NFL Division 3 2011

Started by Croí na hÉireann, January 31, 2011, 03:41:59 PM

Four changes for Westmeath

Westmeath football manager Pat Flanagan has made four changes to his side for Sunday's Allianz National League clash with Tipperary.

Flanagan has selected an all-new midfield, with the fit-again David Duffy partnering Brendan Murtagh in the centre of the park.

Teenage star John Heslin is suspended following his red card against Cavan last week, while Denis Corroon has been pushed into the half forward line and Paul Greville loses out.

Goalkeeper Gary Connaughton comes back into the side with Darren Quinn dropping to the bench, while Michael Curley takes the place of Kieran Martin in the half-back line.

Of the U21 side which saw off Laois on Wednesday night, Ger Egan is the only one to start for the seniors this weekend.

Westmeath will be seeking a first league win in 17 games stretching back to 2008, having taken just a point from their opening two games in Division 3.

Throw-in at Semple Stadium on Sunday takes place at 2.30pm.

Westmeath (SF v Tipperary): Gary Connaughton; Francis Boyle, Kieran Gavin, John Gaffey; Michael Curley, Aidan Finnan, Doran Harte; David Duffy, Brendan Murtagh; Fergal Wilson, Denis Corroon, Ger Egan; Dessie Dolan, David Glennon, Denis Glennon.

Darren Quinn, Kieran Martin, Conor Jordan, James Dolan, Paul Bannon, Paul Greville, Conor Lynam, Simon Quinn, Peter Tormey, John Connellan, Paul Sharry.

Strange couple of changes there. Can't see why he's dropping Greville as there's no hurling this weekend and Willo isn't really suited to the corner so we'll have no left footer top of the right. I thought Corroon looked decent midfield the last day, would have liked to have had a look at Murtagh in the half forwards. Good to see he's giving the U21s a break, I'd have rested Ger Egan as well though as he's not looked his usual self recently. Sharry deserves an outing in the half forwards. Anyways this match is all about the result and there is enough experience there to get it. Anything less and it'll be Div 3 or God forbid Div 4 next year.

Nearly 3 years on and we finally know what a league win feels like again and only by the skin of our teeth.  ;D A lot of positives and negatives to take from the match. We looked good in the first half and the wide open spaces of Semple Stadium suited us. We were well in control, should have had a couple more points on the board by half time and would have went ahead only for we were caught out by one high long ball and Gary had to take your man down for a penalty, which was well tucked away. The second half was a roller-coaster. We tacked on two immediately after half time and then Tipp blitzed us to go five up. In fairness to the lads they knuckled down and on the back of a penalty we came roaring back and sneaked the win with a goal at the end of normal time, it was a close run thing and an entertaining game.

Gary looked his usual assured self in goals, had a couple of excellent saves (one in particular at the start of the game), couldn't do anything with the penalty and looked to have put down a marker but inexplicably he dived early for their second goal and probably would have saved it if he had stayed on his feet. Full back line were good apart from Kieran Gavin (I think it was him anyway) getting caught out by a high ball that resulted in the ff getting in behind him, which resulted in the pen. We have problems though in the hb line. The lads had good energy but are limited I feel. Natchie will improve things here when he gets back.

It was good to have Duffy back midfield, did well for his first game back I thought, good aerial presence and produced one fantastic diving block at one stage which I hadn't seen from him before. Needs to back himself when the scoring opportunity presents itself. Murtagh is not an inter-county midfielder, he should have been switched with Corroon at ht. Not great in the air, keeps taking the ball into the tackle and not mobile enough. Nearly burst a blood vessel when I saw the board come up to take Corroon off, thankfully it was just a mix up and they took Murtagh off. Game changed when Corroon went to midfield, he started winning primary possession and kicking early ball in. Obvious change, should have been made much earlier.

Simon Quinn started instead of Ger Egan and while he provides great energy and is an honest player I just don't think he's cut out for this level. Corroon didn't know what to do at center forward and looked a different player when he went to midfield. Dessie and Grev looked good in the corners and couldn't believe it when they took Dessie off early in the second, maybe he was carrying something. David Glennon did nothing of worth all day apart from win a couple of balls and stick the penalty away, probably our worst performer and yet he stayed on for the whole game.

The subs steadied the ship and provided some impetus when the came on, think Sharry should be given a chance from the start the next day. Overall more positive than negative, we're off the mark and back in the hunt for promotion. Massive game in two weeks, Wexford at home, have to win it if we're to get the runners up spot in this division.

Three changes for Westmeath

Denis Glennon returns to the Westmeath starting line-up in one of three changes for Sunday's Division 3 meeting with Wexford.

Glennon was a surprise absentee for the game against Tipperary two weeks ago despite having been named in the starting line-up.

But the team captain is back in action for the visit of Wexford to Mullingar, named in the full forward line in place of the absent Dessie Dolan.

The other two changes to Pat Flanagan's line-up see Conor Jordan and Paul Sharry named at right half back and centre forward respectively, with Michael Curley and Brendan Murtagh dropping out.

A reshuffle sees Denis Corroon switch from centre forward to partner David Duffy at midfield.

Throw-in at Cusack Park on Sunday is at 2.30pm.

Westmeath (SF v Wexford): G Connaughton; F Boyle, K Gavin, J Gaffey; C Jordan, A Finnan, D Harte; D Duffy, D Corroon; F Wilson, P Sharry, S Quinn; P Greville, David Glennon, Denis Glennon.

Not sure if that team is good enough to beat the Yellow Bellies, I'd have started some of the U21s and completely rested them next weekend. I'd switch the Glennons around and see if David is any use in the corner and will be interesting to see how Sharry gets on from the start. Least midfield looks decent. Must win game if we're to stay in the promotion hunt.

Celt_Man

Four new faces for Cavan

09 March 2011

Cavan joint-managers Val Andrews and Terry Hyland have made four changes to their side for the Allianz National League Division 3 clash with Limerick on Sunday.

Dermot Sheridan and Martin Cahill return to the back line with Gareth Smith and Michael Brennan restored to the attack for the trip to the Gaelic Grounds.

Patrick Carroll, Damien O'Reilly, Gearoid McKiernan and Gerald Pearson are the quartet to make way.

The Breffni men will be attempting to win away from home for the first time since the opening game of the 2010 NFL campaign, when they put 2-20 past Roscommon at Dr Hyde Park.

They lie in fifth place in Division 3 with three points from as many games while Limerick have endured a torrid start to their first season back in the division, losing to Tipperary, Waterford and Offaly.

Throw-in at the Limerick venue is at 12.45pm on Sunday afternoon.

Cavan (SF v Limerick): J Reilly; A Clarke, D Sheridan, S Jordan; M McKeever, J McCutcheon, M Cahill; R Cullivan, P O'Reilly; R Flanagan, K Fannin, G Smith; C Mackey, M Brennan, S Johnston.

As I've said over on the Cavan thread, a win puts our boys back in a battle for possible promotion and a defeat and we're drawn back into a battle to avoid relegation. 
GAA Board Six Nations Fantasy Champion 2010

mattockranger

i'm so disalusioned with our boys at the moment.....

we're so inconsistent yet we're winning games!!

so i don't know.....stay tuned watch this space

good team riding into drogheda could beat us......who knows
will to win is important the will to prepare to win is vital

Onlooker

Poor performance by Tipperary in Dungarvan last night.   We needed those 2 points to get to mid table, but Waterford deserved their win even if all the damage was done in a 10 or 12 minutes spell before half time when the home team scored 2-2 without reply.  Tipp were leading by a point before that and were marginally the better team for most of the second half but never looked like pulling back the 7 points half time deficit.  It will be a real battle to stay in Div. 3 now in what has turned out to be a very disappointing NFL campaign.

Bill Haven

wexford were good value for their win.

Probably should have been more than 5 ahead at half time. Quinlivan and Waters completely dominated in midfield.

Didn't help that David Duffy was left on with an injury for 15 minutes.

Westmeath were a lot better in the second half. Lynam made a huge difference in the half forward line (Sharry dropped back to mf) and Corroon who was pretty hopeless in the first half improved a bit. Helped that Quinlivan was taken off and Waters seemed to drop a lot deeper.

Wexford full-back line was excellent, Conor Cooney probably man of the match just ahead of Waters and the always-classy Ciaran Lyng.

Westmeath's free-taking was a disaster throughout. Glennon and Greville were mostly hopeless from placed balls

Easy win for Wexford in Mullingar yesterday but they are no world beaters. Good full back line & midfield, Redmond pulled the strings and Lyng fierce accurate. Westmeath were brutal apart from a few bodies who tried. Connaughton was solid in goals and the kickouts are improving. Gavin did ok fb and should have been moved onto Lyng after his first point, Gaffey wasn't at the races at all. Sharry looked to get on the ball and use it at least. Willo tried too but when 2 on 1 needs to drive for the goal instead of taking the easy point. The ff line were a disaster. Greville hasn't played a good game since the Leinster games last year and yesterday was no exception, missing simple frees is unforgivable at this level. Tormey has never done the business at this level and don't get me started on captain bleeding fantastic. Brutal from frees from the ground, brutal from frees from the hand (not much good checking which way the wind is blowing after kicking it a mile wide Dennis btw), goes on a run with the head down, invariable looses the ball resulting in him waving his hands at nobody in particular in some mock show that it was someone else's fault but the creme de la creme was in the last min when a free was awarded. 3 points behind and a quick ball in on top of the square was the only ball to play. What does your man do but wait until Wexford drag every man back before kicking in the ball, f**king tool. Says a lot when Flanagan is throwing his arms up in frustration on the sideline at him, well you reap what you sow. And what the hell was Flanagan thinking leaving Duffy on for so long when it was clear as day his shoulder was busted? He couldn't even pass the ball ffs. In a must win game we got so much wrong, will be fighting to stay in this division now. Looks like it'll be 2 from Louth, Wexford and Offaly for promotion. For the second year in a row, thank Christ for the U21s.

Dolan returns for Westmeath

Westmeath manager Pat Flanagan has recalled Dessie Dolan in one of three changes for Sunday's Division 3 relegation battle against Waterford.

The Garrycastle man missed last week's dismal defeat to Wexford but returns at full forward in place of Peter Tormey.

The other changes see Brendan Murtagh come into the side at midfield in place of David Duffy and David Glennon named at centre forward, with Simon Quinn dropping to the bench.

County U21 stars Conor Lynam and Ger Egan, who made an impact off the bench against Wexford, are again named among the subs, no doubt with with their Leinster U21 semi-final against Longford in mind.

Westmeath have taken just three points from their first four games and defeat to a Waterford side which has already beaten Tipperary and Limerick would leave the Lake County on the brink of an incredible third straight relegation.

Westmeath (SF v Waterford): G Connaughton; F Boyle, K Gavin, J Gaffey; C Jordan, A Finnan, D Harte; B Murtagh, D Corroon; F Wilson, David Glennon, P Sharry; P Greville, D Dolan, Denis Glennon.

Surprised to see Dessie back, hope he's not being rushed. Weak enough team again but understandable with the U21 game next week, hope they are used very sparingly. You get the feeling it's last chance saloon for a few lads on that team, would have liked to have seen Murtagh given a shot in the half forwards but our hands are tied. Need a result Sunday.

pebble-dasher

Can anyone tell me what time the offaly tipp match starts at?  Hearing rumours its at 1 and not 2.30?

boojangles

Quote from: pebble-dasher on March 20, 2011, 11:49:05 AM
Can anyone tell me what time the offaly tipp match starts at?  Hearing rumours its at 1 and not 2.30?

Please tell me it started at 1pm!!! My bet may be void then. f**king Offaly shit on the eggs today at home. So much for Tullamore being a fortress!!! Maybe its just when they play Cavan!!!

Onlooker

Good win for Tipperary in Tullamore today.   After the despair of Dungarvan last week, we are now back with a fighting chance of staying in Division 3.  Crazy thing is, if we had beaten Waterford last Saturday night we would be in the promotion mix.  Div. 3 is still the tightest division of the four.

Burner

Great Win for Limerick in Drogheda yesterday. All the more impressive when you consider we were missing The great John Galvin, Stephen Lavin, Jim O Donovan and Stephen Lucey who are 4 key players. Division 3 is unbelievably tight. We could still get promoted but also still be relegated!

Keep up the good form lads

Well we very nearly managed to fcuk that up yesterday. It's fair to say that the spurt we put on either side of the half time break had us coasting well in front but we probably should have been caught at the death. Only for Gary making a couple of excellent saves Waterford would have sneaked a result. We had the look of a team who have accepted our lot in Division 3 for next year, upping our game when Waterford got close but never kicking on to see out the match. What really cost Waterford was their tackling and not changing their full back after being booked and ticked. They were always going to struggle playing a full half with 14. Westmeath scored 11 of their points from frees and it would have been more in their managements interest to get their players to tackle with discipline than roar about where frees were from.

Not too many highlights from the game, Dessie the pick of the bunch which is worrying for the rest of the team as he's not as sharp as he used to be. Glennon when he gets the head up is a good deliver of the ball, trouble is he needs time and space and his first instinct is to solo. Gary rock solid in goals, the fb line was improved from the last day and everyone else was flatly average.

All thoughts now turn to Wednesday, Cusack Park was practically empty yesterday so I hope people are saving their shekels for the trip to Navan. None of the U21s were brought on yesterday so all should be fresh.

Division 3 though is now as tight as it gets, 3 points separates second from eighth. Even though Wexford are away to both Tipp & Limerick you'd still have to fancy them to get the two points needed to secure promotion. Louth will probably join them as their last 2 games are against the bottom two in the division, Cavan and Waterford. The last day will be some craic.