Author Topic: RTE on Freeview  (Read 32277 times)

armaghniac

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6861
    • View Profile
Re: RTE on Freeview
« Reply #150 on: July 23, 2012, 09:16:56 PM »
Get a Freeview HD set and you'll be fine.
Freeview HD uses Mpeg 4.
« Last Edit: July 23, 2012, 09:24:41 PM by armaghniac »
if at first you don't succeed, then goto Plan B

WaterBoy

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 250
  • Now that's what I call high quality H2O
    • View Profile
Re: RTE on Freeview
« Reply #151 on: July 23, 2012, 09:52:31 PM »
Get a Freeview HD set and you'll be fine.
Freeview HD uses Mpeg 4.

Cheers, I was just reading http://www.digitaluk.co.uk/ and it said freeview HD would be needed alright.  If you get standard Freeview TV that supported MPEG4 would that work also? I have saw a few online at decent prices
Mama says that foos-ball is the devil

ziggysego

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 21727
    • View Profile
    • Greencastle GAA
Re: RTE on Freeview
« Reply #152 on: July 23, 2012, 09:58:40 PM »
Get a Freeview HD set and you'll be fine.
Freeview HD uses Mpeg 4.

Cheers, I was just reading http://www.digitaluk.co.uk/ and it said freeview HD would be needed alright.  If you get standard Freeview TV that supported MPEG4 would that work also? I have saw a few online at decent prices

A standard TV, that supports MPEG4, is Freeview HD.
That which holds the image of an Angel, become itself an Angel.

armaghniac

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6861
    • View Profile
Re: RTE on Freeview
« Reply #153 on: July 23, 2012, 10:01:12 PM »
Quote
If you get standard Freeview TV that supported MPEG4 would that work also? I have saw a few online at decent prices

RTÉ from NI transmitters is broadcast as Freeview HD. A Freeview set with MPEG4 might pick up Saorview from a 26 county transmitter, I would be careful about picking such a set though.

Regular Freeview will be dead in a decade, HD is the way to go.
Quote
A standard TV, that supports MPEG4, is Freeview HD.

Not necessarily true. Freeview HD has a different transmission as well as using MPEG 4. Saorview sets have MPEG 4, but not necessarily DVB-T2. Some sets also support MPEG-4 for playback from computers and the like, but not broadcast TV.
« Last Edit: July 23, 2012, 10:04:23 PM by armaghniac »
if at first you don't succeed, then goto Plan B

laoislad

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5595
    • View Profile
Re: RTE on Freeview
« Reply #154 on: July 23, 2012, 10:07:40 PM »
Quote
If you get standard Freeview TV that supported MPEG4 would that work also? I have saw a few online at decent prices

RTÉ from NI transmitters is broadcast as Freeview HD. A Freeview set with MPEG4 might pick up Saorview from a 26 county transmitter, I would be careful about picking such a set though.

Regular Freeview will be dead in a decade, HD is the way to go.

I'd imagine HD will be dead in a decade.
There are already Ultra High Definition Tv sets being built which will have a resolution of  4320p which they say will be 16 times the number of pixels of 1080p

take_yer_points

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 684
    • View Profile
Re: RTE on Freeview
« Reply #155 on: July 23, 2012, 10:26:34 PM »
Are you sure that any Freeview HD television can currently pick up RTE? I have this TV:

http://www.sony.co.uk/support/en/product/KDL-40EX403/specifications

This is a Freeview HD TV and in the tuner section you will see the following - "Digital Terrestrial Tuner (MPEG-2):   YES (DVB-T2/T)"

I can currently see RTE One on channel 800 when I look at the digital channels but there is no picture - just a blank screen. As I understand it I will be able to pick up RTE channels from October onwards on this Freeview HD TV but I can't yet because it is not MPEG4.

Am I wrong here?

armaghniac

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6861
    • View Profile
Re: RTE on Freeview
« Reply #156 on: July 23, 2012, 10:51:04 PM »
It says here that the Sony kdl 40ex403 has MPEG 4. It has to, to be Freeview HD.

http://www.dooyoo.co.uk/television/sony-kdl-40ex403/details/

Are you expecting to pick up RTÉ from NI or ROI?
if at first you don't succeed, then goto Plan B

take_yer_points

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 684
    • View Profile
Re: RTE on Freeview
« Reply #157 on: July 23, 2012, 11:04:14 PM »
It says here that the Sony kdl 40ex403 has MPEG 4. It has to, to be Freeview HD.

http://www.dooyoo.co.uk/television/sony-kdl-40ex403/details/

Are you expecting to pick up RTÉ from NI or ROI?

The link I put up mentioned that it has MPEG4 as well but for USB playback.

I'm in NI and pick up RTE1, RTE2, TV3 and TG4 on analogue

armaghniac

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6861
    • View Profile
Re: RTE on Freeview
« Reply #158 on: July 23, 2012, 11:06:47 PM »
Quote
I'm in NI and pick up RTE1, RTE2, TV3 and TG4 on analogue

Download the latest software update.
Try changing country to Ireland and see what happens.
Ask Fionntamhnach!

if at first you don't succeed, then goto Plan B

Fionntamhnach

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2081
    • View Profile
Re: RTE on Freeview
« Reply #159 on: July 23, 2012, 11:29:48 PM »
The Sony Sony KDL-40EX403 is Freeview HD approved, so will be able to pick up Saorview channels. If RTÉ One is on channel 800 but showing no picture and no sound, it's possible that the channel along with RTÉ Two, TV3 etc. was added during a period of high pressure that allowed reception of Saorview from Clermont Carn in Louth, but disappeared when these conditions eased off.

On that note, it's now almost three months now until all analogue terrestrial television north and south will be switched off permanently on 24th October and with it, improved Saorview reception in the north particularly areas near the western & northern shores of Lough Neagh, and also east of the Bann. The kill switch for southern transmissions is scheduled to be 10.00am that day, will probably be in the wee hours for northern broadcasts.
Putting internet gobshítes in their place since 1999

Applesisapples

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2245
    • View Profile
Re: RTE on Freeview
« Reply #160 on: July 24, 2012, 10:14:48 AM »
I got a Panasonic 42 in Freeview HD TV in Curries. Picks up Saorview, freeview and with a dongle (£32) you can play Youtube and BBC Iplayer through it as well. Only £600. Great picture free 3D glasses. Although I wouldn't be fussed on the 3D. By the way Halographic TV is the future.

AQMP

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2678
    • View Profile
Re: RTE on Freeview
« Reply #161 on: July 24, 2012, 10:27:45 AM »
On a related but slightly different subject, bough a Sony Bravia recently, cracking TV (for my needs) all southern stations RTE2 HD etc (great for the hurling) but the picture keeps freezing/pixellating and when recorded programmes are played back they "jump".  I've heard various explanations for this e.g. it's work on the transmitters taking place, to it's the heavy rain.  Any ideas/solutions.  I'm working off a rooftop aeriel.

armaghniac

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6861
    • View Profile
Re: RTE on Freeview
« Reply #162 on: July 24, 2012, 10:38:06 AM »
It depends on where you are. The NI transmitters are not at full power until October and Clermont Cairn is restricted in its broadcasts in a northerly direction. Perhaps picture stability will improve in October when transmission power is ramped up.
if at first you don't succeed, then goto Plan B

Fionntamhnach

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2081
    • View Profile
Re: RTE on Freeview
« Reply #163 on: July 24, 2012, 11:14:44 AM »
On a related but slightly different subject, bough a Sony Bravia recently, cracking TV (for my needs) all southern stations RTE2 HD etc (great for the hurling) but the picture keeps freezing/pixellating and when recorded programmes are played back they "jump".  I've heard various explanations for this e.g. it's work on the transmitters taking place, to it's the heavy rain.  Any ideas/solutions.  I'm working off a rooftop aeriel.
As you using an external hard drive or USB pen drive? It could be the case that either the drive is faulty, or (less likely) that the drive cannot keep up with the data speed being transmitted especially for RTÉ Two HD. If you can try a different external hard drive or USB pen drive (has to be at least 32GB).
Putting internet gobshítes in their place since 1999

stpatsgael

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: RTE on Freeview
« Reply #164 on: July 25, 2012, 02:31:17 PM »
Does anyone know if it's possible to receive these channels in England? (Liverpool to be precise). Been living over here for a few years now and have been looking into getting the Irish channels for a while but it seems quite difficult. Any ideas would be appreciated.