Are we all cheering for England today?

Started by thewobbler, December 02, 2010, 10:18:55 AM

Putin was very impressive in his address this evening

Quote from: ONeill on December 02, 2010, 10:48:39 PM
Did you hear the gobshite presenter who said Arshavin should be booed at the next Arsenal match? Defeat brings out the best in the English.

Exactly, just because he was playing in England they thought he should not be backing the Russian bid. Unreal.

paco

Quote from: DuffleKing on December 02, 2010, 11:02:20 PM

Putin was very impressive in his address this evening

What did he say? Did Blatter et al wait around for him afterwards?

Capt Pat

Evil Russia or Evil England, what is the difference? They got he olympics themselves by bribing poor countries to steal the games from the French.

Football is a global game and needs to be spread around. It would have been funny to see the English reaction if they had lost out to Qatar.

I don't like th Qatar selection, so many more countries would deserve the tournament more, but oil money talks. I like the choice of Russia. In fact I think the choice of Qatar stinks to high heaven. Only 800,000 people live in Qatar and I don't understand the selection.

It might have helped, had England not sent 'Uncle Albert' as their representative...

Gotta luv tha' Cockney sense of humour!  :D

Celt_Man

Not arsed scrolling through all the previous pages but did anyone else get a serious laugh at the reaction of the English crowd when Russia were announced!!! ;D ;D

And yes, I know England would have been a better choice where accessibility is concerned with the Irish but still fierce funny!!! :D
GAA Board Six Nations Fantasy Champion 2010

Capt Pat

Quote from: Tyrones own on December 02, 2010, 09:32:24 PM
Of course what gets lost here is the benefits it would have had on the massive
out of work labor force both in England and Ireland....just as long as we get a laugh, cause thats whats important, right?
*shakes head at the logic here sometimes  ::)

You are being too sensible, this is a time to celebrate. Worry about the consequences later.

Quote from: Capt Pat on December 03, 2010, 12:47:00 AM
out of work labor force both in England and Ireland....just as long as we get a laugh, cause thats whats important, right?

You are being too sensible, this is a time to celebrate. Worry about the consequences later.
Famous last words... but what to do about the consequences of the last ten years  :-X

Capt Pat

I hear Barack Obama was disappointed that Cutter beat the Usa to get the world cup.

Putin is hardly Mr Charisma, not to mention the genocide in Chechnya and all the young russian soldiers who died as well. He left it to Mr Charisma Dasayev and co to get the job done.

Isn't it all really Sepp Blatters club house and he decides it all.

Quote from: Tyrones own on December 03, 2010, 12:52:36 AM
Quote from: Capt Pat on December 03, 2010, 12:47:00 AM

Famous last words... but what to do about the consequences of the last ten years  :-X

But but but......surely we will be saved by the 2012 Olympics?

Maybe it would if we could get rid of the Eastern blockers coming in and taking the jobs that the Irish won't do  ;)

Quote from: Tyrones own on December 03, 2010, 01:23:19 AM
Maybe it would if we could get rid of the Eastern blockers coming in and taking the jobs that the Irish won't do  ;)

Yes Taoiseach Arshavin.

Your Mc Carthyism is showing (again)  ;)

Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on December 03, 2010, 01:24:49 AM

Your Mc Carthyism is showing (again)  ;)
Ach not at all...it's just good craic reading the irony on some of these threads having had it come around full circle
I'm simply a few years down the road ahead of ye.... it'll be your turn soon enough so i wouldn't knock it  8)

Yeah, imagine. Them, going over there, taking our jobs, that we're stealing from them.  ;D