Songs about Rumours, Infidelities, Gossip. Any suggestions?

Started by Denn Forever, December 31, 2010, 12:48:06 PM

I'm looking for songs about Rumours about infidelities or songs about gossip etc.  Just some mood music to play in the hall before a play called "Rumours".

The only one I can think of "Is she really going out with him by Joe Jackson
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6SPogGqCgeM

Any other suggestions?

Nina Simone
'Other Woman'

Jesse Mae Robinson

The other woman finds time to manicure her nails
The other woman is perfect where her rival fails
And she's never seen with pin curls in her hair

The other woman enchantes her clothes with French perfume
The other woman keeps fresh cut flowers in each room
There are never toys that's scattered everywhere

And when her baby comes to call
He'll find her waiting like a lonesome queen
Cos when she's by his side
It's such a change from old routine

But the other woman will always cry herself to sleep
The other woman will never have his love to keep
And as the years go by the other woman
Will spend her life alone

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EbIteyr9QiQ&feature=watch_response

Don't You Want Me, by the Human League:

You were working as a waitress in a cocktail bar
When I met you
I picked you out, I shook you up, and turned you around
Turned you into someone new
Now five years later on you've got the world at your feet
Success has been so easy for you
But don't forget it's me who put you where you are now
And I can put you back down too

(Chorus:)
Don't, don't you want me?
You know I can't believe it when I hear that you won't see me
Don't, don't you want me?
You know I don't believe you when you say that you don't need me
It's much too late to find
You think you've changed your mind
You'd better change it back or we will both be sorry

Don't you want me baby? Don't you want me oh

I was working as a waitress in a cocktail bar
That much is true
But even then I knew I'd find a much better place
Either with or without you
The five years we have had have been such good times
I still love you
But now I think it's time I lived my life on my own
I guess it's just what I must do

(Chorus)

(Repeat four times and fade)

Quote from: Denn Forever on December 31, 2010, 12:48:06 PM
I'm looking for songs about Rumours about infidelities or songs about gossip etc.  Just some mood music to play in the hall before a play called "Rumours".

The only one I can think of "Is she really going out with him by Joe Jackson
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6SPogGqCgeM

Any other suggestions?
I Heard It Through The Grapevine.

Bogey's Bonny Belle
Trad / Arr: Christy Moore

As I went by Huntleigh town,
One evening for to see,
I met with Bogey O' Cairnee,
And with him I did agree.

To care for his two best horses,
Or cart or harrow or plough,
Or anything about farm work,
That I very well should know.

Old Bogey had a daughter,
Her name was Isobel,
She's the lily of the valley,
And the primrose of the dell.

And when she went out walking,
She took me for her guide,
Down by the Burn O'Cairnee,
To watch the small fish glide.

And when three months was past and gone,
This girl she lost her bloom.
The red fell from her rosy cheeks,
And her eyes began to swoon.

And when nine months were past and gone,
She bore to me a son.
And I was straight sent for,
To see what could be done.

I said that I would marry her,
But that it would nae do.
You're no a match for the bonny wee girl,
And she's no match for you.

Now she's married to a t**ker lad,
That comes from Huntleigh town.
He sells pots and pans and paraffin lamps,
And scours the country round.

Maybe she's had a better match,
Old Bogey can nae tell.
So fair well ye lads o Huntleigh town,
And to Bogey's bonnie belle.

Bogey's Bonny Belle

Couple of contemporaries:

Liar: Mumford and sons
Love the way you lie: rhianna and eminem
Screaming infidelities: dashboard confessional
Before he cheats: Carrie underwood.

DirtyDozen12

Beer, now there's a temporary solution!!!

Rumours? Infidelities? Gossip?

Lawless, by Christy Moore fairly sums up all three

Second last verse in particular:

Oh now Lawless stays in and looks after his baby
while Dolly goes out for the night.
The old gossips all say she's free in her ways
and their evil rumours ran rife.
When Lawless heard this he waited for Dolly
in the bridge where the river runs low.
Noone will ever know what happened next,
but Dolly drowned in the Dodder below.