45 Challenge

Started by Any craic, January 07, 2011, 02:29:06 PM

Jeez that was brutal, what the fcuk are coaches doing with boys these days???  The majority of them skidded the ball off the outside of the boot and that is with a kicking tee!!!!  I was never the most accurate but I could kick better than that.

That's not really fair BCB. You're of a vintage where you spent your formative years kicking every free off the ground. So it was part of your routine to learn how to kick better from the ground, and part of a coach's job to help you improve.

Most of these fellas would never have kicked a ball from the ground save for a bit of mucking around. Apart from a couple of guys who've worked with free takers in development squads, none of them would ever have been coached either in what is more or less a moribund skill in the game.

Fom my own personal experience, it took around a year and a half of goalkeeping for the 2nds before I gained the natural length to kick 45s. And it took only 2 months off to lose those vital yards again! It's not as easy as it looks, not even close.

Quote from: thewobbler on January 08, 2011, 11:57:22 AM
That's not really fair BCB. You're of a vintage where you spent your formative years kicking every free off the ground. So it was part of your routine to learn how to kick better from the ground, and part of a coach's job to help you improve.

Most of these fellas would never have kicked a ball from the ground save for a bit of mucking around. Apart from a couple of guys who've worked with free takers in development squads, none of them would ever have been coached either in what is more or less a moribund skill in the game.

Fom my own personal experience, it took around a year and a half of goalkeeping for the 2nds before I gained the natural length to kick 45s. And it took only 2 months off to lose those vital yards again! It's not as easy as it looks, not even close.

Bollix wobbler, we didn't have tees but we were coached how to kick the ball, how to stand, where to put your feet.  That is missing from modern coaching where complex drills with plenty of cones are the vogue while the basics if the games are overlooked.  You don't need to be coached how to kick it off the ground to know what part of you boot you strike the ball with.

You're living in the 80s BCB.

Kicking the ball of the ground is a redundant skill in football aside from goalkeepers and half of freetakers.

Any coach who makes it part of training is wasting  everyone's time. It'd be like a soccer coach ensuring all the outfield players learn how to do goals.

Kicking the ball out of hand is a completely different skill and irrelevant to this conversation.

Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on January 08, 2011, 10:40:17 AM
Jeez that was brutal, what the fcuk are coaches doing with boys these days???  The majority of them skidded the ball off the outside of the boot and that is with a kicking tee!!!!  I was never the most accurate but I could kick better than that.

Ah cop on will ya. One thing for sure is that you are not a coach anyway. Why the hell would a coach be teaching young lads to kick long kicks off the ground! The video has clearly showed the worst of the kicks and I would guess that most teams would be no better than this. I played football at underage when frees were from the ground and I had a good kick, I still play the odd bit now and honestly could not kick it 20 yards. WHY? Cos I will never have to do it in a game so never practice it! The specialists look after that role.

Broken crossbar, you sound like Spillane. Blaming all and sundry for everything that insnt "the good ole days". I watched Kerrys golden years recently and whilst there is some lovely football played, a clear theme of that era is lads kicking the ball as high and long as possible with absolutely no direction or clue where it was going. Puke football!

I sure some of them have played soccer at some stage. I am sure it is not that strange a concept, kicking off the ground.

Quote from: hardstation on January 08, 2011, 11:12:28 PM
Quote from: Minder on January 08, 2011, 11:03:17 PM
I sure some of them have played soccer at some stage. I am sure it is not that strange a concept, kicking off the ground.
Kicking off a tee is though. It's fairly unnatural for those without a decent amount of practice. That's why there are so many wayward kicks. With the ball sitting up a couple of inches off the ground, it's at an unnatural height for most kickers to control accurately.

Was the tee compulsory? I am sure they could have kicked it off the ground, we need to get to the bottom of this.

Another aspect people have not touched on, they were probably all either dying or still full.

The distance isn't the issue, the style of kicking is though. I often fInd that people who profess to know how to coach, Play etc who post on here have rarely played or been coached at a good level, maybe there is a correlation? The basics for kicking a ball are the same no matter whether it is off the ground, off a tee or out of your hands. If you don't know that then no harm to you but you know deck  all. There is far too much complication in the analysis of the game. Correct foot positioning, eye on the ball and a proper follow through that is that.  CK were you in the video or something?

Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on January 08, 2011, 11:34:17 PM
The distance isn't the issue, the style of kicking is though. I often fInd that people who profess to know how to coach, Play etc who post on here have rarely played or been coached at a good level, maybe there is a correlation? The basics for kicking a ball are the same no matter whether it is off the ground, off a tee or out of your hands. If you don't know that then no harm to you but you know deck all. There is far too much complication in the analysis of the game. Correct foot positioning, eye on the ball and a proper follow through that is that.  CK were you in the video or something?

Exactly, you could see with a lot of them that they struggled with basic co-ordination in their run-up. We'd often mess about kicking off the tee from distance at training and while some lads might not be used to it, I don't recall a single kick being as bad as the best effort in those clips.

Quote from: hardstation on January 08, 2011, 11:42:10 PM
That's not right at all BC. There are two natural ways you've ever kicked a ball, out of your hands or off the deck. Anything outside those 'comfort zones', you don't have full control over it.

That's why they don't even know how to approach the ball, kicking with the outside of the boot etc.

These lads know how to kick a ball, they are not spastics.

They were all defenders and midfielders though. Which might explain a lot.

That's not right at all BC. There are two natural ways you've ever kicked a ball, out of your hands or off the deck. Anything outside those 'comfort zones', you don't have full control over it.

That's why they don't even know how to approach the ball, kicking with the outside of the boot etc.

Are you going to try and tell me they have never kicked a ball off the ground?  Balls!  Kicking a ball off the ground/tee is the simplest skill.  The reality is that there is an over analysis of the game and the sooner the game is simplified the better it will become. If players do not know to kick with the inside of their boot or off the laces what have they been coached?

Quote from: hardstation on January 08, 2011, 11:50:55 PM
Are you going to try and tell me that there is no difference between kicking a ball off the ground and kicking a ball off a tee?

Yes if you know how to kick a ball. It may take a few tries to adjust but not too many.  Too many ready excuses for mediocrity.

Tell me HS, have you kicked a ball off a tee or from the ground?

Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on January 08, 2011, 11:45:31 PM

They were all defenders and midfielders though. Which might explain a lot.

Except that the worst attempt of the lot was by a starting corner forward from last year's Armagh minors :-[

Quote from: hardstation on January 09, 2011, 12:24:19 AM
You would think that 'kicking a 50' was a dying trait in Gaelic football, the way these lads are talking. Without having the stats in front of me, I reckon that it is quite the opposite.

You can hear the growns from the Tyrone support when we get one. Can't remember the last successful kick from that range. It's usually taken short, given to Penrose about 20m out and wide.