned Ariel, or what?
I can get it by just plugging in an old ariel lead - you know the type that used to connect your video output (remember them) and your tv input before scarts (remember them) came along

Croí na hÉireann

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4785
  • There's Always Next Year...
    • View Profile
Re: RTE and TV3 Live Coverage of GAA Championships 2011
« Reply #14 on: April 19, 2011, 06:16:06 PM »
A lot of the new TVs have the tuner built in alright.
So buy a new telly for the Summer lads and never mind having a plethora of boxes attached. ;D

My new telly has that built in (or at least it says it's 'Ready for Irish Digital' and MPEG 4 or something). Do I need Cats Ears, or an old fashioned Ariel, or what?

 :D Try a clothes hanger and see how u get on with that, if you can receive the signal with that then rabbits ears will do the job.
Westmeath - Home of the Christy Ring Cup...