West Of Ireland Big Waves Capital of the World

Started by SLIGONIAN, November 10, 2010, 12:37:49 PM

Quote from: Peter Solan the Great on November 10, 2010, 01:44:20 PM
Never mind your surfing. Ireland has some of the best wave resources in the world for producing electricity. Far more potential then Oil and Gas.

Jaysus where a funny looking shape on that map, looks like the North is stuck to Scotland? might explain why so many scots ended up north  :P

And why is Iceland shaped like the batman symbol

Quote from: magpie seanie on November 10, 2010, 05:01:07 PM
Quote from: ross4life on November 10, 2010, 04:54:03 PM
The location might be Achill island high waves are usually there this time of year.

Err, no. As Sligonian said its off Mullaghmore in Sligo.

maybe it was a mayo sligo wave off the enniscrone coast , fcuk it i'll claim it as a mayo wave  ;) :D

Quote from: ross4life on November 10, 2010, 05:03:54 PM
The location might be Achill island high waves are usually there this time of year.

Fair enough i thought he was assuming it?
Most of my Sligo friends are surfers, but these lads were from all over the world, they filmed it on jetskis over the last few days, there is a spot at the back of the headland were 2 currents meet that is the new massive wave spot. Im sure there more than one on the west coast. It featured in waveriders the movie aswell.

Quote from: the Deel Rover on November 10, 2010, 05:24:12 PM

maybe it was a mayo sligo wave off the enniscrone coast , fcuk it i'll claim it as a mayo wave  ;) :D
Im sure if it was football related youd have no problem claiming enniscrone is mayo but mullaghmore might be pushing it.

FermGael

Sligonian is right.  It was of Mullaghmore Head.

Was surfing myself last weekend in Bundoran and Rossnowlagh and there was chat about it then.

Wanted.  Forwards to take frees.
Not fussy.  Any sort of ability will be considered

WeeDonns

QuoteMost of my Sligo friends are surfers, but these lads were from all over the world, they filmed it on jetskis over the last few days, there is a spot at the back of the headland were 2 currents meet that is the new massive wave spot. Im sure there more than one on the west coast. It featured in waveriders the movie aswell.

Mullaghmore head featured in Waveridershttp://www.waveridersthefilm.com but this new wave 'Prowlers' didn't
Photos & video of it here;
http://magicseaweed.com/Prowlers-Breaks-Cover-Content/2933/

Quote from: 5 Sams on November 10, 2010, 05:10:18 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on November 10, 2010, 01:49:56 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on November 10, 2010, 01:45:51 PM
Quote from: Peter Solan the Great on November 10, 2010, 01:44:20 PM
Never mind your surfing. Ireland has some of the best wave resources in the world for producing electricity. Far more potential then Oil and Gas.

i know we are in a bad way but fcuk me we are not even on that map

Looks like CĂș Chulainn came back and finished building the Giant's Causeway across to Scotland :o

Fionn Mac Cumhaill was shite alright... about time they sacked him ;)

Shure didn t we send Setanta off to Australia!

FermGael

FermGael

The water is not that cold this weather.
A 5-3 winter wetsuit, gloves, booties and a hoodie with some underarmour.
Snug as a bug in a rug