What do you think?

Fair play to her
21 (37.5%)
That's way out of line
35 (62.5%)

Total Members Voted: 56

Quote from: muppet on November 01, 2010, 10:33:41 PM
Whatever about the rights and wrongs of it being 'only paint' or it being 'violence against a woman', it demonstrates clearly that the Irish don't have it in them to fight for themselves.

The Financial Regulator was Harney's idea.
The current state of the Health System is her fault.
She and the rest are very lucky they are dealing with the Irish and not say the French.

Rightly or wrongly there will be no mass movement (unpleasentness) to get rid of useless/corrupt politicians/eilte and that is why they will continue to administer it to us rectally.

You would think to hear some people that she deliberately set out to destroy the health service simply to line her own pockets - how do you think she has benefited, or is she just evil?

You would think to hear some people that she came up with all the ideas herself - she has advisors that are also users of the health service and other government services.

In my opinion, there are only two people in recent history deserving of paint thrown at them (Hitler and Thatcher) and that would be after they had accusations put to them (in a mature and fair fashion) and they had a chance to explain themselves.

Quote from: Orior on November 01, 2010, 10:50:04 PM
Whatever about the rights and wrongs of it being 'only paint' or it being 'violence against a woman', it demonstrates clearly that the Irish don't have it in them to fight for themselves.

She and the rest are very lucky they are dealing with the Irish and not say the French.

Rightly or wrongly there will be no mass movement (unpleasentness) to get rid of useless/corrupt politicians/eilte and that is why they will continue to administer it to us rectally.

You would think to hear some people that she deliberately set out to destroy the health service simply to line her own pockets - how do you think she has benefited, or is she just evil?

You would think to hear some people that she came up with all the ideas herself - she has advisors that are also users of the health service and other government services.

In my opinion, there are only two people in recent history deserving of paint thrown at them (Hitler and Thatcher) and that would be after they had accusations put to them (in a mature and fair fashion) and they had a chance to explain themselves.

You should really educate yourself on the subject you are going to comment on. She has farmed out health to private companies because her arrogant pd opinions mean that business comes 1st ahead of everything. She abused power when on foreign trips to pamper herself. Yes, she is in it totally for herself. She is guilty of gross mismanagement. She refuses to resign or admit any wrong doing even though the hse are the biggest joke in the country in everything they do. I could write you a list but just stick HSE + scandal into google and see what you get. I'm glad to see the principle of throwing paint on someone is permitted in your mind. Just wondering how many people a person should be allowed kill or be indirectly responsible for killing before paint can be thrown on them. Any idea how many people have died from mrsa when they just  went to hospital for a standard procedure?

http://www.mediabite.org/article_Harney-and-Husband_25017894.html

I think the more likely proposition is that she is doing her best. Now many may think that she has gone about this in an entirely ham-fisted manner and is utterly incompetent but I have no doubt that she is trying to improve those matters that are within her control.

I've never bought into this argument that politicians are in their choosen profession purely for their own gain. Most could have earned far more money had they pursued another career path.

Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on November 01, 2010, 10:59:32 PM

I think the more likely proposition is that she is doing her best. Now many may think that she has gone about this in an entirely ham-fisted manner and is utterly incompetent but I have no doubt that she is trying to improve those matters that are within her control.

I've never bought into this argument that politicians are in their choosen profession purely for their own gain. Most could have earned far more money had they pursued another career path.

Read Muppets link above and then re type that post if you can. Jesus, it just amazes me how naive some of ye are. And what the hell would Harney get paid for more if she had gone into private industry instead of polictics? She was a teacher with a degree in arts in 1976. Since then she has been the minister for trade and health getting a huge salary and expenses and probably even better holidays than the teachers.

Name 10 Irish politicans that are qualified to such an extent that they would make more money in the private sector (leaving aside any "popularity" they gained from being in politics)

Quote from: Nally Stand on November 01, 2010, 10:47:42 PM
ATTENTION / ACHTUNG / ATTENZIONNE

I am currently being ignored by ardmhachaabu (again) for asking him tough questions that he couldn't answer (again) so could somebody maybe ask him a question for me in the hope that he might answer you? Then you could maybe pass on his answer to me??

Is someone a hypocrite if they proclaim themselves to be a pacifist and a former potential Priest but also say that someone "deserves to be drowned in a vat of paint"?

Thank You / Merci / Danke

PLEASE!! Someone!!

Quote from: mylestheslasher on November 01, 2010, 11:11:55 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on November 01, 2010, 10:59:32 PM

Read Muppets link above and then re type that post if you can. Jesus, it just amazes me how naive some of ye are. And what the hell would Harney get paid for more if she had gone into private industry instead of polictics? She was a teacher with a degree in arts in 1976. Since then she has been the minister for trade and health getting a huge salary and expenses and probably even better holidays than the teachers.

Name 10 Irish politicans that are qualified to such an extent that they would make more money in the private sector (leaving aside any "popularity" they gained from being in politics)

Fair enough Harney has likely profited quite a bit but I was speaking generally. Take a look at the professions of many backbenchers. My view is that politician's salaries need to be pitched at a level so that the best and the brightest are not unduely put off, albeit that €100,000 is probably sufficient (I admit I hadn't realised the salaries were that high and was comparing them with MLAs). As for holidays, do you really think that Ministers sit at home watching TV when the Dáil isn't in session?

Quote from: muppet on November 01, 2010, 10:57:46 PM

http://www.mediabite.org/article_Harney-and-Husband_25017894.html

The prosecution has spoken. And did she offer any defence?

Quote from: Zapatista on November 01, 2010, 11:27:32 PM
A random guy throws a shoe at a politician and become a hero.
A random guy drives a truck and parks at the gates of Leinster house blocking the entrance and becomes a hero (if even for a short while).
A two bit cllr pours paint over Mary Harney and she's a disgrace.
Hypocritic if you ask me.

The disgrace is that Irish people look for the angle that serves them and in this case it's to rally against Minihan as attacking republicans has always been a vote winner. How about a little bit of leadership and someone with a real idea of were we want to take this Country saying 'if Harney wasn't such a f**k up in a Government destroying the country and denying an election she'd have been all right'.

It's the fact that she's an elected politican (no matter what the representative body)

When ordinary people lose the head and fire eggs/paint or whatever it's because they're frustrated or have been driven to it because they feel nobody is listening, it's easy to empathise with that person.

But if I had voted for someone to give them a platform to speak for me and they stooped to this sort of shenanigan I'd make damn sure they were the next victim of having something thrown at them for wasting my vote. You'd expect more from someone that has been elected, but when you see that they are representatives of brain deads in Eirigi I suppose i shouldn't be surprised at all.

Zap - I would make the same comment regardless of the perpetrators political persuasion

The behavior of thrown paint at anyone is considered morally wrong. surely there's better ways of putting your point of dissatisfaction across?

While Mary Harney has done a terrible job as the head of health care i don't put all the blame at her door. Fianna Fáil knew what there were doing by giving a non-Fianna Fáil member this difficult job.

Time has come for both to step aside & fix this mess

Quote from: stephenite on November 02, 2010, 01:18:11 AM

It's the fact that she's an elected politican (no matter what the representative body)

When ordinary people lose the head and fire eggs/paint or whatever it's becuase they're frustrated or have been driven to it because they feel nobody is listening, it's easy to empathise with that person.

But if I had voted for someone to give them a platform to speak for me and they stooped to this sort of shenanigan I'd make damn sure they were the next victim of having something thrown at them for wasting my vote. You'd expect more from someone that has been elected, but when you see that they are representatives of brain deads in Eirigi I suppose i shouldn't be surprised at all.

Quote from: ross4life on November 02, 2010, 01:42:46 AM
The behavior of thrown paint at anyone is considered morally wrong. surely there's better ways of putting your point of dissatisfaction across?

While Mary Harney has done a terrible job as the head of health care i don't put all the blame at her door. Fianna Fáil knew what there were doing by giving a non-Fianna Fáil member this difficult job.

Time has come for both to step aside & fix this mess

Good call by the two Connacht lads.

Quote from: Nally Stand on November 01, 2010, 11:16:39 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on November 01, 2010, 10:47:42 PM
ATTENTION / ACHTUNG / ATTENZIONNE

I am currently being ignored by ardmhachaabu (again) for asking him tough questions that he couldn't answer (again) so could somebody maybe ask him a question for me in the hope that he might answer you? Then you could maybe pass on his answer to me??

Is someone a hypocrite if they proclaim themselves to be a pacifist and a former potential Priest but also say that someone "deserves to be drowned in a vat of paint"?

Thank You / Merci / Danke

PLEASE!! Someone!!
::) in youth we learn, with age we understand
*Liberalism is indeed a mental disorder*

JUst retired

Ardmhachabu, Will you please answer Nallystand`s question? Paint must be cheap to waste it on Gov.minister. :)

Hedley Lamarr

I have a dream that one day this nation will rise up and live out the true meaning of its creed:

Hedley Lamarr

It's f**kers like Sean Fitzpatrick and his ilk that need sorted >:(
I have a dream that one day this nation will rise up and live out the true meaning of its creed: