Cormac Trust & Pieta House Golf Classic.

Started by Bud Wiser, January 22, 2011, 11:14:56 AM

Quote from: AZOffaly on May 10, 2011, 04:57:15 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on May 10, 2011, 04:48:43 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 10, 2011, 04:44:22 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on May 10, 2011, 04:39:22 PM
You're really riding them with the tee shot quota AZ.

Why, would you only have it at 2? I think that's too easy.

Given there seem to be a large amount of novices - yeah. It seems more like a charity day's craic than a competition. But I'm not organising nuttin. Just saying and I probably shouldnt have.  :)

EDIT - Maybe three isn't that bad. 4 was harsh.

I agree 4 was harsh. Muppet was beginning to worry me :D I think 3 is okay though, because even novices need to feel the sphincter tightening that goes on when you 'need a good shot' on a par 5 :D

Par 5! I hoping to use the par 3s for my counting drives. Hopefully the green should be still reachable from wherever I end up.

3 is fine by me, I'd hate having to carry the whole team for too long  :P

And remember we may be teammates but there are still some outstanding issues to clear up from 1996, 1982 and 2002 !

Quote from: Dave on May 10, 2011, 05:00:32 PM
How many of ye are actually going from the forum? There only seems to be about a dozen of ye going by the posts on this thread.
Is that not a poor return from nearly four and a half thousand members?

Yeah, but it's all the soundest lads. Are you coming yourself? :D

It's more than a dozen, and it's quite a lot of the long timers.

Strangely the more vocal lads are conspicuous by their absence :)

We also have quite a few abroad, and obviously we have O'Neill and his 2,000 aliases :D

Out of small acorns, mighty oaks do grow. (Or squirrels eat them)

Quote from: Kerry Mike on May 10, 2011, 05:02:28 PM
3 is fine by me, I'd hate having to carry the whole team for too long  :P

And remember we may be teammates but there are still some outstanding issues to clear up from 1996, 1982 and 2002 !

And don't forget yer heaviest ever All Ireland beating in 1972 :)

QuoteHow many of ye are actually going from the forum? There only seems to be about a dozen of ye going by the posts on this thread.

It is small but fair play to Bud and Co for organising, many gadderings over the years have been tried but its hard to get the interest.

QuoteAnd don't forget yer heaviest ever All Ireland beating in 1972

I'm fecking psyched now, however I may be playing some or all of my 3 scoring tee shots into the rough\bunkers\lakes depending on the level of sledging I'm getting, hope you all can swim, though I probably wont have to try too hard to do that !

Another Cork club in lads. Keep them coming. PM me with the club name, and I'll do the sign out and all, if I can find a crest online :)

Quote from: muppet on May 06, 2011, 04:06:00 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 06, 2011, 11:20:21 AM
1 week to go lads. Really looking forward to this now. It might be scaled down a bit, but I still reckon we'll get a few bob to send off to the charities.

Out of small acorns mighty oaks do grow.
BC, KM and Muppet, I hope ye are practising as hard as I am? Remember if you get the club right, and give a little flick of the wrist, the ball will come up out of the water no problem. Keep at it.

Early odds * for the fourball:

KM 5/4 F
BC 2/1
AZ 2/1
Muppet 100/1

Overall odds *

Lynchboy Evens
Magpie S 3/1
Heffo 7/2
KM 4/1
Croí 4/1
Dinny 6/1
Declan 6/1
BC 8/1
AZ 8/1
Bud 8/1
Muppet 200/1

* Note the odds are subject to radical change before during and after the golf, food and pints

Who else is playing?
ah thats way off the mark.
I am f**king sihte
unless the odds are for the 'combined'  score - golf, eating, drinking and singing...

How many of ye are actually going from the forum? There only seems to be about a dozen of ye going by the posts on this thread.

I would like to answer that question for you since you are into your old time maths and dozens etc.

1.  The cost of the game of golf including a steak dinner, green fees, and a portion of that fee going to charity, is less than €50
2.  Magpie Seannie for example has two or three teams travelling from Sligo, that is more than a 'dozen' by one board member.
3. If, as you suggest, there are only a dozen people from the board playing, then by your maths we can expect to make less than €48 for the charity?

Regardless, this will be the foundation of an ongoing annual charity event, despite the fact that I received a PM from one poster saying "I could not give a f**k about your charity"

I have not been on this board in the last few days and the reason is because from where I am sitting typing this I can see the home of a young lad who committed suicide last Sunday and whose funeral was today. Robert went to Terenure College and decided to do, much to the agony of his mother, what Tomas Mulligan did and in whose name the charity we are trying to run is associated with along with Cormac McAnallen.

It might escape the attention of those who's posts on this forum are more soccer related that The Cormac Trust fund are equally deserving of the support we are trying to give in as much as what happened young Molloy around the corner from me this week.  Only last week another GAA player died suddenly in the dressing room after training and while there was a Defib there it did end in another tragedy.

So, to answer your question, from my point of view, it does not make a difference to me if there are a dozen, or half a dozen people out of four and a half thousand members present on Friday and Saturday. What does make a difference is that those that are there, no matter how few in number, will be there in a positive genuine caring way to support Pieta House and Cormac Trust funds.  As you well know, not everyone is that concerned about such things and hence the reason why we will not have four and a half thousand people there.

Quote from: AZOffaly on May 10, 2011, 05:15:41 PM
Another Cork club in lads. Keep them coming. PM me with the club name, and I'll do the sign out and all, if I can find a crest online :)

Now a Mayo Club are in to sponsor a hole. Let's keep it going lads.

Also Bud, I know there are lads that are based away from the auld sod, or otherwise cannot make it, and genuinely wish us well. I bet some of them will make it next year. Keep her lit!

Quotewould like to answer that question for you since you are into your old time maths and dozens etc.

1.  The cost of the game of golf including a steak dinner, green fees, and a portion of that fee going to charity, is less than €50
2.  Magpie Seannie for example has two or three teams travelling from Sligo, that is more than a 'dozen' by one board member.
3. If, as you suggest, there are only a dozen people from the board playing, then by your maths we can expect to make less than €48 for the charity?

Regardless, this will be the foundation of an ongoing annual charity event, despite the fact that I received a PM from one poster saying "I could not give a f**k about your charity"

I have not been on this board in the last few days and the reason is because from where I am sitting typing this I can see the home of a young lad who committed suicide last Sunday and whose funeral was today. Robert went to Terenure College and decided to do, much to the agony of his mother, what Tomas Mulligan did and in whose name the charity we are trying to run is associated with along with Cormac McAnallen.

It might escape the attention of those who's posts on this forum are more soccer related that The Cormac Trust fund are equally deserving of the support we are trying to give in as much as what happened young Molloy around the corner from me this week.  Only last week another GAA player died suddenly in the dressing room after training and while there was a Defib there it did end in another tragedy.

So, to answer your question, from my point of view, it does not make a difference to me if there are a dozen, or half a dozen people out of four and a half thousand members present on Friday and Saturday. What does make a difference is that those that are there, no matter how few in number, will be there in a positive genuine caring way to support Pieta House and Cormac Trust funds.  As you well know, not everyone is that concerned about such things and hence the reason why we will not have four and a half thousand people there.

Well said Bud, it takes a huge effort and passion to organise something like this and thanks to you for getting this year off the ground, and hopefully it will be the start of an annual event and maybe some more people will get involved next year.

Bud, I think Everyone appreciates the huge effort you and the other organisers are doing to get this off the ground - fair play to you and the lads for this.
I'm looking forward to it - maybe not really the playing golf, but the craic that will be had along with Declan, Croi and that sour hoor Dinny Breen !
If you like i'll kick off the 'open mike' singathon before I head for the hills and make even more of a complete show of myself after what I'll have done on the course earlier!

Feck the begrudgers Bud, these are fantastic worthy causes the money is being raised for.
Kevin Lynch's Hurling Club, Dungiven, Co. Derry are sponsoring a hole on at least one of the days also ! (they will sponsor a hole for a second day if you need sponsors - but will pay the full whack either way !)

Quote from: lynchbhoy on May 10, 2011, 09:45:14 PM
Bud, I think Everyone appreciates the huge effort you and the other organisers are doing to get this off the ground - fair play to you and the lads for this.
I'm looking forward to it - maybe not really the playing golf, but the craic that will be had along with Declan, Croi and that sour hoor Dinny Breen !
If you like i'll kick off the 'open mike' singathon before I head for the hills and make even more of a complete show of myself after what I'll have done on the course earlier!

Feck the begrudgers Bud, these are fantastic worthy causes the money is being raised for.
Kevin Lynch's Hurling Club, Dungiven, Co. Derry are sponsoring a hole on at least one of the days also ! (they will sponsor a hole for a second day if you need sponsors - but will pay the full whack either way !)

Good Man LB, I'll take care of that. Are you playing Saturday?