United Ireland

Started by mayogodhelpus@gmail.com, April 15, 2011, 04:14:33 PM

Which of this options would be acceptable to you including the least palatable you could accept.?

United Indivisable Irish Republic - Central Government.
55 (75.3%)
United Indivisable Irish Kingdom (Monarch with Ancent Irish & British Royal connections) - Central Government.
3 (4.1%)
2 State Republic (Current NI & Irish Rep) United Ireland Federation.
18 (24.7%)
2 State Kingdom (Current NI & Irish Rep) United Ireland Federation.
2 (2.7%)
4 Tradional Provinces Federation United Republic.
21 (28.8%)
4 Traditional Federation United Irish Kingdom.
4 (5.5%)
3 or 4 newly drawn up Regional Irish States Federation United Republic.
11 (15.1%)
3 or 4 newly drawn up Regional Irish States Federation United Irish Kingdom.
2 (2.7%)
Unified Indivisable Irish State within the (British) United Kingdom.
3 (4.1%)
2 State (Current NI & Irish Rep) within the (British) United Kingdom.
3 (4.1%)
Unified Indivisable Irish State within a British United Republic.
3 (4.1%)
2 State (Current NI & Irish Rep) within a British Republic.
4 (5.5%)
United Irish Republic as a State of a United States of Europe.
12 (16.4%)
Other Unifed Irish State.
12 (16.4%)

Total Members Voted: 73

Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on April 18, 2011, 10:00:18 PM
Quote from: laoislad on April 18, 2011, 09:27:01 PM
Quote from: Hardy on April 18, 2011, 09:20:50 PM
Quote from: heganboy on April 18, 2011, 08:45:44 PM
It would be kind of funny if counties/ cities/ towns/ townlands etc could vote to become part of a UI.

Great idea. Why not extend the concept? I'm going to see if our village can join Sweden. Because of our location we'd get all the good bits (a working economy, banks instead of casinoes, low inflation, more public holidays, a great health system, good design, public transport, roads) and none of the bad bits (sub-zero weather, 3 months of 24-hour darkness, loads of Swedes about the place).

Certainly rather have some of these around than Meath heifers women

They some of our Norse cousins I was on about  ;)

No  they are Ros women .. primrose and blue. ;D

Quote from: Lar Naparka on April 19, 2011, 10:17:40 AM
Quote from: Maguire01 on April 19, 2011, 07:42:53 AM
"wouldn't it be great if it could be like this all the time?"

It is indeed; it sure bates a Mayo/Monaghan game any day for honest endeavour and total commitment to the job in hand.  ;D
The latest 'cultural exchange' is shaping up nicely.
I love it when the semi-polite moolagumby is dispensed with and the cyber missiles start to fly -as they always do..
IMO, the inimitable EG is comfortably ahead  but the pack is gaining ground.
What do you think?

Word of the week - moolagumby. Excellent!

(Any details, Lar?).

Quote from: Hardy on April 19, 2011, 11:48:25 AM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on April 19, 2011, 10:17:40 AM
Quote from: Maguire01 on April 19, 2011, 07:42:53 AM
"wouldn't it be great if it could be like this all the time?"

It is indeed; it sure bates a Mayo/Monaghan game any day for honest endeavour and total commitment to the job in hand.  ;D
The latest 'cultural exchange' is shaping up nicely.
I love it when the semi-polite moolagumby is dispensed with and the cyber missiles start to fly -as they always do..
IMO, the inimitable EG is comfortably ahead  but the pack is gaining ground.
What do you think?

Word of the week - moolagumby. Excellent!

(Any details, Lar?).

Sure, Hardy, always glad to oblige...

A big wig from Washington goes on a visit to an Indian reservation.
He stands on the podium to address the residents: braves, squaws and papooses.
He starts off:
"My friends and fellow-Americans, I have come to offer you the pipe of peace."
"Moolagumby," they all shout back.
Heartened by the immediate and enthusiastic response, he warms to his task.
"The Big White Father in Washington has heard your cries for help."
"Moolagumby," is the response.
"This is a turkey shoot," says yer man to himself, "I'll lay it on with a trowel."
And so he does and every time he takes a breath, the moolagumbys fill the air.
Soon, the natives begin to get restless; they start moving forward and begin shaking their fists and start stamping the ground.
A line of mean looking bouncers has to step in to stop them rushing the podium but even they keep looking over their shoulders and shouting the same thing as they form a chain to hold back the crowd.
The guy is beginning to harbour presidential ambitions as he notes how easily he can get a crowd going. "Even Bertie Ahern can't fool a bunch of suckers like I can," he figures and he really gives it welly.
In the end, he runs out of steam and so does his audiences.
There isn't a single looking glass or an Irish government bond left in him and there isn't a hoarse, solitary moolagumby coming back in return.
He draws a deep breath and turns to the chief.
"Okay, Chief," sez he, "It's time for that walkabout you promised me so I can get outa here and jet back to Washington."
So they wander about the place with the chief leading the way and he gets to look at the poteen making gear and the diesel laundering plant and the likes. Finally, they come to the buffalo stockade.
Yer man goes to step forward but the chief put a hand on his shoulder and says:

"Watch your step or you'll slip on the moolagumby."

andoireabu

Quote from: Maguire01 on April 19, 2011, 06:08:22 PM
I'm lost on that one.
I'm going to take a punt that it means buffalo shit or bullshit as it may be intended to mean.
Private Cowboy: Don't shit me, man!
Private Joker: I wouldn't shit you. You're my favorite turd!

I was a bit dissappointed to read the whole thing myself.

I thought he meant Millingimbi, a wee community in Arnhem Land, Oz.

Over 60 per cent of us think we're republicans but only 27 per cent want SF in government

A POLL PUBLISHED in today's Sunday Independent has gauged the public's attitude to republicanism ahead of the Queen's visit to Ireland later this month which itself has angered some in the country's republican movement.

In a poll of 500 random homes nationwide, 64 per cent of people said they considered themselves republican but just 27 per cent said they would like to see the main republican party, Sinn Féin, in government in Ireland.

An overwhelming majority of people rejected the idea that the achievements of Sinn Féin and the Provisional IRA in the North were worth 3,000 lives over 30 years – 91 per cent – 9 per cent  The same number agreed with the belief that the term 'republicanism' had been misappropriated by those who use violence.

An overwhelmingly majority also rejected the actions of dissident republicans. Meanwhile, 75 per cent of people said that the most important aim of republicanism should be a 'free and equal democracy' as opposed to 25 per cent who believed it should be 'a 32 county Ireland'.

http://www.thejournal.ie/over-60-per-cent-of-us-think-were-republicans-but-only-27-per-cent-want-sf-in-government-133065-May2011/?utm_source=shortlink

bit of a contradiction in terms going on there maguire, over 60% say they "think" they are republicans yet they dont seem to have a problem with the queen visiting ireland as a head of state. republics have democratically elected presidents not queens. sinn fein want a democratic republic of ireland (32) run for the people by the people not the queen or the banks. its hard to get that message across

Quote from: lawnseed on May 08, 2011, 06:56:31 PM
bit of a contradiction in terms going on there maguire, over 60% say they "think" they are republicans yet they dont seem to have a problem with the queen visiting ireland as a head of state. republics have democratically elected presidents not queens. sinn fein want a democratic republic of ireland (32) run for the people by the people not the queen or the banks.
I suspect it is misleading of you to take the headline term ("think"), rather than the term ("consider themselves to be").

Anyhow, assuming you consider yourself to be a true Republican, would you protest if eg the King of Spain or the Queen of the Netherlands were to visit Dublin?

Quote from: lawnseed on May 08, 2011, 06:56:31 PMits hard to get that message across
I suspect they may have got the "message", but just consider its purported Republican idealism to be a pretence to justify (outdated) anti-Brit prejudice etc...

Quote from: Evil Genius on May 08, 2011, 07:07:34 PM
bit of a contradiction in terms going on there maguire, over 60% say they "think" they are republicans yet they dont seem to have a problem with the queen visiting ireland as a head of state. republics have democratically elected presidents not queens. sinn fein want a democratic republic of ireland (32) run for the people by the people not the queen or the banks.
I suspect it is misleading of you to take the headline term ("think"), rather than the term ("consider themselves to be").

Anyhow, assuming you consider yourself to be a true Republican, would you protest if eg the King of Spain or the Queen of the Netherlands were to visit Dublin?

Quote from: lawnseed on May 08, 2011, 06:56:31 PMits hard to get that message across
I suspect they may have got the "message", but just consider its purported Republican idealism to be a pretence to justify (outdated) anti-Brit prejudice etc...
firstly i wouldnt be bothered protesting when i was in london recently i visited all the monarchys establishments and soon became a great admirer of the royals and especially the queen, any person who can start a war over a rift with their cousins and therein cause the deaths of millons of people and remain in a place of authority and leadership is to be admired hats off to them theyre probably the greatest con artists of all time.
secondly sinn fein have no anti brit prejudice they strive to get the message across that this is our country and we should be running it for the benefit of the people who live here. i firmly believe that the brits are the best friends we have on this planet certainly the best we have in europe. 

bit of a contradiction in terms going on there maguire, over 60% say they "think" they are republicans yet they dont seem to have a problem with the queen visiting ireland as a head of state. republics have democratically elected presidents not queens. sinn fein want a democratic republic of ireland (32) run for the people by the people not the queen or the banks. its hard to get that message across
It's not a contradiction at all. They weren't being asked if they wanted the Queen to be their Head of State, just an opinion on their visit.

And the 'head of state' issue is only one narrow aspect of what constitutes a republic.

MW

Quote from: lawnseed on May 08, 2011, 08:16:04 PM
Quote from: Evil Genius on May 08, 2011, 07:07:34 PM

firstly i wouldnt be bothered protesting when i was in london recently i visited all the monarchys establishments and soon became a great admirer of the royals and especially the queen, any person who can start a war over a rift with their cousins and therein cause the deaths of millons of people and remain in a place of authority and leadership is to be admired hats off to them theyre probably the greatest con artists of all time.

Which war would this be now?

Quote from: Maguire01 on May 08, 2011, 05:22:57 PM

An overwhelming majority of people rejected the idea that the achievements of Sinn Féin and the Provisional IRA in the North were worth 3,000 lives over 30 years – 91 per cent – 9 per cent  The same number agreed with the belief that the term 'republicanism' had been misappropriated by those who use violence.
Yes because as we all know, all 3000 deaths were because of SF.  ::)
I wonder can we expect the indo next week to ask if the "achievements of the british government were worth 3000 deaths" or was this by any chance just the usual SF bashing nonsense that we have come to expect from that rag?

Fishbat

Quote from: Rossfan on April 19, 2011, 10:57:45 AM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on April 18, 2011, 10:00:18 PM
Quote from: laoislad on April 18, 2011, 09:27:01 PM
Quote from: Hardy on April 18, 2011, 09:20:50 PM
Quote from: heganboy on April 18, 2011, 08:45:44 PM
It would be kind of funny if counties/ cities/ towns/ townlands etc could vote to become part of a UI.

Great idea. Why not extend the concept? I'm going to see if our village can join Sweden. Because of our location we'd get all the good bits (a working economy, banks instead of casinoes, low inflation, more public holidays, a great health system, good design, public transport, roads) and none of the bad bits (sub-zero weather, 3 months of 24-hour darkness, loads of Swedes about the place).

Certainly rather have some of these around than Meath heifers women

They some of our Norse cousins I was on about  ;)

No  they are Ros women .. primrose and blue. ;D

Thats a fine belly button blade

just reading through the comments and still see bickering is rife on this topic, of which i am guilty off too.  but
I was brought up in an Irish culture from East Tyrone.  these days we are free to express that culture.

United Ireland talk is complete fantasy,.....how can there be? when a million people aren't interested?.    Ireland and Britain are inextricably linked in culture, comedy, outlook, sports etc..., and weather....and always will be. 

Untied Ireland talk is divisive and sectarian

Ireland is free.  everyone on it is free to take their own choice.

Everyone is free to speak their language of choice. The Irish language is up to people to revive.  it is not political

Irish culture is global.

Ireland is not "occupied".  We are all a mix of Irish/British.

ye all watch Emmerdale and Damnation Street anyway.

Tom Elliott is a genius for giving us the only entertainment of an otherwise boring election