six county elections 05/05/2011

Started by rossie mad, March 23, 2011, 10:38:13 AM

Quote from: Ulick on May 07, 2011, 10:37:06 PM
I expect former paramilitary member Tom Elliott wasn't to happy seeing his old adversary Seán Lynch, comrade of Séamus McElwaine getting elected.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sean_Lynch_%28Politician%29
What paramilitary group was Elliott in? UDR like most of the rest of them?

Quote from: Arthur_Friend on May 07, 2011, 10:54:12 PM
Quote from: Minder on May 07, 2011, 10:50:11 PM
Quote from: Arthur_Friend on May 07, 2011, 10:48:54 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on May 07, 2011, 10:08:36 PM
Quote from: Minder on May 07, 2011, 08:58:43 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on May 07, 2011, 08:38:42 PM
SDLP get back a seat in West Tyrone. So it looks like being down 2 seats from last time. Given that the losses in FST, Strangford, Nth Antrim and Sth Antrim were very narrow (surprisingly narrow in Nth Antrim, a seat which had pretty much been written off) and that the percentage held up on such a low turnout, they might conisder themselves unlucky. Or wonder if a better performance on the leaders' debates may have swung a few crucial votes.

SF steady, but no mission of a SF First Minister in the next 10 years with the DUP retaining a comanding lead and the TUV project as good as finished. The UUP is utterly headless and Tom's outburst is going to be one of the big news stories from this election. It's going to make it very uncomfortable for the UUP's moderates such as McCallister, McCrea and Nesbitt, because they're all likely to be cornered on it.

Declan O'Loan was badly hampered by the boundary changes, in particular places like Waterfoot and Cushendall being absorbed into East Antrim.
Aye he lost a good few hundred votes there. Good to see Oliver McMullan getting in at East Antrim as he will at least get stuck in and represent the local people unlike some of the trailer trash running for council seats in the area.

Do you know who got elected from the Glens for the council Tony?

Counting doesent start until Monday Arthur, do keep up.

Thats just laziness.

I know it is Monday, not sure what Monday though.

Ulick

Quote from: Tony Baloney on May 07, 2011, 10:55:39 PM
I expect former paramilitary member Tom Elliott wasn't to happy seeing his old adversary Seán Lynch, comrade of Séamus McElwaine getting elected.

Aye as far as I know.

Quote from: Ulick on May 07, 2011, 10:34:00 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on May 07, 2011, 10:24:23 PM
Quote from: Ulick on May 07, 2011, 10:04:51 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on May 07, 2011, 05:42:13 PM

It would be good if it prompted a change in leadership, but it doesn't really look like it's on the cards at the minute - difficult to see who'd stick their neck out.

Someone needs to step up to the mark and quickly. Must say though I got a chuckle out of an incident on Thursday evening outside the polling station in Aghagallon. I was chatting to some of the SDLP canvassers when a fairly prominent local GAA figure and teacher came over to me for a yarn after he'd been into vote. As he was leaving he says to me "Ulick, yis really need to get rid of that clown Caitríona Ruane, she's wrecking the education system." Then he turns, *stooped* over a little and says directly and 'forcefully' to Dolores Kelly's sister, "but she's not even half as bad as that useless, hateful hoor Margaret Richie!". Needless to say the Stoops were all speechless as yer man headed off down the road and me left pissing myself.
He sounds like a class act. Nice way to speak to someone.
He had a point though - Ritchie is a liability for the Stoops.
That's no excuse for ignorance. Or for finding ignorance so amusing.

Trout

Quote from: Ulick on May 07, 2011, 10:04:51 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on May 07, 2011, 05:42:13 PM

It would be good if it prompted a change in leadership, but it doesn't really look like it's on the cards at the minute - difficult to see who'd stick their neck out.

Someone needs to step up to the mark and quickly. Must say though I got a chuckle out of an incident on Thursday evening outside the polling station in Aghagallon. I was chatting to some of the
SDLP canvassers when a fairly prominent local GAA figure and teacher came over to me for a yarn after he'd been into vote. As he was leaving he says to me "Ulick, yis really need to get rid of that clown Caitríona Ruane, she's wrecking the education system." Then he turns, *stooped* over a little and says directly and 'forcefully' to Dolores Kelly's sister, "but she's not even half as bad as that useless, hateful hoor Margaret Richie!". Needless to say the Stoops were all speechless as yer man headed off down the road and me left pissing myself.

Did you meet any of your PSNI drinking buddies at the polling station?
Sinn Fein delivers -

British rule

pretty much as i predicted, uup history, stoops scratching their empty heads. danny kennedy will probably join the dup soon its the only way out for him as tom idiot pushes the self destruct button, marty needs to get a new script though (coming across like peters bitch a little and i'm a fan of his) alliance doing well but the unionist tag wont attract many republicans no matter how they dress it up. elmer fudd allister is gonna be "a forn in da flash of sinn fein ira"... more likely to be a laughing stock for the dup and sinn fein he might as well go to stormont dressed as ronald mc donald. i had the shinners at the door but only once this election the last time i had them 3 times, all i got from the stoops as a text and no unionists at all. i think the shinners are absolutely exhausted canvassing over the last few months north and south so a good result for a tired team.

He was.

That was some bigoted rant. He couldn't bear the sight of the tricolour so completely lost it. Just when the UUP needed a bit of stability...

Ulick

Aye two of them came in to vote - in uniform an all. Had a good yarn with them too. One happy enough to say he gave SF first preference, the other went Stoop and gave transfer to SF.

Quote from: ONeill on May 07, 2011, 11:08:50 PM

He was.

That was some bigoted rant. He couldn't bear the sight of the tricolour so completely lost it. Just when the UUP needed a bit of stability...
The UUP are fucked with this man at the helm. They might have thought they'd reached a low point with Reg Empey, but Elliott must be a dead man walking. If not it is clear that the UUP plan to move into the old DUP territory.

I see that the TUV's David Vance tweeted that Elliot's remarks were an insult...to scum!

Quote from: Tony Baloney on May 07, 2011, 11:15:20 PM
Quote from: ONeill on May 07, 2011, 11:08:50 PM

He was.

The UUP are fucked with this man at the helm. They might have thought they'd reached a low point with Reg Empey, but Elliott must be a dead man walking. If not it is clear that the UUP plan to move into the old DUP territory.

cant see how that would work tony the dup have the old territory well covered with the like of dodds and gregory knocking about.. and they cant move the other way the alliance have that territory covered their fukd

Quote from: lawnseed on May 07, 2011, 11:06:55 PM
pretty much as i predicted, uup history, stoops scratching their empty heads. danny kennedy will probably join the dup soon its the only way out for him as tom idiot pushes the self destruct button, marty needs to get a new script though (coming across like peters bitch a little and i'm a fan of his) alliance doing well but the unionist tag wont attract many republicans no matter how they dress it up. elmer fudd allister is gonna be "a forn in da flash of sinn fein ira"... more likely to be a laughing stock for the dup and sinn fein he might as well go to stormont dressed as ronald mc donald. i had the shinners at the door but only once this election the last time i had them 3 times, all i got from the stoops as a text and no unionists at all. i think the shinners are absolutely exhausted canvassing over the last few months north and south so a good result for a tired team.
As you predicted? You predicted that "the stoops will cease to exist".
http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=18677.msg924277#msg924277

Whilst they may have lost a few marginal seats and narrowly missed out on potential gains, they've pretty much held their vote.

Ulick

I suspect the council elections will give us a better indication of the current state of the various Parties Maguire.

Quote from: Maguire01 on May 07, 2011, 11:27:39 PM
Quote from: lawnseed on May 07, 2011, 11:06:55 PM
As you predicted? You predicted that "the stoops will cease to exist".
http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=18677.msg924277#msg924277

Whilst they may have lost a few marginal seats and narrowly missed out on potential gains, they've pretty much held their vote.

that must be why some of them are looking maggie chewing gum head to quit. good to see tomas burns will have more time on his hands to go inspecting 'our' troops in afganistan :D

Which of the elections are the main ones? MP's, MLA's or the council ones? I suspect the ones in which your party does best in ;)
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.