Are we all cheering for England today?

Started by thewobbler, December 02, 2010, 10:18:55 AM

Quote from: Tyrones own on December 03, 2010, 01:31:45 AM
Ach not at all...it's just good craic reading the irony on some of these threads having had it come around full circle
I'm simply a few years down the road ahead of ye.... it'll be your turn soon enough so i wouldn't knock it  8)

No worries.

By the way, Prohibition was a shite idea (don't let anybody tell you any different!)

As for (true) Socialism... we'll see  ;)

Quote from: Tyrones own on December 02, 2010, 09:32:24 PM
Of course what gets lost here is the benefits it would have had on the massive
out of work labor force both in England and Ireland....just as long as we get a laugh, cause thats whats important, right?
*shakes head at the logic here sometimes  ::)

I find myself in full accord here.

Our own national team is no great shakes, there would have been positive knock on (perhaps dribble down) effects for the Irish economy - but sure isnt it f**king great the English didnt get it.

Hold on - What?

I love to beat the English as much as the next man but the nonsense on here from fellas who probably have at least one English club shirt in their drawers is strange to say the least.

QuoteI love to beat the English as much as the next man but the nonsense on here from fellas who probably have at least one English club shirt in their drawers is strange to say the least.
And likely unemployed into the bargain  ::)

Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on December 03, 2010, 01:41:09 AM
Quote from: Tyrones own on December 03, 2010, 01:31:45 AM
Ach not at all...it's just good craic reading the irony on some of these threads having had it come around full circle
I'm simply a few years down the road ahead of ye.... it'll be your turn soon enough so i wouldn't knock it  8)

No worries.

By the way, Prohibition was a shite idea (don't let anybody tell you any different!)

As for (true) Socialism... we'll see  ;)
If this Feckless progressive fcuk stays in office much longer I fear you might be right  :'(

From the Sydney Morning Herald. Love the last bit

In Qatar, fans danced in the streets, blew vuvuzelas to express their delight and chanted "We won! We won!".

Scores of cars packed the country's roads, with the country's vast oil and gas wealth reflected in the number of Hummers, Range Rovers and Ferraris on display.

But the Qatari celebrations may have been tempered by the reaction from Islamist extremists, who proclaimed that their country would be no more by 2022, as it would become part of an "Islamic state".

"You fools, know that al-Qaeda is on the threshold of establishing the shariah (Islamic law) of Allah the Almighty," a user called Hafeed al-Hussein posted on the Shumukh al-Islam online forum, according to the US-based SITE Intelligence Group.

"In 2022, there is no country with the name Qatar, and there is no province called Kuwait and there is no Saudi (Arabia). Instead, there is an emirate called the Islamic State," the post added.

Another user, Abu Yassin, predicted that insurgents in the Russian Caucasus - where attacks on officials have become daily occurrences as Russian authorities battle the fighters - would help spell Qatar's downfall.

"In 2018, Russia will organise (the games) and the brothers in the emirate of the Caucasus, with permission from Allah, will make a case to cancel Qatar's" games, he wrote.

Another who called himself Abu Khubeib al-Khorasani said 2022 will be the "most exciting" World Cup final, predicting that Portuguese player Cristiano Ronaldo would be kidnapped and Al-Qaeda would win the tournament.

Quote from: stephenite on December 03, 2010, 05:30:18 AM
Another who called himself Abu Khubeib al-Khorasani said 2022 will be the "most exciting" World Cup final, predicting that Portuguese player Cristiano Ronaldo would be kidnapped and Al-Qaeda would win the tournament.
The certainly have the firepower to win it...

Quote from: Fionntamhnach on December 02, 2010, 10:10:28 PM

The Qatar award is a bit surprising, I must say. ...... Would also be interesting if Israel make it to the 2022 finals...
Qatar has followed a strongly independent line with Israel, re trade, diplomatic relations, in line with its independent  foreign policy in general.

Olly

I've been drinking heavily since the result.
Access to this webpage has been denied . This website has been categorised as "Sexual Material".

armagho9

Steve Bruce i think hit the nail on the head, "just dont think anyone likes us English"

David Moyes said it was wrong to have Prime Ministers and State Figures at Presentation as it was football matters, whilst it was important to have government backing it should have been left to footballing people to put the case forward to a football organisation.

I think it's the only time I was genuinely upset England did not win. 

Sandy Hill

"Stercus accidit"

I'd say the English media will go after FIFA big time in the coming weeks!

Qutar  has One and a half million people and will build nine stadiums,  paddy the Irishman flies around in airplanes trying to catch paddy the other Irish man burning any rubbish all so we do our part for the environment and here they are building nine stadiums and cooling them for a four week tournament. Are they going to sell the stadiums when it's all over and ship them abroad?

The stadiums look like they will be fairly impressive looking anyway in Qatar, arriving by water taxi would some experience for 70 odd thousand fans. http://m.youtube.com/index?desktop_uri=%2F&gl=GB#/watch?xl=xl_blazer&v=d-z2jtUS9-Y