The next rule change?

Started by Jinxy, October 26, 2010, 02:38:12 PM

SHEEDY

Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on October 31, 2010, 10:02:00 AM
Rather than giving an extra point for a free kick off the ground, why not have a system similar to basketball where an extra point is given for a score outside say 40 metres.  Run an arc from sideline to sideline and you would have a 2 point line similar to the 3 point line in basketball.  I also like the notion of "team fouls".  7 team fouls per half and anything after that allows the other team a 35 metre free.  It would definitely discourage tactical fouling.
what the f###?
nil satis nisi optimum

BCB, too many flaws.

1. I like to watch skilful football. I don't like to watch players of limited kicking ability having a hoke from 40 metres. Which is what would happen time and again if the potential for reward existed.
2. Which means that tactics become one-dimensional. Get the ball to the 40m line and have a go. The inside forwards role becomes about waiting for scraps if kicks fall short.
3. And all our more gifted footballers end up plating half back and half forward. There's no
point in putting skill and pace in the full forward line anymore.

Quote from: thewobbler on October 31, 2010, 10:25:16 AM
BCB, too many flaws.

1. I like to watch skilful football. I don't like to watch players of limited kicking ability having a hoke from 40 metres. Which is what would happen time and again if the potential for reward existed.
2. Which means that tactics become one-dimensional. Get the ball to the 40m line and have a go. The inside forwards role becomes about waiting for scraps if kicks fall short.
3. And all our more gifted footballers end up plating half back and half forward. There's no
point in putting skill and pace in the full forward line anymore.

1.  I too like watching skillful football and if there was an extra point for a longer range kick then coaches would surely practice this more often therefore there wouldn't be that many "hokes" from 40 metres.  And anyway the shout on most good teams is give it to the shooter and if the player of limited ability is taking the shot then that is a coaching fault.  For example I would never kick for a 40 metre score as I know it wouldn't be scored.
2. I don't agree.  You still get 3 points for a goal and most teams want the guarantee of the goal/point from 30 metres.
3. To be honest the more skillful "ball players" already play around the middle sector.  The like of the Gooch, Coulter and McDonnell will always play around the goals as they are goal getters.  You still have to play 15 players therefore you can't play 6 forwards along the half forward line.

All very well bcb, but 2 points for a long range hoof is a reward for bad decision making for most players rather than an award for skill levels. At club football in particular there aren't many players with the kicking length to clear a crossbar from 40m. This isn't from so much a lack of practice as a lack of natural ball striking ability. It is possible to improve your kicking length, but in many ways it's like running - you can only reach your own highest level, big the level of others.

put-it-up-again

Quote from: ross4life on October 26, 2010, 07:07:23 PM
Free's should be all taken from the ground, it's a dying art & the players who take free's from their hand's always try to gain a few yards

Sure that would just slow the game right down. I'd like to see a mark for kickouts only. Midfielders are a dying breed and I would love to see them get some reward for high-fielding. We all love seeing it, so we should encourage.

I have no problem with teams hand-passing the ball, if that is the style they choose. You can't make teams all play the same way and I wouldn't want to see it.  I would rather a player be able to handpass it rather than just kick it 60 yards to nowhere because some rule say's he has too. Personally, I think we have a fluid game where various styles exist. There is no right and wrong. You can play whatever systems and shite that you like but at the end of the day it is still 15 v 15 battling to get their hands on an O'Neill's football and get it over the bar.

How you go about getting it over the blackspot is your own business.

Quote from: thewobbler on October 31, 2010, 12:14:26 PM
All very well bcb, but 2 points for a long range hoof is a reward for bad decision making for most players rather than an award for skill levels. At club football in particular there aren't many players with the kicking length to clear a crossbar from 40m. This isn't from so much a lack of practice as a lack of natural ball striking ability. It is possible to improve your kicking length, but in many ways it's like running - you can only reach your own highest level, big the level of others.

So you just want to accept that the skill levels for players are so low that nothing should be done to improve them. People who have been playing the sport for 15/20 years should be able to kick 40 yards accurately.

Quote from: DUBSFORSAM1 on October 31, 2010, 01:54:58 PM

So you just want to accept that the skill levels for players are so low that nothing should be done to improve them. People who have been playing the sport for 15/20 years should be able to kick 40 yards accurately.

Some people are afraid to bring kicking back in because it would actually show up how bad some of our players are.

You're away with the fairies dubsforsam1.

It requires more like a 45m kick to clear a crossbar from 40m out.

I've been involved with a senior football team for over a decade and can count on one hand the number of players for whom a 45m kick didn't take every sinew of their power.

As I've already said, you can improve your kicking distance with repetitive practice and good coaching. But everyone has a natural limit and for the overwhelming majority of players, 45m is over or around their limit. Which means that kicking a "2pointer" would always involve more luck than skill.

Kicking length is one part technique and one part God given length.

Coach away all you like. You can't change this no more than you can get your whole team to run 100m in under 11 seconds. 

Do you think every soccer player should be able to score direct from a free-kick within 30 yards of goal?
Should every rugby player be able to score a conversion from 40 yards out on the sideline?
'Place-kicking' is a specialist skill in field sports i.e. one or two guys on every team that are given the responsibility and it is as much about mental ability as physical ability.
Most clubs would have one or two lads capable of scoring 45's and frees from a similar distance.
Put them in Croke Park in front of 80,000 people and they'd probably hit the corner flag.

Quote from: thewobbler on October 31, 2010, 02:10:09 PM

I've been involved with a senior football team for over a decade and can count on one hand the number of players for whom a 45m kick didn't take every sinew of their power.

As I've already said, you can improve your kicking distance with repetitive practice and good coaching. But everyone has a natural limit and for the overwhelming majority of players, 45m is over or around their limit. Which means that kicking a "2pointer" would always involve more luck than skill.

Coach away all you like. You can't change this no more than you can get your whole team to run 100m in under 11 seconds.

You're wrong and I can tell you now that the top club players, not county players, all have the capacity to kick a ball 50 metres plus and accurate at that.  There has been too much emphasis on strenght through weights and people associate having "strong" legs as a way to lenghten their kick.  If you can show players the correct technique and repeatedly do it they can easily add 10 metres on their kick.  It all depends on the attitude of the player and the ability of the coach.  If you have a coach with an attitude that it can't be done then it won't be done.

Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on October 31, 2010, 02:26:50 PM

You're wrong and I can tell you now that the top club players, not county players, all have the capacity to kick a ball 50 metres plus and accurate at that.  There has been too much emphasis on strenght through weights and people associate having "strong" legs as a way to lenghten their kick.  If you can show players the correct technique and repeatedly do it they can easily add 10 metres on their kick.  It all depends on the attitude of the player and the ability of the coach.  If you have a coach with an attitude that it can't be done then it won't be done.

And BC the Gaa probably has more coaches of the cant be done vareity then any other sport.

Quote from: INDIANA on October 31, 2010, 02:30:09 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on October 31, 2010, 02:26:50 PM

And BC the Gaa probably has more coaches of the cant be done vareity then any other sport.

I know and it drives me nuts.  They can coach to block people's runs.

Watch Oisin McConville.  True example of technique more than strenght.

Quote from: Jinxy on October 31, 2010, 02:25:50 PM

Do you think every soccer player should be able to score direct from a free-kick within 30 yards of goal?
Should every rugby player be able to score a conversion from 40 yards out on the sideline?
'Place-kicking' is a specialist skill in field sports i.e. one or two guys on every team that are given the responsibility and it is as much about mental ability as physical ability.
Most clubs would have one or two lads capable of scoring 45's and frees from a similar distance.
Put them in Croke Park in front of 80,000 people and they'd probably hit the corner flag.

I wasn't talking about place kicking - I was talking about being able to kick accurately over 40m. If people put more effort into skills like that then running around and handpassing the game would be a lot better.

Bc, watch Oisin today and you were seeing the all time highest scorer in Ulster Championship football, one of the best ball strikers in the history of the game.

He has a great technique and he practiced like hell, but there is also a rare natural talent in there too. You're of his run, and can no doubt tell of him kicking a ball for hours by himself as child. But so did hundreds and hundreds of fellas of his run across Armagh and Down - yet they all knew Ousin was better than them even at the age of 11.